ALL CLEAR!

By Karen

My surgeon called promptly at 8:30 a.m. today with the wonderful news that they found no sign of cancer ANYWHERE.

I don’t even have to get another mammogram for a year.

I’m still soaking it in. After spending almost a month in this nightmare, it’s a little hard to switch gears into, “Oh, well. Never mind.”

Last night I watched the first 4 episodes of Laura Linney’s Showtime series, The Big C, just in case I needed to be prepared for the worst.

But the worst turns out to be a boob that’sgoing from black and blue to red to yellow, and may end up with a couple of battle scars.

Sure beats the alternative.

I’m liking The Big C, by the way, although I think credulity is being stretched a bit thin by not having her tell anybody yet but strangers in a support group she spent 5 minutes in. She’s apparently got stage 4 melanoma and has opted not to have treatment.

12 Responses to ALL CLEAR!

  1. Noel McWormald says:

    Yay! Good news. And The Big C started its new season last night… where everybody knows. You’ll have to catch up, but it won’t be too hard. The “season” was probably not more than 13 episodes. Isn’t Laura Linney great?

  2. MorganLF says:

    Now that’s good news!

  3. catsworking says:

    Noel, I think it was 13 episodes. Since they’re only 30 minutes, I got through the first 4 with no problem. I’ll probably watch more tonight. I do like Laura Linney.

  4. MorganLF says:

    Not to hijack the thread, they aquitted Casesy Anthony!!! Can it be possible why is Florida so f’d up?

  5. catsworking says:

    Morgan, just heard. It was like watching OJ all over again.

    Now it’s open season for any rotten parent who wants to off their inconvenient kids. All they have to do is lie about it enough and they’ll be sitting pretty.

    Florida’s the state that gave us George W. Bush as president in 2000, so this shit-for-brains verdict should come as no surprise.

  6. adele says:

    Great news about your results, and you’ve probably had so much digging around in that breast that you can really rest easy.

    I didn’t follow Casey Anthony too closely because it’s too much like work for me, but she sure seemed guilty. After the 2000 election, I guess we should all know that Florida courts are not to be trusted.

    I like the Big C as well, but it is a flight of fancy. I have wondered if the writing is really good, or if it has such a good cast that they could say anything, and I’d watch.

  7. Zappa's mom says:

    Congratulations!! i am so happy for you! Your mangled boob means you might not want to work as a stripper,but there’s always plastic surgery if you do

    Casey Anthony is a guilty monster and I hope the court considers involuntary sterilization as part of the punitive package-do they do that,or did I just make it up?

    ZM

  8. Mauigirl says:

    SO HAPPY to hear that! You must feel great!!! Yeah, the bruises take awhile to go away…but as you say it sure beats the alternative!

  9. catsworking says:

    Adele, the surgeon just told me they went 5 cm in when they did the stereotactic biopsy. I looked it up on a ruler and that’s about 2 inches. No wonder I screamed.

    I’ve now seen 7 episodes of The Big C. She tried to tell her brother, but he freaked, so she said she was kidding. I think Cynthia Nixon shows up in episode 8, and I’ve been waiting for that. I love her.

    ZM, I bet there are guys who would pay big bucks to watch strippers with mangled boobs. The more mangled, the better. Unfortunately, mine seems to be healing. The first biopsy bruise is much smaller, and the rest of my boob is mostly yellow now, with that big gash still covered with glue. I’m still treating it like a Ming vase, though. This morning I worked out on my stationary bike, thinking it was least jostling, and things started turning red again so I must have pulled something inside. I hate sleeping in a bra, but I better keep on doing it.

    Mauigirl and Nina, thanks for the congrats! Drinks for everybody! The next round’s on me!

  10. Cheray Smith says:

    Congratulations! That’s very good news indeed! Just make sure you have that yearly mammogram.

    In time, the scars and trauma will heal. After 25 years, mine have….almost.

    My hat’s off to you though….I cannot watch The Big C….too many bad memories.

  11. catsworking says:

    Cheray, It’s been a week and 2 days after my surgery and I can report that the first biopsy bruise is almost gone, although there’s still a scab over the stereotactic hole. That would probably heal faster if I had the guts to pull off the glue that’s still covering it, but I’m chicken.

    Yesterday I was having some stabbing pains inside my boob, and I wondered if the stitches weren’t sticking into things. The bruise has cleared up a LOT, but a large area is still yellow (including the whole nipple — I know, TMI). And same thing with the incision. The glue is still there. The doctor said I could peel it off, but I’m afraid of pulling off the scab and making the scar worse.

    And I’m still sleeping in my bra so things don’t move around too much.

    I’m all caught up on The Big C into season 2. I don’t know if I’ll stick with it. It’s depressing.

Leave a Reply

