Weight Watchers® Update

By Karen

Part 5 – Strange Path to the 10% Sweet Spot

After 12 weeks with Weight Watchers® online, I’ve lost a tad over 10% of my starting weight, or roughly 19 lbs. They say this is supposed to yield an untold wealth of health benefits.

It does feel good. But I still don’t feel slim and nobody’s saying, “There’s something different about you. Have you done something to your hair?”

A 2.1-lb. drop last week, the most I’ve lost since the earliest stages, resulted from some weird eating.

First, my salty/crunchy craving made me demolish 3 bags of pork rinds at 16 points each (remember, I get 26 points/day).

Why pork rinds? Because I vaguely remembered they were a good thing on the Atkins Diet.

I also snacked on turkey pepperoni instead of yucky raw carrots or celery because 16 slices (of pepperoni) are only 2 points.

And I cut back on fruit.

Basically, I pushed back on the WW vegetarian agenda and increased fat and protein à la Ottavia Bourdain. (Maybe my next craving will be to beat up somebody!)

This morning I tried on my bathing suit and decided I wouldn’t die if I were seen in it, although I wouldn’t be proud, either. I still have Mr. Peanut’s torso — if he had enormous boobs.

The other day I treated myself to a dressy little top on sale in size large that fits like a sausage casing now, but I hope to wear at the holidays.

I’m walking or pedaling 10,000 steps or more every single day.

I don’t miss potatoes or sweets. Starch-wise, I’m having nothing but whole-grain bread and pasta, except for a Thomas’ thin bagel 3x a week with lox and light cream cheese.

But I miss do beef and pork a LOT.

I’ve considered quitting WW’s annoying site and continuing alone, but online tracking is keeping me honest, and I do appreciate the weekly canned encouragement, since the cats couldn’t care less what I look like.

My next weight-loss goal is another 5%.

At my next doctor’s visit, I want to see the nurse’s face when, for the first time in ages, she realizes she doesn’t have to fling that 150-lb. weight on the scale to get my number.

5 Responses to Weight Watchers® Update

  1. Zappa's Mom says:

    Congratulations,Karen! Yesterday(my birthday)I ate cake,cheese,crab dip,more cake.Today I can barely move…..it was so worth it. Now,back to the salad grindstone

  2. catsworking says:

    A belated Happy Birthday, ZM! And many more.

    Thanks for the congrats. I’m actually up to 20 lbs. lost now.

  3. adele says:

    Very late congratulations, Karen; following cataract surgery, I can finally read more than a few words on the computer (the surgery went well, and I could almost immediately see better and read books better, but it took a really long time for the computer — glasses prescription issue, I think)

    Twenty pounds is really great — just try holding 20lbs. of kitty litter. I can’t wait to hear about all your slinky holiday outfits, perhaps complete with stilettos.

    .And ZM, belated birthday greetings from Alice, Dorothy and me.

  4. catsworking says:

    Thank you, Adele. Glad to hear your eyes are healing. I have a friend who’s had it done in both eyes and her recovery is a work in progress as well, although she says she can see better.

    I won’t feel like I’m really getting somewhere with the weight loss until I exceed 22 lbs. because that’s what I regained after I lost 15 back in 2010. Once I’ve dropped all of that, then I will be hitting number on the scale I haven’t seen in a few years.

    When I’m feeling fairly svelte, maybe I’ll even dare to post a picture!

Leave a Reply

