Congrats from One Adele to Another

By Adele

When I was at the vet’s a few weeks ago having a claw issue, a male tech who looked about 18 asked Karen if my name has always been Adele. Weird.

Karen answered, “Yes, why?”

The kid said, “Have you ever heard of that singer Adele?”

Without missing a beat, Karen said, “Yes. She was named after my cat.”

Actually, the singer Adele was 11 when I was born so that isn’t true, but we’re both recognized internationally by our first names only.

Thanks to the singer, I predict the name “Adele” will start showing up on the favorite baby name list, possibly bumping off Emma or — yuck! — Bella.

It was nice to wake up today and hear everybody talking about “Adele.” My namesake won all 6 GRAMMYs she was nominated for:

  • Album of the Year
  • Best Pop Vocal Album for 21
  • Record of the Year
  • Song of the Year
  • Best Short Form Music Video for “Rolling In The Deep”
  • Best Pop Solo Performance for “Someone Like You”

Cats Working gives Adele 12 paws up. You go, girl!

6 Responses to Congrats from One Adele to Another

  1. adele says:

    When I was a kid, “our” name was mispronounced more often than I care to remember. The worst was in 3rd grade,when I’d just transferred in to a new school, dropped off in my classroom by the principal,who handed the teacher a card with my name on it — the teacher paused and paused and then introduced me as “Airedale.” I’m amazed to have been around long enough for Adele to become a popular name.

    Our namesake has a great voice. I must admit that I’m too old for most of her songs — young relationship angst is not something I relate to as I once did, but I’d love to hear her do an album of standards. I think she’d hit it out of the park.

    So in this house, it was 8 paws and one thumbs up for Adele, but I must admit, I didn’t see much of the Grammys. Downton Abbey had a 2-hour episode last night. I can’t believe that the season finale is next week. Such a short season.

  2. catsworking says:

    Airedale!! How could anybody be so stupid? I have never had a problem with people mispronoucing my name, although some have said it’s a weird one for a cat. As if Bootsie or Fluffy are better.

    I must confess I have never heard Adele sing a note. I guess I should look her up on YouTube. We, too, were watching Downton Abbey. Didn’t realize it was on for 2 hours (why what that?) and are now dragging our tails today for staying up so late. But we had to see what happened to Mr. Bates.

    Very obliging of Lavinia to drop dead, wasn’t it?

  3. adele says:

    Poor saintly Lavinia. Now Mary and Matthew have some guilt to carry around, but I believe their strong attraction will overcome that. And what about Patrick, the other putative heir? Then there’s Mr. Bates; I really don’t believe he killed Vera, but why the suicide? So many questions that clearly won’t be answered this season.

    It’s become my custom to have a nice cup of tea while watching Downton. I haven’t done that since Upstairs Downstairs, although the tea is decaf now, and back in the day, I could drink strong English tea and still sleep.

    Last night, Alice watched from her usual spot on the back of my chair, and Dorothy joined us for the first time, sitting on the ottoman. We’ll all be sorry when the season ends.

  4. catsworking says:

    Vera painted herself into a corner after she made the deal with Carlisle and couldn’t use the dirt on the family. Once she saw that Bates was going to leave her no matter what, and she had nothing else going for her, she probably figured the best/only way out and the way to get serious revenge on him would be to kill herself and make it look like he did it. So she took the poison HE bought to kill rats.

    And what’s this baloney about 6-7 episodes of a show constituting a “season,” and then forcing everybody to wait a year or more for the next one? Do you know how long that is in cat time?

    Mad Men starts again in March, and we can barely remember anything about where it ended. Matthew Weiner’s protracted negotiations turned out to be a total buzz kill.

  5. Zappa and Zappa's mom says:

    Bates didn’t kill Vera . Nor did she commit suicide. Carlisle,perhaps?
    BTW,I KNEW Matthew would walk again!

    ZM

  6. catsworking says:

    Ooh, ZM, you have an evil mind. Why would Carlisle want to kill her?

    Yes, as soon as Matthew felt that twinge, we knew he’d be up and about in no time. But we didn’t see the Spanish flu coming to conveniently rid him of Lavinia.

    Stay tuned. Tomorrow’s post is a Downton-fest.

Leave a Reply

