Chapter 28: COVID Chronicles

By Karen

Day 45

A Socially Distanced Birthday Party

Woke up this morning to find this little present on my bed…

It’s a weird furry bird. Roc thought he saw it move so, just to be safe, he killed it again…

Must share this effervescent new parody by Randy Rainbow of Trump’s ridiculous “prescriptions” to combat COVID…

I love classic show tunes. Seeing them performed by Randy so brilliantly makes them fresh all over again. It’s the only time I can laugh at Trump without wanting to cry.

Today was my father’s 83rd birthday, so last night I made him a loaf of bread in his Mr. Loaf bread machine (which I borrowed because it was languishing in their attic). I hear yeast is hard to come by now with everybody making their own bread. Mine must have lost its zing because I was bummed that this loaf didn’t rise a few more inches…

Naturally, as soon as I took it out of its pail and put it on the cooling rack, the food inspector had to show up…

Today I couldn’t get chicken for lunch from the newest Zaxby’s in town because they’re closed, even with a drive-thru. Plan B supported a local business. Nuccio’s Express is on my route to my parents, so I got a Nuccio’s Special pizza to go, of which my father said, “This may be the best pizza I’ve ever eaten.”

Everything tastes better when you haven’t had someone else cook for you in over a month.

My sister brought a Baskin-Robbins cherry ice cream and chocolate cake that was quite a treat.

We ate outside on the deck at a huge table even though it was an overcast 60 degrees. My father couldn’t make a wish and blow out the musical candle on his cake because if he’d sprayed all over it, none of us womenfolk could have had any.

Virginia’s Governor Ralph Northam, MD, just said he won’t relax lockdown until we have 14 straight days of declining numbers, which can’t start until we have adequate testing, which we don’t. And he expects Phase 1 reopening (masks, distancing, etc.) to last up to TWO YEARS. I’m already wondering how women in the Middle East live with their entire bodies in masks. If I have to cover half my face for two years, I’ll never be the same.

BONUS: I just found this John Morgan video. He does a spot-on George W. Bush and recorded this song right after the 2016 election. It’s not a knee-slapper, but it makes me miss when we had a kinder, gentler idiot in the White House…

2 Responses to Chapter 28: COVID Chronicles

  1. Francis Alan Wormald says:

    SURE WAS A “DUBYA” LOOK-A-LIKE!!! & VOICE TALKING ALSO. NEVER HEARD “DUBYA” STRUM & SING…SO NOT SO SURE ONTHAT…..

  2. iamthesunking says:

    Happy birthday to your dad!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.