Bourdain Lands a Temp Talk Show Gig

By Karen

Piers Morgan is on a break from his CNN talk show this week and needed subs, so Anthony Bourdain, who has been showing his family the sights and tastes of Tokyo, is returning to take over the chair Thursday, July 25, at 9 p.m. ET.

This isn’t Tony’s first time hosting a talk show, but it’s been 5 years. The first time was a sort of trial balloon he launched for Travel Channel back in 2008 called At the Table.

Anyway, it did not go as well as hoped; video of it quickly disappeared from YouTube, and the experiment was never repeated.

This time out, it seems Tony will be remaining within his comfort zone. Or perhaps CNN required him to supply his own guests.

He’s tweeted he’ll be host to David Simon (Treme co-creator), David Carr (New York Times media and culture columnist), and always-fun celebrity-chef pals Eric Ripert and Mario Batali. One major topic of discussion will be Cronuts™.

Eater.com reports that Cronuts™ creator Chef Dominique Ansel will also be on hand, and there will be a “DKA vs. Cronut™” taste-off. (I have no idea what a “DKA” is.)

FYI, a Cronut™ is a hybrid croissant-doughnut fried in grapeseed oil, with flaky layers and cream inside, and a glazed-doughnut exterior.

Just putting this out there for any Bourdainiacs who care to tune in. I know I will.

 

6 Responses to Bourdain Lands a Temp Talk Show Gig

  1. Deb Hayes says:

    Tony, trendy Tony. I wish him well.

  2. Zappa's Mom says:

    I’m taking the credit for this! I knew he would be in Piers’ chair! Good luck,Tony,but how about some un-chef types?

  3. Bacardi1 says:

    Thanks for the update! Originally he was supposed to chair the show on Tuesday night, but apparently got pre-empted due to all of the royal birth hoopla. Glad to see they rescheduled him.

  4. catsworking says:

    Bacardi, I’m glad they moved it as well. Last night I was up to my ears in Dexter. (Yes, the marathon continues – up to episode 7:03 and closing in fast on the current season, where I understand that snake La Guerta finally gets what’s coming to her.)

    Morgan, I can’t say I’ve ever seen anything by Ken Burns, but I probably have. Funny you should mention “young” Tony. Right now I’m playing pickup on Cooking Channel on all the old Cook’s Tour episodes I missed, getting them on DVD. He was definitely a rookie back in the day, but game for anything. Interesting to watch his evolution into the suave man of the world he is today.

    Was watching the Vietnam “cobra heart” episode recently, and he actually called his favorite noodle dish “pho” to rhyme with “Poe.” Yes, our boy has learned a lot…

    ZM, I think Tony has been working on his interview style in Parts Unknown, where he’s been giving a lot more face time to the people he meets and their conversations. I could see him hosting a TRAVEL talk show. I don’t think there’s any such animal out there right now.

  5. Zappa's Mom says:

    I know this makes me un-cool but the Royal Baby coverage had me glued to the screen

  6. catsworking says:

    ZM, you are not alone. I’m a big fan of the royals. I think Kate is wonderful, and I love William and Harry. (The only one I’m not real crazy about OK, don’t like, is Camilla.) I don’t give a crap that Charles finally got the woman of his dreams. He did Diana dirty and had the bad taste to prefer a hag.

    However, I am bummed that they named the baby George. Who the hell DOES that? George is a curmudgeon name. William said they needed to get to know the baby before they picked the name. So they spent one day with him and decided he looked like a GEORGE?

    I was hoping for James, going by the top choices. I would have been happier with John.

    And what woodwork did they pull Louis from?

Leave a Reply

