Cat Picks the Preakness

By Adele

I know, I know. My Kentucky Derby pick sucked. American Lion came in 11th. That’s the last time I underestimate jockey Calvin Borel’s rat-like cunning. It doesn’t seem to matter which horse he rides; the guy knows how to slip through cracks.

On May 1, Borel won his 3rd Derby in 4 years on Super Saver, who must have been surprised because his face was covered with mud. But now Super has dreams of winning the Triple Crown. Who am I to rain on his parade?

Super Saver is my Preakness pick. He’ll be in post position 8 on May 15.

On the other hand, if I were picking an underdog, it would be Paddy O’Prado in pp 10. He came in 3rd in the Derby under Kent Desormeaux, the jockey who won the Preakness in 2008 on Big Brown.

Two other Derby contenders will be back — Lookin at Lucky and Dublin. Lucky was the Derby favorite, but the mud got to him and he came in 6th. Now he’s catching no break with a jockey-switch to Martin Garcia, which never bodes well. He’ll be in pp 7 beside his nemesis, Super Saver.

Dublin ran 7th in the Derby and will be on the outside in pp 12 with Lucky’s Derby jockey, Garrett Gomez.

The only other horse out of the 12 running who intrigues me is Yawanna Twist in pp 5 with Edgar Prado. He came in second against American Lion in the Illinois Derby in April.

There’s no crazy filly like Rachel Alexandra running on a whim with Calvin Borel. That pair cost Mine That Bird his Triple Crown last year. I just hope it’s a pretty day and nobody gets hurt.

6 Responses to Cat Picks the Preakness

  1. Adele says:

    Adele, don’t know if I’ll make it to the OTB parlor, but I’m with you on Super Saver. If I do make it to an OTB, I might put $5 on Paddy O’Prado — I like the name. Isn’t there some joke about an Irishman, whose name is Paddy O’Furniture?

  2. Tuxi says:

    Adele, Paddy O’Furniture makes me think of the end of the PBS radio show Car Talk where they announce their staff including statistician Margin O’verror, audience relations man Heywood U. Buzzoff and the other puns.
    Picking horse race winners for me is very unscientific – either I like the horses’ name or number, or even the color of the silks. If I bet it too would be in the $5 range.

  3. Joanaroo says:

    Oops, Tuxi, I forgot to switch names. Well, I could see you with $5 in your teeth and holding up your paws to the count of the horses’ number!

  4. catsworking says:

    Tuxi, I am feeling very bad about my abilities as a horse race prognosticator, and fear that maybe I’m jinxing the horses. I’ve been trying to make my picks based on detailed research of the horses’ merits, but maybe I’d do better with your method.

    We love listening to Car Talk. Even though we don’t know what those guys are talking about most of the time, their wit and good humor is infectious and we laugh anyway!

  5. Adele says:

    Adele, just remember that’s why picking the ponies is called gambling. I know that somewhere Fred is applauding your efforts

    And Tuxi and Joanaroo, we’re big Car Talk fans in this house, too. I always love their closing credits, and even Alice appreciates a good pun.

  6. catsworking says:

    Adele, you’re right. It’s a good thing I didn’t bet all my treats on those last 2 races. I should have paid more attention to Fred when he was trying to teach me, although his record wasn’t the greatest, either.

    I think Fred would be disgusted with the way this racing season is turning out, with no superstars. Even Rachel Alexandra has been a disappointment. The only horse still going strong is Zenyatta out at Santa Anita. She’s still unbeaten after 16 races.

    And I just read that both Super Save and Lookin at Lucky are planning to skip the Belmont, so there won’t even be a 2-out-of-3 shot at the Triple Crown.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 176 other followers

