UnFoodie Discovers Pasta Zero

By Karen

After 6 months on Weight Watchers (how that’s going is another post), I’m forever on the prowl for new eats with low points. That’s how I found Pasta Zero by nasoya®.

(Can I hear MorganLF gagging all the way from New Jersey?)

OK, the only resemblance Pasta Zero has to actual spaghetti is its shape. If you bite into it expecting Italian, it probably will gag you.

The noodles are made from potato starch, konjac flour (??), and chickpea flour, and they reek of rotting fish when you first open the package.

But you can eat the WHOLE 8-oz. package (totally doable, even though it claims to be 2 servings) for only 1 WW point. (One cup of naked cooked spaghetti is 5 — even whole-grain.)

Last week I prepared PZ. The smell comes from the liquid you have to drain and rinse from the noodles. The noodles themselves seem odorless.

First, I sautéed lots of onions and mushrooms in Pam, then threw in the noodles to dry them out and heat them. They’re already cooked.

Since I was in the mood for Italian, I threw in ½ cup of Ragu Tomato & Basil sauce (yes, I’m that lazy) and topped it with crumbled goat cheese.

This hefty plate of food was only 4 points.

The noodles are soft, but so firm, they’re hard to break with your teeth.

This was the first time I’ve ever had goat cheese, and I’m trying to figure out the big foodie attraction. It’s like a pricier, flat-tasting feta that refuses to melt.

Although the recipe on the package is “Spaghetti with Marinara Sauce,” Pasta Zero seems Asian. Next time I’m going to try teriyaki or oyster-flavored sauce with smoked oysters.

In researching this post, I found similar noodles online called Miracle Noodles.

A woman reviewed shirataki noodles for Slate and couldn’t stomach them.

But a guy at Natural News loves them.

I think it’s all about expectations, and my years of watching Anthony Bourdain slurp noodles have served me well. I approached Pasta Zero prepared to suspend disbelief. If you can get past the smell, they have unlimited potential for deliciousness.

6 Responses to UnFoodie Discovers Pasta Zero

  1. Zappa's Mom says:

    Ive had the Shira take,and they aren’t bad.Ive always done them Asian-y,sort of veggie stir fry with shrimp.Now Im tempted to go to Whole Foods and buy some so that I can try them Italian-y(Ive also seen them in an angel hair version)

    Im with you on the goat cheese.As much as I love cheese,I can skip it entirely

  2. catsworking says:

    ZM, Food Lion has the spaghetti style and a fettucine (which I just bought for the first time but haven’t tried yet).

    Actually, the spaghetti shiratake reminds me of ramen noodles, and would be fine in a ramen-type broth.

    I bought an expensive little log of goat cheese a few months ago at Fresh Market, but this was the first time I tried using it, and I regretted it. It was the weakest link in the dish. I stuck it in the microwave for a minute, which would have melted “normal” cheese, but nothing happened. However, when I ate it, I could smear it around almost like a ricotta. But the taste is so blah, it’s not worth eating (especially since it counted for half the WW points). And I’ve still got 3/4 of the log left.

  3. MorganLF says:

    YECCCCCCCHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. adele says:

    I must look for those noodles — with a good sauce (and Morgan, I’d never say gravy with faux pasta) they’d probably be passable.

    Karen, if you want to splurge, look up Rick Stein’s Linguine ai Fruttii Di Mare on the internet. You could cut down on the olive oil (easy to do, and it wouldn’t matter much to the flavor), and the only extra step it has is steaming the mussels and clams separately and then putting them in the sauce at the last minute. You cook the shrimp in the sauce, which is basically just tomatoes and garlic. Mussels and clams are really easy to steam; I don’t know why people are so scared of them. You just need a reliable fish place so they’re really fresh.

    As for goat cheese, there’s goat cheese and there’s goat cheese, but I agree, I don’t like it warm at all. Since you like feta, another way to do your “pasta” would be to throw in some oregano and shrimp and then to sprinkle with feta — a Greek feast.

  5. catsworking says:

    Morgan, I knew that would be your reaction! 😉

  6. Zappa's Mom says:

    ooohhhh….Morgan!

Leave a Reply

