Mohs Surgery: An Afternoon in the Twilight Zone

By Karen

In March, a tiny white bump on my lip was a basal cell carcinoma, and I had it removed by Mohs surgery on April 22.

The practice called me beforehand and said I’d be mostly sitting around waiting for results, so “bring something to read, and maybe even a snack.”

This scenario was fantasy.

I expected to find a busy office, with patients going in and out for Mohs as they got their results, but there wasn’t another patient anywhere. A nurse put me in a room with a rock-hard chair that reclined into a table so my head was on a cinder block and my feet dangled off the other end.

The doctor was running late, arrived masked, and set an icy tone by standing at the far end of the room with the nurses, brusquely stating what she was about to do. She described the numbing as “just like your biopsy.” Actually, it was MUCH worse.

Then she walked over, drew a blue line halfway across my upper lip and handed me a mirror to see it. Yeah, so — what?

A nurse numbed me by jabbing a needle into my lip multiple times, injecting something that stung like hell. I heard myself emitting the same little screams my mother had made near her end.

As far as Mohs goes, numbing is by far the worst of it.

The nurse then dropped a cloth across my face like I was being waterboarded, and the doctor quickly removed a first layer and cauterized the wound, which smelled like hair burning. It took mere minutes.

The nurse piled bandages on my lip, then left me lying there with my feet dangling, said, “Gravity isn’t our friend with bleeding,” SHUT OFF THE LIGHTS, and left.

So much for reading magazines and munching snacks between “stages” (their word for each round of Mohs). No one checked on me. They were dashing from room to room, doing their thing on others.

Eventually, they returned to say they needed another stage, dashing my hope that the biopsy had gotten it all.

The second stage was done with the same cold, impersonal efficiency. Cloth on face, cutting, burning, bandages. This time I insisted on sitting up to wait for results because lying over an hour on that table had totally fucked up my back.

Their coldness began to freak me out, and it emanated from the doctor. Each nurse on her own was OK. But when the doc was around, they treated me like a chunk of meat. This would have been annoying but tolerable if they were cutting and burning a spot anywhere but on my FACE. My very identity.

When I heard I needed a third stage and another numbing, everything below my nose checked out.

During stage 3, a silent tear slipped down my cheek. The nurse asked if I was OK, but my face couldn’t respond. I think I was going into shock. This had become torture, not from any pain, but from the attitudes.

Alone again, I tried to calm down by doing meditation breathing and reading without comprehension one of my magazines, but I was trembling all over. Remembering my father describing how callously he’d been treated in hospitals and at rehab and thinking, “Now it’s my turn.”

Suddenly, a different nurse came in and asked how I was doing, and I burst into uncontrollable tears, babbled about “total lack of empathy, caring, compassion or even recognition that they’re cutting and burning my FACE.” I kept repeating “My FACE! I feel dehumanized.”

This nurse took notes and gave the standard spiel about wanting patients “to have the best possible experience,” yada, yada. She promised to talk to the doctor, but I begged her not to until after I was out of there.

This was prescient, because I needed a fourth stage.

I concede I may have brought stage 4 on myself by rattling the doctor during stage 3. I learned later she had been the one to ask the impartial nurse to check on me.

During stage 4, now the doctor and nurse got chatty. The doctor even offered to let me see her handiwork in a mirror, but I preferred to wait until it was over.

The final result wasn’t as bad as it could have been. The doctor intended to run stitches halfway up my cheek (why so far?). Instead, she said if I could take care of the wound, she’d leave it alone. She also introduced me to a different doctor in case she and I weren’t a good match. But by now I think I’d scared her straight. She took off her mask and was acting human, so I told her I’d keep her. (She’s been very friendly on two follow-up visits).

I hobbled out of that place piled with bandages, feeling pathetic…

This is what I’ve been dealing with. I drank everything through a straw for weeks…

Now it’s been seven weeks. The crater is filling in and I have some puffiness on the right, but Mederma ointment and ScarAway are helping…

For my next follow-up in six weeks, the doctor mentioned dermabrasion and stitches on the puff because “some people keep biting that spot.” I haven’t been, so I’m going to live with however it heals. I may never want to wear lipstick again, but that’s OK.

