Bourdain Meets Jon Stewart TONIGHT

By Karen

I apologize to Cole for pre-empting his post, but I just learned that Anthony Bourdain is Jon Stewart’s guest tonight on The Daily Show (Comedy Central, 11 p.m. ET), and wanted to let any Bourdainiacs who still read Cats Working to know. I’ve been waiting for this particular match-up for a long time.

I just hope Stewart gets Tony to talk about something besides food.

8 Responses to Bourdain Meets Jon Stewart TONIGHT

  1. Bacardi1 says:

    Darn, I missed it! Oh well, they’ll repeat it some time.

    I do, however, have his TCM guest programmer appearance marked on my calendar. 🙂

  2. catsworking says:

    Bacardi, you are in luck. I just came across a link to the interview in its entirety:

    http://www.thedailyshow.com/watch/thu-april-5-2012/anthony-bourdain

    Basically, I thought he played straight man for Stewart. Somehow, I was expecting a conversation more fun and freewheeling than, “Man, you have the best job in the world.” Thought Stewart really dropped the ball by sticking to the narrow path. Paula Deen’s name didn’t even come up, although Tony has been dishing out blow for blow on the whole cashing in on diabetes issue, which Paula is trying to spin into “Cruel Anthony Bourdain hates me because I’m diabetic,” which TOTALLY and DELIBERATELY misses the point.

  3. Bacardi1 says:

    Thanks! It was cute. Bascially just an ad for the new season which starts this coming Monday, but cute nonetheless.

  4. Zappa's mom says:

    AB semmed much more relaxed with Jon Stewart than with Stephen Colbert.They were two guys talking about diarrhea. Heehee.

    ZM

  5. Bacardi1 says:

    Definitely! And MUCH more relaxed than when he was on Bill Maher’s show. He really seemed tense to me when he did that one.

  6. catsworking says:

    I agree with both of you, ZM and Bacardi. But that’s probably because he knew Stewart didn’t have any hidden agenda. You never know what’s going to come out of Colbert’s mouth, and I bet Maher made his contempt known the moment they met.

  7. Bacardi1 says:

    I don’t know about Colbert, but Maher was actually very friendly & respectful. I think the problem came with the fact that it wasn’t a one-on-one thing – that Maher always has a panel of other folks present, some of whom can be very serious & daunting. One never knows who’s going to jump in & with what kind of attitude. Maher himself didn’t seem to be the problem.

  8. catsworking says:

    Bacardi, I thought the same way you did about Maher at first, but then people here jumped in and noted some snarky things Maher said and I gave it a second look and felt like there was some friction there. At the least, Tony probably felt like an idiot being the only one sitting there holding a copy of his own book, and I don’t think it was ever mentioned.

Leave a Reply

