Chase Sapphire Infiltrates “Mad Men”

By Karen

Season 4 of AMC’s great series, Mad Men, begins tonight, but I just found out Chase Sapphire is going to be all over it.

Forcing Anthony Bourdain and fellow Travel Channel travelers to whip out Sapphire cards on their shows just whetted Chase’s appetite for even bolder intrusions into intelligent TV.

Now they’re determined to make Don Draper their shill, and they don’t even care that Mad Men is set 45 years before the Sapphire card ever existed.

CNN Money reports

Chase Sapphire has worked with AMC and Mad Men‘s creative team to create a multi-level brand campaign featuring mentions during episodes, vignettes during the show, online media, and events. Chase is sponsoring this year’s ‘New York’s Gone MAD’ screening in Times Square, where Sapphire cardholders will see the show in a special premiere event. The bank will also host a finale cocktail party.

‘Madvertising’ cards will talk about the Chase brand and its history as a segue into commercial breaks, which will include more traditional Chase Sapphire ads. Chase told Fortune that Mad Men‘s fan base matches ideally with the affluent customers it is trying to attract to their new luxury card.

So Chase has now tainted my two favorite shows, and I wouldn’t classify myself as an “affluent customer.” Outside New York City, I think Chase may be getting delusional dope on the demographic their lousy ads are reaching.

Every time I see that smug bitch who squandered her Sapphire points on a  dress, I want to slap her, not have the same credit card in my wallet.

Tip: The Chase ads vanish with Verizon’s On Demand, and both No Res and Mad Men are available there. If you don’t have a DVR, you can cut the crap to a minimum if you can stand to wait a day or so to tune in.

9 Responses to Chase Sapphire Infiltrates “Mad Men”

  1. Zappa says:

    I loathe that smirky,smarmy couple so much that I wouldn’t have that card just because of how much they annoy me.I don’t want the card anyway,but AB might be able to convince me …..a little

    Zappa’a mom

  2. catsworking says:

    Zappa, I also can’t stand the couple who get to a “real person” while on a ski lift, or the couple who get their hotel switched on a moment’s notice because they find a big pool party going on at the one they booked.

    See? I’ve seen the stupid Chase commercials so much, I can remember THREE of them!

    Capital One was founded and used to be based in Richmond. For YEARS I have received snail-mail pitches to get one of their cards so often that I do nothing but open them to pull out the application to shred. They will never have my business because I CAN’T STAND being incessantly hassled.

    Discover card killed our relationship when they started calling and begging me to use the card MORE whenever I did occasionally use it.

    The way to get into my wallet is definitely NOT by staying in my face.

  3. Imabear says:

    I absolutely hate the Chase commercials. They were actually using John Lennon’s “Instant Karma” in some TV ads here in California a couple of years ago. Oh, the irony. Of course, I just hate Chase Bank (rest assured, I have plenty of disgust left for other big banks as well). I mean, I get the idea of product placement – characters drinking a Coke, driving a Ford, etc. But big banks, well, that just leaves a bad taste in my mouth.

  4. catsworking says:

    Imabear, I agree with you. It’s one thing for movies or TV shows to use brand names as props, and I have no problem with that, but it’s entirely another when a company PAYS to unnaturally bring attention to itself in the story.

    That said, if you read the story in the link here, Hilton Hotels were instrumental in making Conrad Hilton an actual character in Mad Men, and it turned out to be a great idea. BUT it was historically feasible.

    Chase has gone off the deep end of bad taste trying to shoe-horn the Sapphire card into Mad Men. And I hope somebody from Chase is reading this.

    Chase, you’d win more points with me by cleaning up your ethical house, instead of squandering fortunes on feckless publicity stunts after you and your ilk so recently brought the whole country to its knees.

  5. Joanaroo says:

    When I read the title of this post, Karen, the squeaky little wheels in my cranium started turning, saying doesn’t Mad Men take place around the same time as Rupert Holmes’s Remember Wenn on A&E did? The time of Radio shows and around WWII, then realized maybe Mad Men is set a little later. Anyway, I hadn’t seen Mad Men, and now if I do it will be on On Demand. Why do they ruin shows like this? That’s as bad as the Basil Rathbone Sherlock Holmes films, which I do like, taking place in the time of automobiles. I prefer Jeremy Brett in a nice carriage.

  6. catsworking says:

    Joanaroo, Season 4 of Mad Men starts in 1964. I’m not sure what year the first season began, but I’m going to guess it was 1959 because Kennedy hadn’t quite been elected yet. It really pisses me off that Chase is trying to “chase” the series’ success and stick itself in where it doesn’t belong.

    I loved Basil Rathbone as Sherlock Holmes, but I haven’t seen one of the movies in years and I didn’t recall they were so updated.

    Jeremy Brett will always be young and handsome Freddie Eynsford-Hill to me, lip-syncing “On the Street Where You Live” (in My Fair Lady).

  7. Tuxi says:

    Yes! Mom and I love that scene in My Fair Lady! I’m not fond of gushy human romance, but I love that movie. Nowadays, Mom gets a little wide-eyed at what ads show when kids are watching, like the one for the online dating service Zoosk. The couple are shown at their apartment and the heck with a date – they want to Zoosk! Her legs around him and her kicking the candles off the table! I mean come on! Even if that’s not her idea of a good date, show us a good date. Don’t give kids any ideas they don’t already need!

  8. Tuxi says:

    As for Audrey Hepburn movies I like, there’s Breakfast At Tiffany’s. I love the orange haired cat, Cat! When she lets Cat out of the taxi, I almost bring up a hairball, but then she realizes she needs George Peppard and Cat, and all 3 are together. Awww!

  9. catsworking says:

    Tuxi, we always feel sorry for Cat at the end of Breakfast at Tiffany‘s because he’s being crushed between the humans doing kissy-face and he doesn’t look at all happy about it.

    Our favorite Audrey Hepburn movie is Sabrina. Torn between William Holden and Humphrey Bogart, and the ocean liner Liberte thrown in for good measure. Now, THAT’S “La Vie en Rose!”

Leave a Reply

