A Cats Working Christmas

By Cole

Can you believe it’s already my SECOND Christmas here? It feels like only yesterday I was a scaredy-cat just beginning to venture downstairs to find out what Christmas with a family is all about.

This year, Karen got a little lazy and put up the smaller tree. It’s only got 5 pieces, so Yul didn’t have to supervise assembly.

This tree still looks plenty big to me!

Our special ornaments got the best spots front and center.

Since space was limited, we decided to decorate the rest of the tree with only black and white cat ornaments — you know, the ones that look like us. Sorry, tabbies!

Now Adele is strutting around, fluffed up with pride, because there are many more white cats on the tree than black. I’ll grudgingly agree that white cats show up better, but black-cat ornaments can have more character…

I wonder how many people hang fish on their trees?

This one is my favorite because it looks almost like me. Notice the white toes…

Come to think of it, it looks like Yul, too!

Adele and I have been inspecting presents, but are resisting the urge to open any, although Adele nibbled some bows in hopes something might just fall open.

Nice not to have Adele yelling at me for a change.

Because he is prone to sniffles, Yul got one of his presents early — a new suede coat lined with fleece. He loves dressing up. He also wants Santa Kitty to bring him a new hot water bottle. His old one recently peed all over Karen’s bed. She was NOT pleased.

Yul's a perfect dog size Medium!

I want a new collar because my yellow one has gotten a little tatty. My fault for not scratching my neck more carefully.

Adele says all she wants for Christmas is for me to go under Karen’s bed and stay there. Fat chance of that!

Even my Teddy and red mousey have gotten into the spirit. I’ve tweeted about them, so you may have wondered what they look like. They like to hang out together in my favorite chair so I’ll always know where to find them…

My two best friends.

Once again, our stockings are hung on the chimney with care — and they already have presents inside from Karen! But we’re waiting for Santa Kitty before we tear into them because Adele tells me he always leaves the freshest ‘nip.

The suspense is killing us, but we don't want to piss off Santa Kitty by peeking.

The weatherman says we could get 6” of snow on Christmas Day, so Karen may get snowed in with us and miss her big Christmas dinner with her parents.

But whatever it does outside, Christmas morning will be wonderful. We’ll get a special breakfast with treats and watch Video Catnip while we play with our presents and get stoned on ‘nip.

I love having a family tradition, and I’m grateful that we are all healthy and together again this year. I hope every shelter kitty finds a home and a family as nice as mine.

We at Cats Working wish all of our readers a Merry Christmas!

5 Responses to A Cats Working Christmas

  1. Imabear says:

    That is so sweet! We have black cats and have a personalized black cat ornament for each one (and for dear BJ who passed away in 2006). These are black glass ball ornaments with the cat faces and each name in white, plus other black cat ornaments that are actually shaped like cats. We had to get an articifial tree this year for the first time as last year, at age 12, Spooky suddenly developed an allergy to the live tree and nearly sneezed his head off.

    We have some bear ornaments, too…

  2. Nina says:

    Merry Christmas to you too! We have two new tortie kittens we adopted a few months ago. Nina the Grinch didn’t put up a tree, so they don’t have anything to tear down yet!

  3. zappa says:

    No way!!! How do you guys not disassemble every last bit of those decorations?? My mom doesn’t let me have any of that! Can I come live with you guys? I have really good ‘nip

    Zappa

  4. catsworking says:

    Zappa, I guess we must all be slowing down. Adele hasn’t tried to climb the tree once, which she says used to be a favorite pastime when she was younger. I don’t touch the tree because it’s only the second one I’ve ever seen in my life and I’m not sure of the etiquette. I’d hate to get electrocuted and lose one of my 9 lives for Christmas.

    Yul, on the other hand, loves to rummage through the presents. There are a few gift bags under the tree that he’s especially fond of tipping over, tearing out the tissue paper, and stewing whatever’s inside all over the floor, checking to see if it’s anything for us. Nope.

    Zappa, you are welcome to come over any time, and don’t forget to bring the ‘nip!

  5. I’m still looking forward to coming over for Christmas eve chez kitty cousins… did the invitation get lost in the mail? — Noel

Leave a Reply

