Can You Be Too Evil for a Transplant?

By Adele

Apparently not. Sometimes karma must take a nap. Last weekend, former vice president Dick Cheney got a heart transplant, after being kept alive with a pump for 20 months.

I don’t wish anybody dead, but with Cheney, you have to wonder if the U.S. would have started wars and the occupation of Iraq and Afghanistan if any of Cheney’s pre-2000 heart attacks had been fatal.

But because Cheney survived to beat the drum for war, tens of thousands of innocent soldiers and civilians have died. And Cheney has never expressed the least bit of remorse about it.

Not to mention all the animals he’s killed for fun on his hunting trips.

And now there’s a family, probably somewhere in the D.C. area, who must be wondering if the loss of their loved one made it possible for Cheney to survive yet again.

And if the organ donor wasn’t a war-loving conservative, his or her family must live with the suspicion that they helped resuscitate a monster. Transplant protocol allows for donors and recipients to remain anonymous.

In this case, it’s probably for the best.

Meanwhile, much younger heart patients who have never killed anybody continue to wait — and may die waiting for a heart donor.

The good news is that Cheney is retired and irrelevant, so it’s highly unlikely he’ll instigate any more wars. He’s free to happily live out the rest of his days on the fortune he raked in at Halliburton.

But karma may never live this down.

8 Responses to Can You Be Too Evil for a Transplant?

  1. Anne Linde says:

    Cheney didn’t have a heart transplant – he had a battery transplant !

  2. Adele says:

    I saw a headline which said, “Cheney Recieves Heart Transplant — Bush Still on Waiting List For Brain.” I had dinner with friends last night, and we were all talking about changing our organ donor cards. The best idea I heard was putting a note at the bottom of the card, stating, “My organs are not to go to war criminals.”

    My mother used to refer to some people as “Too mean to die.” I think we have an example of that here.

  3. catsworking says:

    Anne, I had the same thought. I don’t know if the procedure could so much be called a “transplant” as a “new installation.” I’m sure his family loves him — or else — but I feel certain just about anyone on the waiting list would have made a greater contribution to the world than Dick Cheney.

    Adele, good points. I wonder if people donate their organs to monsters end up going to hell, or if they get a pass because they didn’t have a say in it?

  4. Gizmo's mom says:

    Adele, I’ve heard numerous conversations about the same thing…. “maybe I should re think my organ donation status” after this event… Talk about the worst possible publicity for your cause…

  5. Zappa's mom says:

    Now I feel I have to drink until no one,even a future Dick Cheney would want my limp,soggy liver.Or perhaps there could be a transfer program that would give the really shitty organs,smoke-blackened lungs,etc.,to evil fucks like him.

    ZM

  6. catsworking says:

    ZM, that is a GREAT idea!

  7. MorganLF says:

    I had to hold out commenting on this post.

    My thoughts on giving an organ to a service avoiding, profiteering, war criminal strunz, while children die from need ?

    i can’t allow that venom to tear loose from my head, it would incinerate me.

    I wish him unfettered access to all of Dante’s circles of hell.

  8. catsworking says:

    Morgan, I had a hunch you’d feel that way. Apparently, Cheney is home now and doing very well with his ill-gotten heart.

Leave a Reply

