Bourdain’s All A-Twitter

By Karen

The good news this week is that Anthony Bourdain has appropriated the @NoReservations Twitter account. It immediately showed vast improvement over the lame hype Travel Channel was churning out. Tony’s banter is comedy gold (watch out, RuBo!), and he’s already added roughly 3,000 followers to his original 192K.

Tony also posted a Christmas message, a list of some of his favorite things in 2010 and what he looks forward to in the new year. After a croc devoured a kayaker, I hope he also decides to give up his mad scheme to channel the spirit of Joseph Conrad in the Congo.

In the January issue of O magazine, Tony writes that he’d “love to learn how to make pasta from scratch” in 2011 as a way of embracing Ottavia’s Italian heritage. Maybe he can team up with Fabio from Top Chef for lessons.

Bourdain contributed a piece to a new Lonely Planet anthology, A Moveable Feast: Life-Changing Food Adventures Around the World.

If you didn’t read Denise Vivaldo’s confession last week about selling the Kwanzaa cake recipe to Sandra Lee, you missed it. Huffington Post has yanked the article for a TOS violation. I don’t get that.

Bourdain wasn’t a judge for week 4 of Top Chef All-Stars, and I don’t know if he’s on this week because I didn’t see him in the preview, but he blogged about Spike out-foxing his way to elimination. Spike wasn’t one of my favorites, but I’m sorry to see him go. A Machiavellian type always livens things up. Tony also noted that Fabio’s brilliant idea of grating cheese on a shelf rack for the Quickfire challenge, where they had to make stuffing without any utensils, was food poisoning waiting to happen. It was a most pointless, reckless, stupid challenge that forced everyone to compromise food safety. It’s a miracle Padma and the guest judge didn’t go down for the count.

And I’d like to know who left the ginormous loophole in the TC rules, whereby a cheftestant who fails to serve their freaking dish gets a free week’s pass. It seems to me the only fair result should be an automatic spot on the bottom, giving a reprieve to one of the other hapless schmucks who at least completed a dish. And if the reason the dish failed to materialize is lame enough (“My chickpeas didn’t soften in time because I didn’t know that dried beans cook like gravel”), it’s an automatic “Buh-bye.”

So far, cheftestant Jamie has managed not to deliver 2 of the 4 weeks of competition, yet she’s still there. Why? Eric Ripert thinks she should voluntarily drop out. I’d like viewers to have the satisfaction of seeing her kicked out. This week.

10 Responses to Bourdain’s All A-Twitter

  1. zappa says:

    Didn’t Tony get a pasta making lesson on the NR episode in (I think) Tuscany? I believe we saw Ottavia out-to-there preggers and translating?

    Zappa’s mom

    ps I didn’t catch Top Chef but WTF??

  2. catsworking says:

    ZM, what a memory you have! Yes, I believe Tony WAS watching somebody make pasta in Tuscany with Ottavia translating. It was filmed shortly AFTER she had Ariane, so her figure was still voluptuous.

    On Top Chef, it would seem that Jamie has to get into the game and actually complete a dish or the other cheftestants will mutiny if yet another better chef gets sent home unfairly. TWICE she has crumpled and let her team down by failing to deliver so much as Cheez Whiz on a cracker. It’s like watching Bristol Palin on DWTS all over again.

  3. adele says:

    Bourdainiacs, be sure to catch Ottavia’s photo of Mssrs. Bourdain and Ripert on Twitter; it’s just too cute; they’re trying to read tweets on an Iphone, complete with their specs on. Then AB tweeted a picture of OB and Mme. Ripert — two great looking brunettes!

    Yul, I know this isn’t your post, but I hope you’re feeling better, nonetheless. Are you sure you weren’t hitting the spiked eggnog too heavily?

  4. MorganLF says:

    Here is a little Christmas laugh for the CW crew.

    I gave my brother a T shirt that has a built in guitar with pre-recorded “power chords” and its own little fender amp. The perfect gift for every gray haired 54 year old, air guitar playing, wannabe rocker.

    It is our tradition to have a family member read “The Night Before Christmas” on Christmas eve. This year it turned out to be my turn. I tried…

  5. adele says:

    Fabulous shirt! And you brother is a real cutie. Funny how little brothers always act like little brothers. It was a charming holiday scene — glad you had Christmas before you were inundated with snow.

    Happy New Year!

  6. adele says:

    P.S. Morgan, as I looked at the video of you reading that old Christmas classic to your family, I began to think that the whole DC wine shampoo thing was a figment of my imagination.

  7. catsworking says:

    Adele, I have to agree that I was amazed at how Morgan kept to her post and actually got all the way through the poem. Family must bring out the best in her.

    Morgan, your brother is a stitch! Nothing like a crazy gift to bring out the little boy in them.

    A few years ago, my father’s watch died, so I replaced it with a Timex from Target with a face that lights up blue when you push a button. All Christmas day, he kept asking us, “Want to know what time it is?” and he would press the button and light up the watch face. Now I’m glad the damn thing didn’t play music!

  8. MorganLF says:

    Adele, if Brooklyn had been wearing a guitar shirt I’d of gladly given up my seat to her.

    Karen, my sister in-law is ready to kill me. I was woken at 8 AM Christmas morning to the “power chords” playing loudly into my phone. As is evidenced by the video the shirt was a hit.Can’t wait till next year when I get them for the nephews and other brother. Do I smell head banging rock tour?

  9. catsworking says:

    Morgan, what next? A set of drums? If the thrill of that shirt doesn’t wear off for your brother, you’ll be lucky if they let you back into the house next Christmas. It would seem that you have revealed yourself to be the evil one among your sibs. 😉

  10. MorganLF says:

    Funny you should mention that, there is also a drum shirt. Getting that for my niece!:D

Leave a Reply

