It’s Bourdain Season Again

By Karen

Anthony Bourdain’s back from an extended vacation in the Hamptons, and he describes beautifully for CNN how he goes “Full Metal Ina.” Who wouldn’t want to spend a month at the beach with a guy who does all the cooking? Lucky Ottavia!

Today, David Chang’s magazine Lucky Peach should be on newsstands with a new Bourdain short story.

And on Sunday, Parts Unknown Season 2 begins with Tony visiting the West Bank and Gaza in Israel. Another episode this season that I’m particularly excited about is Copenhagen. (Oh great. Now I’ve done it. I’ve got Danny Kaye singing in my head and he won’t stop!)

BONUSES…

Tony recently did an interview with Forbes about Parts Unknown.

The day after he returned from vacation, he did this 47-minute audio interview with Opie & Anthony on Sirius…

11 Responses to It’s Bourdain Season Again

  1. MorganLF says:

    Opie and Anthony suck! They were once on their way then f ‘d it a ll up when they got uppity and went against Howard Stern who smashed them like bugs. Ill listen to the interview later, but I wish Tony would do the Stern show. I would be verry entertaining.

  2. catsworking says:

    Morgan, O&A sounded like a couple of aging frat boys to me so I pretty much ignored anything they said. Bourdain was good, though. He was definitely at ease.

  3. Zappa's Mom says:

    Does he really NEED to do interviews with d-bags like Opie and Anthony? Does their audience even know how to spell CNN?

  4. catsworking says:

    ZM, I don’t know anything about those 2 guys. First I’d ever heard of them. Of course, we don’t know who Bourdain turns down for interviews (except Cats Working), but he does seem open to talking to pretty much anybody else on the planet, O&A included. I don’t hold that against him. 😉

  5. adele says:

    During his Chicago NR show,AB featured a local radio embarrassment called ManCow Mueller. I don’t understand his attraction for these guys.

    But on a positive note,I thought the Jerusalem season premiere of Parts Unknown was one of his best shows — ever. The production values were great, and it was an unflinching look at this incredibly complicated area of the world. And who knew that Tony’s mother was Jewish. I had no idea that there were instant bar mitzvahs to be had at The Wailing Wall.

  6. catsworking says:

    Adele, I think the juvenile radio personalities appeal to his inner teenager, which is never far from the surface.

    I haven’t watched the Jerusalem episode yet, but did watch the compilation that came on right before it from season 1 and really liked that. (My new DVR is great. It’s picking up things I didn’t know were coming.)

    I’ve read a few reviews of the Israel show in the Israeli press and it’s not getting raves. I was also very surprised to learn his mother is Jewish. After all these years… he’s still got revelations for us.

    However, after much searching, I did get my hands on Lucky Peach to read his new short story. More on that as soon as I get a minute. Lately, my clients haven’t been leaving me a minute to myself.

  7. MorganLF says:

    Then that means in the Jewish faith, that Tony is Jewish. You are the faith of your mother. Also that explains some of the earlier hell-on-wheels comments made years ago by commentators who purported to know him. Having had a Jewish mother in law…need I say more?

  8. catsworking says:

    Morgan, hasn’t Tony talked about being an altar boy? He was raised Catholic, wasn’t he? But, yes, I concur. A Jewish boyfriend once told me that his children could on be Jewish only if the mother were Jewish. (Does that imply they think all shikshas cheat, so they’re never sure the kids are theirs?)

    Now I wonder what kind of exposure Tony got to Judaism, and if he felt conflicted. Could explain some of the early rebellion.

  9. adele says:

    My impression,is that there was virtually no exposure to Judaism in the Bourdain household. In the Naples NR episode, when he and Ottavia were crashing a wedding,I distinctly remember them talking about whether they could have been married in The Church, and Tony saying that he had ” the papers” that would allow it — I think he was probably baptized Catholic.If a Jewish mother allows her kids to be baptized in another religion, you can pretty much bet she’s not observant in any way.The elder Bourdains marriage must have been contentious; it ended in divorce. I suspect there was enough fodder for rebellion without religion ever entering into it.

    I always felt (without actually knowing) that Judaism is handed down through the maternal line, because we almost all know out mothers, but as the saying goes, “It’s a wise child, who knows his own father,” or “Mama’s baby, papa’s maybe.”

    Bill Maher’s mother is also Jewish, but he, too, was baptized Catholic, and aside from his attitude that Israel can pretty much do no wrong, I don’t get the idea that he was exposed to much Judaism.

  10. Adele says:

    I looked up the matrilineal handing down of Judaism. Aside from the “it’s easier to know your mother than your father” stuff, it’s felt (at least in Orthodox and Conservative Judaism) that since the child is a part of the mother until birth, that the spiritual connection is stronger — that during gestation the child shares the mother’s soul.

  11. catsworking says:

    I know more about Mormonism than Judaism (go figure), which is saying, not much, but I remember how my boyfriend used to scarf down bacon, hot dogs, and any other pork product he could get his hands on when we were on vacation, and I’d ask why the Jewish thing against pork, he’d go Tevye on me and proclaim, “It’s TRADITION!”

Leave a Reply

