Cantor’s Pride Leads to His Fall

By Karen

It’s a joyous day in Virginia. After 14 years in office, our 7th District Republican congressman and House majority leader Eric Cantor LOST the primary to a tea party elected-office newbie named David Brat — by 11 points.

The Richmond Times-Dispatch headline screamed: CANTOR OUT.

In my county, Cantor lost by about 22 points (5,924 to 7,226). My vote was one of them.

OK, I confess. I pulled a cross-over. Yesterday I boldly walked through the valley of the gun-loving bigots (who were all jovial and friendly, I might add) to vote for Brat in the hope our Democratic contender could easily defeat him.

In Virginia you don’t have to claim a party affiliation. Democrats have no primary this year because our candidate was sort of drafted because nobody wanted to run against Cantor, so why not mess with the Republicans?

Contrary to the simplistic rationales TV talking heads are spouting for this “shocking” and “historic” upset, there were probably 3 main factors in play…

1. Cantor’s constituents shared his conceit that he was invincible, and didn’t bother to vote.

2. Democrats like me got strategic and voted for a Republican we may beat.

3. The 7th District just made a sharp right turn toward BatShitCrazyville.

Cantor has only himself to blame for his downfall. For years he’s presided over a sprawling, spotty district with an almost hand-picked conservative majority. He’s played gerrymandering to the hilt.

But this made Cantor cocky. Too cocky.

Leading up to the primary, Cantor refused to lower himself to debate Brat. His campaign spent a bundle on TV and print to spew the lie that Brat’s a liberal.

It became an unseemly display of a lavishly-funded Washington fat-cat squashing the underdog like a bug, with utter disregard for the truth. Possibly, it disgusted even diehard Cantor supporters. That, coupled with Cantor’s inability to do anything in DC except waste taxpayer dollars on umpteen futile votes to repeal Obamacare and find creative ways to feather his own nest and nurture his political ambitions, spelled defeat.

Cantor himself was so blinded by hubris, I don’t think he saw it coming until the numbers rolled in last night.

Brat will run against Jack Trammell. They’re both new to elected office, both professors at Randolph-Macon College, Brat in economics, Trammell in sociology.

Brat’s running on an anti-immigration reform and anti-Obamacare platform. Bottom line: he staunchly stands on the wrong side of history, which plays well in BatShitCrazyville.

But I think Trammell has a fair shot at winning and joining Virginia’s two Democratic senators in DC.

So, Virginia is losing a high-profile position in Congress, but Eric Cantor was a disgrace in it and it’s good riddance. We’re better off starting over.

7 Responses to Cantor’s Pride Leads to His Fall

  1. annie pelfrey says:

    i voted for Brat- i’m loving the SHOCK of this election! as one who tends to vote republican, i don’t believe in career politicians. cantor is such a self-serving prick- he has yet to congratulate Bratt, and has no idea of what the message of the voters meant. politicians think they are important celebrities,looking for the next step up.

  2. catsworking says:

    Annie, Cantor is the same sniveling weasel in defeat as he was when he was on top. I’m so glad voters finally got sick enough of his arrogance to throw him out. I hope it inspires other localities to do likewise with their “career” dead wood.

    Actually, I like some of things Brat is saying, like he’d do away with employer-provided healthcare. But then in his next breath he says something creepy about God.

    Jack Trammell is an unknown quantity, so it’s going to be interesting to see how serious he is about running and how he’s going to overcome the extreme right-wingers. I don’t think the tea party has suddenly taken over in Virginia. I really believe the Democrats swung this election just to get rid of Cantor. With the low turnout, it wasn’t hard to do. Now it’s up to Brat to salvage what’s left for Republicans.

  3. annie pelfrey says:

    but first, Brat has to leave his home that he’s been holed up in!.

  4. MorganLF says:

    I knew you’d be happy about this. Now what to do about King Christie, who refused to accept millions designated to New Jersey for the healthcare exchange thus making my fall down the healtcare rabbit hole that much more that much more devastating. With what I pay for property taxes it’s an abomination.

  5. catsworking says:

    Morgan, I feel your pain. Healthcare is an utter mess for, I think, most people who don’t have employer-funded insurance. Thank God for Bernie Sanders from Vermont who’s pushing hard for single-payer. It can’t come soon enough. I turn 60 this year, which insurance companies consider a “milestone” year where they can jack prices to the hilt. I’m driving a 14-year-old car because I can’t afford a car payment AND a health insurance premium that’s as high as my mortgage. I made a few hundred dollars too much last year to qualify for any subsidy. My blood absolutely boils when I read news stories where people are crowing about their WONDERFUL new health insurance that they’re only paying $50 a month for through the exchange. I’M subsidizing THEM!!!

    Consider me in the rabbit hole right beside you, if it’s any comfort.

    Once the presidential stuff starts to heat up, I think Christie will become an absentee governor. And once he’s gone national, the media is going to start digging up all the ways he’s been running New Jersey like he’s Tony Soprano and it’s going to get ugly. Bridgegate was probably just the tip of the iceberg.

  6. MorganLF says:

    Oh no doubt. King Christie is a tough ham fisted politico and a former very prominent lobbyist. Runs his camp like a capo regime, there’s plenty there. He is personable and has a great deal of charm but he’s the rich boys boy..All the way.

    I am happy to report that after ceaseless phone calls and applications and letters and more phone calls, the even more calls. I finally got the healthcare exchange to acknowledge me and my current financial status. I received a subsidy. My current healthcare is now slightly less than my mortgage payment but the deductible is 1350 before ANY benefits kick in. Sighhhh…this is so wrong.

  7. catsworking says:

    Morgan, congratulations on getting SOME response on health insurance, although it sounds like you’re still getting screwed. The way my year is shaping up, I may qualify for a subsidy next year myself. I read in today’s paper that the “average” premium on healthcare.gov is $80 a month after subsidies, with the balance coming out of taxpayers’ pockets. Gotta keep those insurance companies fat and happy!

    The single payer movement is gaining steam, thanks to Bernie Sanders of Vermont. It’s the ONLY way we’re going to get this situation under control, to ELIMINATE private insurers, and to get all patients into one big cohesive block that can muscle Big Pharma and the medical community into getting real about pricing as it relates to the actual cost of doing business and banning the stupid charge master that lets them charge whatever they like.

Leave a Reply

