UnFoodie Tackles Zucchini Chips

By Karen

My weight has been creeping up, so I’m back on the Weight Watchers® Points Plus plan in earnest to get things back under control. The biggest hurdle is that all crunchy, carb-based snacks cost way too many points, so I continue seeking alternatives. I consider things like celery and hummus more of a punishment than a snack.

Remember my experiment with collard chips? Once the acrid taste of burnt weeds had faded from memory, I was ready to try again when I saw this easy recipe for Sea Salt and Vinegar Zucchini Chips (the link is a short video) in Cooking Light magazine. At only 57 calories per 24 chips, it was WW-friendly.

And the stars were in alignment. I had a zucchini that needed killing and the other ingredients, so what the hell?

The article said, “Light, crisp, and just as good as their junk-food counterparts, these veggie chips are a revelation.”

The recipe…

1 7 oz. zucchini, cut into 1/8-inch-thick slices (about 48)
1 tbsp. malt vinegar
½ tsp. olive oil
1/8 tsp. sea salt (which was laughably insufficient)

While preheating the oven to 200 degrees, I combined the sliced zucchini, vinegar, and oil in a bowl, tossed it, and let it sit for 10 minutes while I lined a baking sheet with parchment. I then laid out the zucchini and sprinkled it with sea salt. So far, so good…

zucchini-raw

After an hour…

Sure seemed like a lot more when I started. Time to flip them!

Sure seemed like a lot more when I started. Time to flip them!

Two hours…

Finally starting to brown, but still not crispy, and still shrinking.

Finally starting to brown, but still not crispy, and still shrinking.

After three hours…

The incredible shrinking snack.

The incredible shrinking snack.

Here’s what I ended up with. This bowl holds about a cup and I ate every chip myself without counting them — and then raided the cupboard for a real snack.

You won't be asking anybody to pass the dip.

You won’t be asking anybody to pass the dip.

To call them a “revelation” borders on Trumpian hyperbole. They were certainly not worth three hours of my life. My recommendation is to leave these wispy little time-sucks to the experts who sell them in bags.

9 Responses to UnFoodie Tackles Zucchini Chips

  1. randi says:

    That’s quite an effort to get a small plate of chips, I hope they were yummy! Oh well, some things are not worth making yourself. I once tried making hummus myself… I didn’t like it. LOL!
    Are you planning to comment on Trump’s executive orders? I can’t wait to read it!

  2. catsworking says:

    Randi, they were edible, but nothing special. If you ever want to make a zucchini disappear and hardly taste it, this is the recipe to use.

    Working on the next Trump post. His executive orders have been coming as fast as he can scribble his name. Takes a while for my head to stop spinning so I can react.

  3. Morganlf says:

    Better idea. Take your potato peeler or mandolin if you have one shave a zucchini or two into thin long slices like noodles. Salt and place in a colander to drain.
    Meanwhile in a heavy pot with a lid toss in two or three pints of grape tomatoes, a clove or three of minced garlic, with a bit of EVOO and salt. Cover cook till they burst add a cup of wine or broth some hot pepper flakes, basil, and some good grated pecorino. As the tomatoes soften take a wooden spoon mash them to release all juices. Should take 30-45 minutes to make a sauce. Now add the ZUCCHINI ” noodles” cook about five minutes. Toss and serve with a bit more cheese. Pretty tasty and carb free,

  4. Morganlf says:

    BTW…am I the only one OBSESSED with Jude Law in “the Young Pope” on HBO? He was never my cup of tea but he’s yummy in the role of this quirky oddly addictive new mini series.

  5. catsworking says:

    Morgan, you are NOT the only one obsessed! I just finished the 5th episode last night. Yesterday I saw an interview with the writer or director, and he said he did NOT have Trump in mind when creating that character. WTF? This pope is totally Trump! In fact, if Trump’s watching, he’s probably thinking once he’s out of the White House, he’ll claim he’s a Catholic and demand he be anointed the next pope.

    I can’t think of anything else I’ve seen Jude Law in so he’s never been on my radar, but he is perfection in this role.

    Speaking of perfection, my latest crush is Rufus Sewell, whom I first noticed as the American-turned-Nazi John Smith in “The Man in the High Castle,” and then he turned up as Lord M in “Victoria” on Masterpiece. Love him!

  6. catsworking says:

    Morgan, I have a spiralizer and have made noodles out of zucchini and yellow squash. Your recipe sounds delicious and something I would definitely make. (Must confess I usually cheat and doctor up a jar of Ragu for the sauce, but your way is easy as well.

  7. morganlf says:

    Oh Lord M I like him too. He’s fine! I’ve been watching Victoria. We do seem to have the same taste in men.

  8. Bobby says:

    Yes it’s me. The other original enthusiast. Wouldn’t normally talk here. But I’ve been talking with his Russian counterpart. Hopefully he’s coming to visit and sell Vodka.

    It’s like talking to George, when you wanted Paul. But I’ll take it.
    Bob from Winnipeg

  9. catsworking says:

    Hey, long time, no see. You still blogging? So you’ve been in talks with Zamir. I saw on Twitter that he’s moved to the U.S., Buffalo, NY? You would be lucky to party with Zamir.

Leave a Reply

