‘Today Show’ Producers Have a Death Wish

By Adele

It’s like watching a slow-mo train wreck on the Today Show. Ann Curry somehow manages to carry on with grace while NBC execs continue to crap on her good name rather than take responsibility for their own failures in the ratings.

And now it seems they’re seriously considering the vowel-challenged Hoda Kotb to be Matt Lauer’s new sidekick.

REALLY??!! Can anybody even pronounce “Kotb?”

Thanks to NBC, Hoda’s image is of a middle-aged mid-morning drunk who dresses like she thinks she’s a hot 25-year-old.

Just the type to play Matt Lauer’s straight man — NOT.

And where does that leave Hoda’s booze-buddy, Kathy Lee Gifford? Will they pull Regis Philbin and his creepy perm out of retirement and prop him up beside her?

The people at Good Morning America must be dancing for joy. NBC is as hard-pressed to find a decent morning host within its ranks as the Republicans are for a presidential candidate who doesn’t make you hurl hairballs.

Giving Hoda more prominence will be the kiss of death to the Today Show — and it will be well-deserved.

12 Responses to ‘Today Show’ Producers Have a Death Wish

  1. Bacardi1 says:

    Luckily, I avoid ALL of the morning shows. Actually, network tv completely – the “news” included. In fact, except for a few tv cooking shows, & “Law & Order: SVU”, my dial is normally set 24/7 to Turner Classic Movies.

    The rest of television is craptastic & so dumbed down to the lowest common denominator of viewer, that it frightens me.

  2. catsworking says:

    Well, NBC has announced that Savannah Guthrie is taking over for Ann Curry, so the threat of Hoda drinking at 7 a.m. is gone. Nothing against Savannah, but I don’t think they’re going to find her to be any live wire, either.

    And apparently Ann is staying on with NBC in some news capacity. Maybe they’ll give her to Brian Williams to do hardcore stories for his Rock Center, which has already had its night switched and seems doomed for a short, neglected life. Instead of doing the “real” news on a separate show, Williams would do better to convince the suits that 20 minutes of fluff on his Nightly News is a bit much.

    This morning we tuned in to GMA for a few minutes and Karen went, “Holy crap! THAT’S not what we’re watching!” That bunch looks like Today rejects, although we do like George Stephanopoulos. We’ll be watching CBS with Charlie Rose and Gayle King. I guess they’re in 3rd place now, but I think their ratings are about to spike.

  3. MorganLF says:

    Bacardi,, Turner Classic number one go to here as well. I now also include BBC America, particularly Top Gear, my new crush…funniest tall bastard out there , Jeremy Clarkson. I know he looks like a battered catchers mit, but I dig him, brilliant and funnier than balls.

  4. Bacardi1 says:

    I also catch “Top Gear” sometimes; my husband watches it religiously. I also caught Clarkson on an episode of Gordon Ramsay’s show – “The F Word”. Gordon visited Clarkson’s lovely seaside home on The Isle of Wight, & they boiled lobsters together for Clarkson’s family.

  5. catsworking says:

    What is this Top Gear? I’ve never heard of it.

    I LOVE TCM, too. Not only as a fan of the classices, but I’ve been using it to redo my entire VHS movie collection, rerecording movies onto DVD without commercials as they turn up. I’ve cleared out many, many feet of bookshelf space, but the next time new media makes what I’ve got obsolete, I’m chucking it all and giving up.

  6. Bacardi1 says:

    “Top Gear” is a British show devoted to automobile fans on the BBCAmerica channel. A little bit of serious, but mostly very funny & sometimes bizarre. If you ever get a chance to catch it (BBCAmerica shows episodes several times a day 7 days a week), you’ll understand what I mean.

  7. catsworking says:

    Bacardi, that does not sound like my kind of show, but if I ever catch it, I’ll give it a whirl. We watch BBCAmerica news every night because they tend to keep the fluffy padding to a minimum. NBC should watch and take notes.

  8. Bacardi1 says:

    Believe it or not, it’s a very entertaining show – even for folks who aren’t into cars. I couldn’t care less about cars other than they be able to get me from Point A to Point B & back to Point A again without breaking down, & even I find the show entertaining & funny. They also have guest stars who compete in lap races – can be very funny. The episode I caught yesterday had Tom Cruise & Cameron Diaz driving. It was fun to watch.

  9. Zappa's Mom says:

    I read on the Daily Mail that Matt’s wife threatened to divorce him…again….if Natalie Morales were to be named AC’s replacement. The two married coworkers had an affair a few years ago and Matt is rumored to be the father of her youngest child ( I love this shit) but,seriously,just throw in the towel on your shitty marriage,take half of his cash and let him bang whoever he wants. Or would that be whomever?

  10. catsworking says:

    Bacardi, I did catch a good portion of 2 episodes of Top Gear. In one, the guy drove almost up to the mouth of a volcano, with a mixture of water and vodka keeping the tires cool on the lava. Where they lose me is when they go to the studio audience. What’s it supposed to be, “England’s Funniest Home Videos: Automotive Edition?”

    I still don’t get the attraction. However, I would like to catch the series Twenty Twelve, which is supposed to be a satire on the Olympics starring Hugh Bonneville (of Downton Abbey). I think the FINALE is tonight. I just found out about the show. And it’s not On Demand. Rats!!

    ZM, how did I miss all that juicy scoop on Matt Lauer? I knew his wife is the arm-candy type and a bitch who’s always threatening to divorce him, but hadn’t heard about the affair and possible love child.

    Matt should be in hog heaven now with his little harem of adoring chicks. I always get Guthrie and Morales confused and suspect they are the same person. In fact, when Ann Curry gave her farewell speech, I thought it was Guthrie at the other end of the couch and they shared a big hug at the end! WRONG!! They must have had Guthrie hiding under a desk somewhere in case Ann started throwing stuff.

  11. karen Rees says:

    a wonderful welcome to Savannah but couldn’t even give Ann Curry a decent send off after they fired her. The Today Show execs. are missing the mark…hope your show tanks.

  12. catsworking says:

    We had the Today Show on this morning long enough to hear Matt Lauer welcome Savannah and begin blathering about the cast, which is when Karen switched to CBS. We have nothing against Savannah Guthrie and hope she loves getting up before dawn to pretend to worship Lauer and try to milk “news” out of Kate Gosselin, various Kardashians, Octomom, and anybody who’s been bitten by a shark or lost a limb lately. Really adds to her cred as a serious journalist.

    Karma’s a bitch, and after the raw deal NBC gave Ann Curry, we’re counting the days until they start feeling the backlash.

Leave a Reply

