Cats Working Preakness Picks

By Adele

Unlike the odds-makers who are obstinately picking Bodemeister in post position 7 as the favorite in the 137th Preakness Stakes on May 19, I’m a cat who would never shred any horse’s Triple Crown dream. I’m putting my treats on Kentucky Derby winner I’ll Have Another in pp 9.

I think Bode will run a close second.

My wildcard favorite is 30-1 longshot Tiger Walk, who will be under Kent Desormeaux. Tiger will be at the rail in pp 1, but in a field of only 11 horses, I don’t think Kent will let him get hemmed in.

My original Derby pick and current idol, Dullahan, is taking a pass on the Preakness to rest up for the Belmont Stakes. If I’ll Have Another blows his chance at the Triple Crown this Saturday, Dully will be my man again because distance is his thing, and the Belmont is the longest race of the three.

Good luck to all the Preakness horses. May they and their jockeys cross the finish line safely.

PS: After 800+ posts, Cats Working will be taking a long overdue and much-needed break next week, but we will be back after Memorial Day.

10 Responses to Cats Working Preakness Picks

  1. adele says:

    Thanks for the prediction Adele; we’ll see how things work out. Is Karen going away? Seems like a long time between trips, although I know the feline Cats Working staff doesn’t ever want her to leave.

  2. Bacardi1 says:

    Unfortunately, Kent Desormeaux is OUT, thanks to his ongoing problems with alcohol. He tested positive prior to racing at Belmont in NY yesterday, & thus has been canned for the time being.

    I’ll also be rooting for “I’ll Have Another”, & will not be happy if “Bodemeister” edges him out. Although I do admit that Bob Baffert was almost unrecognizable in his post-Derby interview – that was the most magnanimous I’ve EVER heard him be after losing in DECADES of watching him. Perhaps his recent heart attack has changed his personality/outlook towards the rest of the world?

    Enjoy your vacation Karen. 🙂

  3. catsworking says:

    Bacardi, I read this morning about Kent Desormeaux and was heartbroken. I hope Tiger Walk doesn’t take it personally.

    Rick “The Needle” Dutrow also has a horse running in the Preakness. Name begins with a Z. He was Big Brown’s trainer a few years back and largely responsible for Brownie blowing the Triple Crown. We wrote about it extensively.

    I’l Have Another’s trainer is in trouble for similar antics. I just hope he hasn’t been pulling any of them on I’ll have Another.

  4. Bacardi1 says:

    Yeah, I’ve been following all of those hijinks as well.

    In my opinion, the big problem is that very few (if any) of these “trainers” (even the “reputable” ones) – & even most of the owners – simply are NOT horsemen/people. Sure they may basically like the animals in their own way, but the long & the short of it is that when push comes to shove, they’re in it for the racing game – the same way folks in auto racing, etc., etc., are. The animals are commodities, plain & simple – regardless of how much the people involved ooh & aah & push out stories about how they grew up with horses, horses are their life, their first pony, yadayadayada. There are a very few gold coins amongst the copper pennies, but not enough to make a difference.

    It’s sad, but it’s the way it is. And while hopefully stricter regulations will continue to be pushed through, there’s no way to change personal feelings or attitudes.

  5. adele says:

    Good call, Adele. I’m sure Fred is somewhere busting his buttons with pride.

  6. catsworking says:

    Bacardi, I totally agree with you. And that’s the irony of it. People stake their livelihoods on horses they treat like objects, yet the whole sport rests entirely on the horses themselves. The results of any race depend totally on how the horses are feeling that day, and if they feel like running. Trainers can dope them up all they want, but it’s ultimately the horse’s decision to perform or not.

    That’s why we never bet on races. We’re in it only to see the horses run. (And last year when I called long-shot Animal Kingdom to win the Derby, I think Karen could have made some coin.)

    Adele, I am so pleased that I got it right this time! Unfortunately, Tiger Walk got bad breaks all around (losing his jockey at the last minute, pulling pp 1) and ended up coming in 8th.

  7. Bacardi1 says:

    That sure was SOME race though, wasn’t it? I was literally jumping up & down yelling GO, GO GO (which isn’t my style at all – lol!) for “I’ll Have Another”, & darn if he didn’t pull it off.

    I bet the folks at Belmont are doing a major happy dance, because they will most likely pull in MILLIONS due to everyone & his brother wanting to be there for the chance to possibly see – first-hand – a Triple-Crown winner.

  8. catsworking says:

    Bacardi, it certainly was a thrill to see I’ll Have Another win again!

    Then Karen was gone all last week and canceled the newspaper, and the pet sitter never turned on the TV for us ONCE, so we were as “out of the loop” on news as Karen was in the middle of the ocean. She told me someone on her ship had heard that one of the Triple Crown race horses had died suddenly, BUT COULDN’T REMEMBER HIS NAME.

    What an idiot.

    Now that Karen’s back and all the computers are plugged in again, we’ll be able to catch up on things.

  9. Bacardi1 says:

    Well, I haven’t been anywhere & haven’t seen anything about a Triple Crowner dying suddenly. In fact, are any of them still alive now to begin with? I don’t think so.

  10. catsworking says:

    As soon as Karen got the computer running (one of us cats — not saying who — went behind the TV and unplugged the modem while she was gone. She was tearing her hair out for quite a while trying to figure out where her Internet went), I Googled as fast as my pads would allow. The only dead horse I found was Arcadius, an 8-year-old steeplechaser who dropped dead in early May after winning a 3-mile race. That must have been what the silly woman was thinking about.

Leave a Reply

