Nobel’s a Cardigan Event for Michelle Obama

By Adele

The Obamas traveled to Oslo this week so the president could accept the Nobel Peace Prize, and it started out promising. Michelle wore a beautiful dress and matching coat in that putrid yellow-green only she can pull off. The ensemble was designed by Calvin Klein, no less.

But under that elegant coat lurked the insidious cardigan. It was by Nina Ricci and it matched, but it slopped down the whole outfit.

Notice the tailored look of the woman in purple behind Michelle (Photo - Bauer Griffin)

Michelle, Michelle, what were you thinking? Let me crawl inside your head…

“Hmmm… We’re going to Norway in December and we’ll be meeting the King and Queen. I think I’ll pack something sleeveless and just throw on a sweater.”

At least we can be grateful she showed some restraint and left off the belt.

Stylelist follows Michelle’s fashion evolution, clearly showing that when she looks good, she looks very, very, good (photos 2, 3, 5, 7, 24, 34, and particularly 8 and 29 — very Carla Bruni-Sarkozy). And when she looks bad, she looks horrid.

I can live with the belts that match the color of the outfit (photos 4, 6, 11). But that huge black belt over the turquoise coat? Yuck!

Here it is close-up at another event.

Lately, Michelle seems to be weaning herself from studs in favor of width. In this belt, she’s going for the Roman gladiator look.

All she needs is a spear and a shield to complete the ensemble. (Photo - Kevin LaMarque/Reuters/Corbis)

Essence has a gallery of Michelle belt photos. She must have a walk-in closet full of them.

Here’s some video of Michelle’s style. The best belt shots start at about 2:30.

6 Responses to Nobel’s a Cardigan Event for Michelle Obama

  1. Bob says:

    That last picture of Michelle brought something to light. Wasn’t she in “Conan the Destroyer” along side Arnold????

    I really wonder where these ladies get their fashion sense from. Puke yellow green, MMMMM.
    But what do I know, I think clothes for men should come with matching tags like “Garanimals” for kids.
    So we know what goes with what.. Could call them “Beeranimals”.

    HMMMM what can I wear with these Coors pants??????

  2. catsworking says:

    Bob, I think you are on to something with the men’s clothes. Didn’t somebody try to do that once with little alligators?

    Overall, I think Michelle is slowly getting more elegant in her taste in evening wear, but somebody needs to check her before she leaves the house during the day.

    Now you’ve got me wondering if that last belt wasn’t perhaps a gift from Arnold to Michelle, since she’s got the arms to be his co-star.

  3. Adele says:

    I went through the pictures in Stylelist, and Adele, you’re right. Michelle often looks stunning, but even if they’re the style, I don’t find cardigans to be dressy, and most important, some of those belts, aside from being unattractive, are so wide and worn so high, that I’m amazed that Michelle hasn’t passed out from lack of oxygen. I never read Vogue or Elle, but I wonder if the belts are catching on — I can’t recall seeing any other frequently photographed types in them.

  4. catsworking says:

    Adele, I found one blog that called them her “boob belts” because they’re worn so high, as if trying to push up whatever she’s got and make it look like more. It’s absurd and uncomfortable (I know. Sometimes I accidentally put my arm through my collar. Wearing it under my armpit until Karen notices and frees me is miserable).

    The purpose of belts is to accentuate the WAIST, which they can’t do if they’re nowhere near it. If Michelle wants to wear them to call attention to her bust, then she should wear one over her shoulder and across her chest, like a Mexican bandit.

  5. Zappa says:

    Adele Cole Yul!!

    My mom finally got a computer!! She has been swearing at it alot,but at least my paws aren’t getting cramped from typing on the silly BlackBerry.

    My question is -why isn’t that dumb First Dog stepping up to do his part by chewing that ugly belt to pieces? I would slap something like that under the fridge so that it would never be seen again.It looks as though it wouldn’t fit under there but that wouldn’t stop me from trying.
    Dogs are useless

    Zappa

  6. catsworking says:

    Zappa, you are brilliant! Yeah, where is Bo when you need him? There hasn’t been a poop, oops! I mean peep out of him in months.

    I take it your mom got a PC, not a Mac. It’s the only explanation for the swearing, especially if it’s got Windows 7, which is bound to be crawling with bugs and security holes, like everything Microsoft initially puts out there.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.