Weight Watchers® “Almost-After” Pics

By Karen

In case you’re new here, I’ve been on the Weight Watchers PointsPlus plan since May 28, 2012 – 38 weeks. I’ve lost 45 lbs. and a few readers have asked for “after” pics, so here they are.

I’d still like to lose 5 more pounds and make it an even 50 (from 177 to 127), but that could take a while. I just came off an incredibly frustrating month-long plateau where pound 134 kept bouncing off and on and I couldn’t get past it, no matter how “good” I was.

But this week I finally broke through that wall and hit 132, so I’m feeling re-energized.

Without further ado, I’ll model for you some clothes I bought and wore just last summer. Seeing myself with them now, I can’t wrap my head around how big I’d let myself get…

As God is my witness, I'll NEVER be mistaken for a shower curtain again!

As God is my witness, I’ll NEVER be mistaken for a shower curtain again!

Before losing 11” in the bust (and still having plenty), I was beginning to worry about buttoning this shirt.

Before losing 11” in the bust (don’t worry, I still have plenty — I’m Italian!), I was beginning to worry about buttoning this shirt.

I thought these shorts looked like clown clothes when I bought them — but they FIT!

I thought these shorts looked like clown clothes when I bought them — but they FIT!

I’m mortified that I actually walked around a cruise ship last spring in those clothes.

I call this my “Jared from Subway” shot.

I call this my “Jared from Subway” shot.

Overall, I’ve lost about 34 inches. I’ve gone from size 18 and 2x to size 10-12 and medium/large (sizing is totally inconsistent).

As my sister says, "Valerie Bertinelli, eat your heart out."

As my sister says, “Valerie Bertinelli, eat your heart out.”

I don’t care what the foodies say. I’ve been on both sides of the fence now, and there’s no food delicious enough to EVER make being overweight (and the lack of attractive clothes and the way you ironically become invisible to people) worth it.

17 Responses to Weight Watchers® “Almost-After” Pics

  1. Suzette says:

    Happy for you, & inspired!

  2. Mandy says:

    YOU LOOK FABULOUS!

  3. Shelley Kelley says:

    Congratulations, kiddo. You were cute even at your heaviest, but I gotta say, you look much better now. You’re an inspiration and I just look forward my battle with the bubble at 134.

  4. catsworking says:

    Thank you everybody!

    The thing I think I’m happiest about (aside from losing the 11″ of boobage) is getting some of my jawline back because my neck is thinner. On the other hand, my neck is getting a little stringy-looking.

    Women just can’t win…

  5. adele says:

    Unbelievable! You look amazing and young. You should turn heads on your upcoming cruise.

    Nice to see someone looking so happy after last night’s Downton.

  6. Zappa's Mom says:

    OMG!! You look fantastic and I am jealous! I’m overjoyed for you!!

  7. catsworking says:

    ZM, are you kidding? Even on a good day, I’ll never look as fantastic as you do. Readers, this woman looks 20 years younger than she is.

    Thank you, Adele. Glad to hear I look younger from a distance because I’ve got more wrinkles on my face than ever. And because I’m far-sighted, my glasses magnify them, so when I smile, I look about 80 between my nose and forehead.

    I was glad to see Matthew go on Downtown. It will probably result in future obscurity for the actor, and a huge boost to the career of Branson, who will become the resident hunk Lord Grantham relies on.

    And, as Julian Fellowes has said, this plot turn allows them to give Mary a “reset” and make her interesting again. As a happily married woman with a baby, her story was going nowhere.

    I was more upset by the abrupt leap forward one year in time that began the finale. WTF? I thought it was very poorly done. Baby Sybil is suddenly a toddler, Daisy is still slaving in the kitchen, with nary a word about her offer to run that farm, nor the romantic triangle with that other kitchen maid and the footman. And Bates and Anna have been married a year and she’s not pregnant yet.

  8. Hubba, hubba, Karen! You look like Tina Fey! (That’s a compliment.)

  9. catsworking says:

    Hey Suzanne! Tiny Fey? That’s a new one. I’ve been told Liza Minelli before (when I had bangs, and didn’t take it as a compliment). But Tina Fey is good. Thanks!

  10. adele says:

    Tina Fey — I can definitely see it.

  11. catsworking says:

    You people are nuts. You realize what one degree from Tina Fey is, don’t you?

    SARAH PALIN!!

    I only wish I were as funny as Tina Fey…

  12. adele says:

    I confess, I thought about the Sarah Palin tie-in, but honestly, you do resemble Tina Fey. It’s not just the glasses; I think it’s your smile and the shape of your face.

  13. catsworking says:

    And we’re both brunettes. Maybe I could pass for Tina Fey’s mother.

  14. adele says:

    Tina is 41 or 42 — that would make you a very young mother.

  15. catsworking says:

    Yeah, about my mother’s age when she had me. 😉

  16. MorganLF says:

    Ok I’m late to this thread…I’ve had some shit medical issues..but later for that. Girl you look amazing!

    You did it!!! I am so proud of you..remember years ago when we first went to DC to meet mr and mrs B? We both lamented our weight and you said you wanted to lose 40 lbs and you did that and more!

    Ok miss hottie, will you be my coach ? But please do,I have to eat those gnarly noodles?

    Nice job Karen .

  17. catsworking says:

    Morgan! I’ve been wondering how you were doing. Hope you are on the mend.

    Yes, I’ve lost 48 pounds now. I’d like to make it an even 50, but I’m happy where I am, if I don’t.

    I would be happy to be your coach. You don’t even need to join WW. I can tell you what you need to know, and there are other free sites to help you with some of the calculations. All you need is a place to record your points, because tracking them more definitively than in your head is mandatory for success.

    And no, you don’t have to eat those noodles. I’ve kind of gone off them myself, although they’ll do in a pinch.

Leave a Reply

