Bourdain Does the Grenadines

By Karen

Anthony Bourdain and his crew eat their way through the Grenadines in the Southern Caribbean, winding up on St. Vincent. Brandon, my latest contact at Room 214, says it marks Season 6B of No Reservations. Brandon let me view the entire episode, but all I’m allowed to post and stay in his good graces is the teaser…

The episode is visually stunning because it’s impossible to get a bad shot in the beautiful Caribbean. Bourdain has already blogged about it, as well as his crazy June schedule of appearances and book signings.

I haven’t found another public appearance scheduled for him until September, so I hope he’s taking some time off. He looks tired.

Tweeter Ruth Bourdain provided a link to a radio interview with Tony at KCRW’s “Good Food.” Bourdain’s piece runs from 18:30 – 32.30. It’s got some fresh observations, particularly about Paris. Worth a listen. The Paris No Reservations with Eric Ripert will be his 100th and it’s scheduled for September 6.

City Beat got a lengthy interview with Tony before his June 27 appearance in Cincinnati. Wine me, dine me provides a run-down. Apparently, Tony got booed for dissing Cincinnati’s chilli, and someone counted him dropping 94 f-bombs by the time he was into the Q&A portion.

Here’s an interesting take on Medium Raw by Linda Holmes at NPR, comparing Tony’s book to Alison Arngrim’s Confessions of a Prairie Bitch. You know her, that brat Nellie on Little House on the Prairie.

Sand Dollar Adventures, a fellow FOB (Friend of Bourdain) with Room 214, met Tony in Salt Lake City on June 19 and got him to express himself naturally in a photograph.

TIME magazine talked to Tony about fine dining.

Miami New Times managed to get a few fresh tidbits out of Bourdain when he was there on June 30.

Sam Morrison did a Bourdain poster a few years ago that I’m just finding. It’s quite good and in the style of that famous Obama poster.

6 Responses to Bourdain Does the Grenadines

  1. Zappa says:

    Hi Karen!
    I had a great day today! My mom was on the couch for HOURS reading “Medium Raw” and I napped on top of her. He is one of my favorite authors and I can’t wait for her to stretch out and start reading again!

    Zappa

  2. catsworking says:

    Zappa, tell Mom to post her impressions of the book in the book club. We would love to keep the discussion going as more people read it.

  3. Imabear says:

    Sand Dollar adventures had a link to a you tube clip where Tony talks about the armadillo incident. I think it’s well worth watching.

  4. catsworking says:

    I remember the armadillo incident. I don’t know if I can go there again. The armadillo was so pathetic — and now dead.

  5. Imabear says:

    Oh, I should mention I didn’t watch that part. Tony’s commentary is revealing though (why, oh why, can’t I just type “tho” and let it go??? Am I too old? Grammar too deeply instilled???). He really hated it and you can hear it in his voice.

  6. catsworking says:

    OK, OK, I watched the video clip, but I scrolled down so I didn’t have to see the armadillo again. I just hope he means what he said when someone wants to start twisting the heads off puppies for dinner.

Leave a Reply

