Belmont: Torn Between Two Horses

By Adele

UPDATE: Hours after I posted this, I’ll Have Another got scratched from the Belmont Stakes, and it sounds as if he’s injured enough to never race again. This only reinforces my position that the Triple Crown races should be held at least a month apart. So now I’m predicting my original favorite, Dullahan, will win. We wish I’ll Have Another a speedy recovery.

The oddsmakers finally seem to be paying attention to my astute predictions. Dullahan, my pick for the Kentucky Derby (who came in third), is favored second to win the Belmont Stakes tomorrow.

The favorite is, of course, I’ll Have Another, the Kentucky Derby and Preakness winner. He now has a shot at being the 12th horse ever to win the Triple Crown.

I would love to see Another do it, but things have a way of going haywire at Belmont. Remember a few years ago when Big Brown was two for two like Another, and then he totally blew it at Belmont, walking last across the finish line?

This will be Another’s third — and longest — race in only 5 weeks. Will he have the stamina to pull off another win, especially from the far outside in post position 11? (There are only 12 horses running in all.)

Dullahan sat out the Preakness, and he’s known as a distance runner, so I think he has a pretty good chance at pulling off an upset.

If there’s no Triple Crown winner again this year, I hope the powers that be will take a serious look at spacing these races out at least a month apart to give the horses a chance to rest and recuperate.

Running these magnificent horses ragged on an unrealistic time table isn’t sport. It’s stupid.

I’ll be cheering for I’ll Have Another and Dullahan. May the best horse win, and may they all stay safe.

8 Responses to Belmont: Torn Between Two Horses

  1. If they’d allow “Another” to wear his Breathe Right strips, I’d put my money on him. Without them, he may literally choke at the finish line.

  2. adele says:

    Adele, just read the sad news that “Another” has been scratched due to developing tendonitis. I’m just glad they pulled him rather than letting him race and develop a life threatening injury.

    We’ll all be rooting for Dullahan.

  3. catsworking says:

    suzanne, ??? I can’t make any sense of your comment. I guess Another won’t need to worry about breathing right or wrong tomorrow. He’s not running.

  4. Bacardi1 says:

    Suzanne is talking about the recent hoopla surrounding NY’s ban on using equine “Breathe Right” strips, with “Another” has always worn for racing. They’re similar to the nasal strips touted for humans to wear at night to improve sleep quality, stop snoring, etc., etc. The equine version is said to improve breathing & prevent bleeding, thus taking the place of Lasix. Since NY doesn’t allow the strips, there’s been controversary as to how “Another’s” performance in the Belmont might have been affected. But obviously that’s a moot point now.

    I do imagine that the media powers that be have been bumping into each other in a frenzy what with all the material they’ll have to work with on-air today: Doug O’Neill’s CA suspension, the whole drugging brouhaha, “Another’s” sudden tendonitis blowup, etc., etc. – not to mention all the folks who bought pricey Belmont tickets thinking they’d possible get to watch a Triple Crown win in the flesh & are now pissed as hell – lol!

    I have to admit that I too was really hoping this would be the year for a Triple Crown win & was looking forward to the race; but now I’m kind of “meh” about it. I’ll watch it, but it just won’t be the same.

  5. catsworking says:

    Bacardi, thanks for filling me in. Karen sometimes wears Breathe Right to bed so I know what you’re talking about, but somehow I missed the whole stink about it. Had no idea horses wear them, but it sounds like a good idea, and since it’s not drugs, I don’t see what the problem would be.

    I am nursing my broken heart right now over Dullahan’s defeat in the Belmont. He totally got lost in the crowd. I knew when he was acting skittery going to the gate that there was going to be trouble. He wasn’t doing his usual happy dance.

    Union Rags did a good job, though, sneaking up on the rail to surprise Paynter at the last minute.

  6. Bacardi1 says:

    Well, since I’ve mentioned before here how much I am NOT a fan of trainer Bob Baffert, you of course must realize how THRILLED I am that Paynter was edged out in the final stretch by Union Rags.

    And as usual – no post-race interview with Baffert. Sore loser as always.

  7. catsworking says:

    Bacardi, they were saying Paynter’s jockey really screwed up by not hogging the rail and letting Union Rags get by him.

    I just hope they take good care of I’ll Have Another so he can come back to racing next year.

  8. Bacardi1 says:

    Yeah, poor Mike Smith should’ve kept his mouth shut with that self-blame. I bet Baffert gave it to him real good afterwards – there’s no room for error when you work in Baffert’s camp. He’s well-known for having fired jockeys over much more minor offences than losing an important race due to pilot error. It’ll be interesting to see if Smith continues to ride for him. I can’t help but feel that Smith may pop up in someone else’s stable fairly soon.

    As for “I’ll Have Another”, they’re not going to race him again; he’s going to be sold (apparently Owner Ruddman isn’t interested in standing & breeding him himself) & will be going to stud. In fact, they had an official retirement ceremony in the winner’s circle at Belmont prior to the race. Had him all braided up, etc., etc., with Ruddman & Trainer O’Neill making speeches, yadayadayada.

Leave a Reply

