Cat’s Last-Minute Belmont Picks

By Adele

The last of this year’s Triple Crown races, the Belmont Stakes in New York, is only hours away.

The Kentucky Derby’s upset winner, Animal Kingdom, and the Preakness winner who dashed Animal’s Triple Crown dream, Shackleford, are both running against each other for the third time to see if someone can make it two out of three.

My treats are on Animal Kingdom (whom I also predicted to win the Derby) to win the Belmont.

But if both of those past winners poop out on the 1 ½ mile track, my long-shot pick is Prime Cut, ridden by Edgar Prado, a newbie to the Triple Crown races who has finished in the money in his last 6 races, and won two of them.

May the best horse win and may they all be safe!

2 Responses to Cat’s Last-Minute Belmont Picks

  1. adele says:

    Who was Ruler on Ice, anyway? And I hate to be shallow,but most of the horses weren’t very good looking — not a Rachel Alexandra in the bunch.

    BTW, tell Cole that I took note of the fact that Lupetto Bourdain eats Soulistic cat food. I’d seen it, but never bought it, because it’s pretty pricey. I bought Alice a can (chicken), and she scarfed it about as fast as I’ve ever seen her eat anything. Wish I could tell you the nutritional particulars, but I need a new prescription for my glasses.

  2. catsworking says:

    Ruler on Ice was a real flash in the pan.

    I am very mortified that Prime Cut came in 11th out of the 12 after everyone thought he’d enjoy the mud bath. And that he took a major dump right on camera as they were walking him to the gate.

    I kind of like Shackleford, although he’s not very good at concealing his nerves before a race. Zenyatta at least had the stage presence to express her excitement through dance and came off as quite charming.

    If the track at Belmont hadn’t been such a river of muck, I’m sure the race would have turned out much differently.

Leave a Reply