9 Responses to Mohs Surgery: An Afternoon in the Twilight Zone

  1. I had Mohs on the bridge of my nose several years ago. First nurse was kind and compassionate. She explained everything. The informational sheet I had received talked about snacks, TV and being able to get a sandwich from the deli in building between rounds (it wasn’t on my lip). How bad could this be? It was the pandemic. Once I was assigned a room, I couldn’t leave except to use the bathroom. There were no snacks except what I had brought, no TV (not even those house remodeling programs most waiting rooms have on these days) and long waits. Since it was on my nose, I couldn’t put my glasses on to read or use my Kindle. It was an hour between rounds and I needed 2 rounds. Overall I was there 4 hours. The nice nurse was replaced by a bozo who was either new or dumb. I asked how many stitches he had put in (she assisted with that). Her answer was “I don’t know.” Not even a wild guess. She bandaged it so I couldn’t see. and told me to keep it on until the next day. I took it off when I got home and put something better on it. When I went to leave they told me they couldn’t call my husband on their phones. ??? I was upset and wobbly but I was able to call him on my cell. Their instructions had said to have someone take and pick you up. Overall the surgeon was great and I don’t have a noticeable scar. The day could have been much better and the staff much kinder. I learned it was an production line process as he went from one patient to the next and that was a good part of the wait. I don’t know how many he was doing at the same time but it must have been quite a few. It also took 3 months to get an appointment.

  2. catsworking says:

    Kate, so glad to have someone to compare notes with, especially on a facial Mohs.

    I didn’t need to have anyone drive me to and from the appointment, and my 4 analyses always took about 30 minutes, which was amazing. They told me it could be as long as 90 minutes. Then the doctors would usually show up 15-20 minutes after that. For four rounds, I was there about 4 1/2 hours.

    The bandages they piled on my lip were ridiculous because they went into my mouth, so I had to remove them before I could eat dinner. I only bandaged again, with a piece of gauze and one strip of first aid tape to hold it in place, when I slept because the doctor said it would ooze. For the first few weeks until it no longer looked bloody, I’d put a bandage I cut shorter over it so nobody had to see it.

    Now because my lips have thinned so much, unless I smile you can only see a bit poking out the top of my lip.

    It really did seem to be a factory, because when I went back for my first check, there were lots of people sitting around bandaged up. Seems they have certain days devoted to cutting and burning, and others for follow-up.

    I’m SO glad I didn’t need stitches. On my lip, they would have been intrusive because I was missing skin on the underside. That was first to grow back in, thankfully, so now I can eat normally.

    Glad to hear your scar is about gone.

    I forgot to mention that within 24 hours of me having this surgery (or maybe it was when I first got the diagnosis. Yes, I think that was it), Richard Simmons came out and said he’d just had a basal cell removed under one of his eyes, and Christie Brinkley had one removed on the side of her forehead. She has also since said there’s barely any scar.

    Oh, and they had HGTV playing on the waiting room TV every time I’ve been there. Some remodeling show. At least it’s not Fox, or almost as bad, CNN!

  3. bassgirl23 says:

    What an ordeal – so sorry you had to go through all that. I’ve had experiences at the dentist kind of like that (which is probably why I have a major phobia / anxiety now when I go) – I do think that doctors tend to forget the human side to everything and just detach and treat patients as another case, and something to be dealt with, like checking off a box on their to do list. It sounds like when you pointed that out, they realized their error. But it doesn’t make it any less traumatic. It looks like it’s healing well and hopefully nothing more comes up!

  4. catsworking says:

    bassgirl, after it was all over and the doctor gave me the option to switch doctors going forward, she said she didn’t want me to be afraid to have Mohs surgery again if another cancer showed up.

    It may have been a horrible day, but after what I just went through with my mother, the chances of me ignoring cancer are nil!

    I understand health care providers needing to maintain a distance to keep their own sanity, but I think this bunch got caught up in the assembly line aspect of it and forgot they were dealing with actual people. When I’ve got back for two more checkups on the progress, that impartial nurse has always been in the room, like she’s observing the doctor. Or they’re scoping me out to see if I seem litigious, which I’m not.

  5. Leah says:

    So sorry you had to go through such a terrible experience! I hope you heal quickly and feel better soon.

  6. catsworking says:

    Thanks, Leah. I’m fine now and my lip is healing as well as I could hope for. I did feel a little shell-shocked for a few days after the procedure, but I got over it.

  7. It’s always remodeling shows! 🙂

  8. Patricia Murray says:

    Oh good grief, Karen, what a horrible experience to go through! Not only this painful, confusing medical procedure but also so much lack of human compassion from the supposed-professionals taking care (if that’s the right word) of you.

    I’m so glad to see you are healing and doing much better now. What great spirit you have! Keep on keeping on, lady!

    Big hugs from Pat

    Big Purrrs from Sparkler and Tinker

  9. catsworking says:

    Pat and kitties, thank you! I hope the people involved got an “Aha!” moment out of it and remember the people they’re slicing and dicing are human beings. At least they will when I’m in the room. I am a Karen, after all! People want to make Karens a joke, we’ll turn it on them.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.