Smithsonian Lion Cub Dead

By Cole

Very sad news. I just tried to check the lion cam to see how the National Zoo’s newest member is doing and found out that the little cub, a male less than 3 days old, died yesterday evening. They said he wasn’t responding to his mother.

All of us at Cats Working send sympathy to his parents, Naba and Luke.

We’ve got a bit of sorrow here, too. Today marks one year since the passing of our Fred. I never knew Fred, but the big hole he left made it possible for me to join the family, so I’m grateful to him and hope he approves, wherever he is.

5 Responses to Smithsonian Lion Cub Dead

  1. Zappa says:

    Hi Cole!
    I’m glad that you got such a nice home and Human when Fred moved on to Kitty Heaven.You deserve it.Fred knew that he would be leaving Karen in good paws.

    Zappa

  2. catsworking says:

    Zappa, thanks for the vote of confidence. I do try to fill Fred’s shoes in little ways, such as waking Karen up every morning. I used to stand at the kitchen doorway and yell, but since I got up the guts to take over the bedroom, I now jump up on the bed. Karen tells me that Fred used to walk all over her (literally), but I don’t do that. I prefer to play hopscotch all around her. It’s bouncier.

  3. Adele says:

    Alice and I kept thinking that 5/21 was a death anniversary, and right before I logged on, Alice reminded me that it was Fred. We both hope that Karen, Yul and Adele have only fond memories and are finding his passing a little easier to bear, and Cole, we think that Fred would be very proud of the way you’ve filled in on the blog. You know Fred was very into the big cats,too. Adele, I know wherever Fred is, he’s proud of your interest in horse racing. Now, I never watch a horse race without thinking of Barbaro AND Fred, who pioneered the cat to horse interview.

  4. catsworking says:

    Yes, Fred never hesitated to break new ground, or to soak a wall. He didn’t think there was anything a cat couldn’t do. Yul and Adele say the vibe of the house is VERY different without him because now we have no clear leader. Yul should be, by reason of seniority, but he’s pretty laissez-faire about it. With Fred, they say a cat always knew exactly where he stood.

  5. Joanaroo says:

    I’m sorry to hear about the little lion cub and my condolences go out also to his parents and his zoo family. Our Ginger would’ve been 22 on May 18 had she lived, but she did make it to 17 and had a long happy life. The poor cub though never had a chance to enjoy childhood, the poor kid. Baby big cats are so cute!

Leave a Reply

