Michelle to Ann: Checkmate

By Adele

The Republicans’ Obama Bash was so long on lies and short on specifics except, “We’ll undo everything Obama did,” it was encouraging to see the Democrats come back swinging.

Massachusetts’ current governor, Deval Patrick, did a good job of explaining why Romney doesn’t brag about when he had that job.

But the real showdown was between Michelle Obama and Ann Romney.

Ann spoke at length about how desperate and downtrodden everybody is — especially women. Not that she would know. But she unwittingly revealed more than she intended in talking about life with Mitt…

“All at once I’m 22 years old, with a baby and a husband who’s going to business school and law school at the same time, and I can tell you, probably like every other girl who finds herself in a new life far from family and friends, with a new baby and a new husband, that it dawned on me that I had absolutely no idea what I was getting into.”

And addressing the myth of her “storybook” marriage…

“Well, in the storybooks I read, there were never long, long, rainy winter afternoons in a house with five boys screaming at once.”

Now let’s cut to Michelle, who spoke of her daughters only in loving terms, never alluded to feeling overwhelmed, isolated, or possibly even abandoned in her marriage. She clearly saw herself and Barack as partners every step of the way.

Talking about the pre-White House years…

“And the truth is, I loved the life we had built for our girls…I deeply loved the man I had built that life with…”

And about him during the White House Years…

“Well, today, after so many struggles and triumphs and moments that have tested my husband in ways I never could have imagined, I have seen firsthand that being president doesn’t change who you are — it reveals who you are.”

Ann Romney personified the meek, obedient, perpetually-pregnant stay-at-home woman Republicans would like all females to become.

Michelle Obama came across as a confident career woman whose job today is to complement her husband and serve as a role model to her daughters that there’s more to life than going forth and multiplying. (The Romneys have 18 grandchildren and counting.)

The Obamas and Romneys are both wealthy families, but  unlike the Romneys, neither of the Obamas came from money. Barack made much of his fortune from his books. And the Obamas don’t own multiple houses, a fleet of cars, and Olympic-class horses. They openly pay their fair share of taxes and don’t bank in the Caymans.

As Michelle said…

“Barack knows the American Dream because he’s lived it…and he wants everyone in this country to have that same opportunity, no matter who we are, or where we’re from, or what we look like, or who we love.

And he believes that when you’ve worked hard, and done well, and walked through that doorway of opportunity…you do not slam it shut behind you…you reach back, and you give other folks the same chances that helped you succeed.”

If Mitt Romney ever were to reach the Oval Office, you can be sure he’d slam the door shut behind him as a “Mission Accomplished” and forget all about who put him there.

6 Responses to Michelle to Ann: Checkmate

  1. imabear says:

    Great post! You nailed it – as usual!

  2. adele says:

    And Adele, to be frivolous for a moment, I thought Michelle’s dress was great and she looked beautiful — by comparison Ann Romney looked brittle and buttoned-up.

    I wonder whether Michelle wrote her speech herself; it certainly had that ring to it. It was good and graceful.

    That said, I really resent a system, where the candidates’ wives are brought out to reveal their “softer side.” I guess I just like more substance. I thought Deval Patrick gave a great speech, and I look forward to hearing Elizabeth Warren tonight.

    I’ve been disappointed in Obama in many ways, but there was never any question that short of the Republicans running the reincarnation of Abraham Lincoln, I’d vote for him again. And as I looked out over the truly diverse assemblage at the Dem’s convention and heard at least lip service given to giving opportunity to all and having empathy for those less fortunate, I got online and gave a little money.

  3. keriwormald says:

    Michelle Obama’s speech, as well as several of the earlier speeches (a couple of which should’ve been cut about 5 to 10 minutes shorter) revealed, not a party that’s only about poor people as I heard stated on the news this a.m., but a party that is in touch with ALL of America. It was the First Lady’s speech though that had me welling up with tears of pride that I voted for Obama (twice after this election). She’s the most accomplished First Lady we’ve ever had in my lifetime…and the down and dirty exercise footage and planting food with the kids? Come on. What’s not to love?

  4. catsworking says:

    Why, thank you, imabear. You have my ears blushing.

    Adele, I just read that Ann wore Oscar de la Renta for her speech. She was buttoned up, possibly, because of her undergarments. You never see her a V-neck or short sleeves, let alone sleeveless. If Ann became First Lady, we’d be seeing long-sleeved turtleneck gowns at state functions. And doing jumping jacks or planting a garden with kids? Puleez! She wouldn’t know which end of the shovel goes in the ground.

    I agree with you that it shouldn’t be necessary to trot out the wives, but on the other hand, they do come as a package deal, and it’s good to see what we’re getting.

    Keri, I’d put Hilary Clinton in the same league as Michelle. Hilary might have been an amazing first lady if she hadn’t gotten slapped down on healthcare early on.

    Even though Karen was spitting mad at Obama over throwing everybody to the private health insurers, she says there’s no way she could NOT vote for him and risk the Republicans sending the whole system into free-fall.

    We watched a bunch of the speeches last night, and the inclusiveness expressed toward women, gays, the military made us proud (even though nobody mentioned kitties). They didn’t have to keep the cameras trained on the American Samoans to make the crowd look diverse, either.

  5. MorganLF says:

    Deval Patrick’s speech had me whooping and calling my sister in law to make sure they were watching.

    Michelle’s speech as you so eloquently wrote was touching and beautifully delivered.

    I agree Hilary would have beenn brilliant and that being said, I am proud to have voted for Obama and will again.

    I wait anxiously for Bill’s speech tonight. Considering the friction between them, Obama is clever enough to realize he will deliver.

    Something tells me I’m gonna be pissing off my ” fiscal conservative” Republican neighbors by whooping it up again. As if they have any idea of what that means.

    For the record, Clinton was a fiscal hawk. He balanced the budget and left the Dubya Bush White House with a significant surplus according to Dubya’s own Secretary of the Treasury, Paul O’Neal, who wrote an illuminating book, “The Price of Loyalty.” It’s worth reading.

    Obama’s presidency has been hampered with the overwhelming burdens he inherited not at all helped by the party of no, but consider the options.

    Both Clinton and Obama are true American stories of poor kids making good. Oh yeah and they are both fucking smart. Not rich, not elitists but smart and for my money who do I want to be my president? A rich white dude or the smartest guy in the room?

  6. Zappa's Mom says:

    Me too,Morgan,I want the smart guy!

Leave a Reply

