May 12 is Hug Your Cat Day

By Yul, Adele, and Cole

It’s true. We don’t need to say any more.

You know what you have to do. Get going, and bring treats.

PS: If you’re in a long-distance relationship with your cat, send a card.

9 Responses to May 12 is Hug Your Cat Day

  1. Deb says:

    Dear Yul, Adele and Cole,

    I am sending you a mental hug.

    My 20 year old kitty died last fall so I cannot hug her. At least I know my family gave her a good life.

    Deb

  2. Adele says:

    Hugs to all of you from Alice and me. When I lifted Alice to give her a hug, tonight, she hugged me back. Who says you cats don’t bond with your humans.

  3. catsworking says:

    Deb, it sounds like you may have a spot in your home that another kitty would love to have. Karen still misses Fred every day and wishes he were still around to hug. He will have been gone one whole year on May 21.

  4. Zappa says:

    Hugs are nice sometimes,but I like to curl up in the bathroom sink and have the Human pet me.I also like to curl up on her pillow in the morning.Rubs and purrs to all of you and Karen as well.Happy Hug Your Cat Day!

    Zappa

  5. catsworking says:

    Zappa, Cole here. After 3 years in the joint getting nothing but the occasional pet from a stranger who would ultimately pass me over for another cuter/younger/more colorful (who knows?) kitty, I can’t get enough full-body hugs. Yul and Adele kind of take them for granted because they’ve been here so long, they don’t really remember what it was like. And they were kittens when Karen adopted them, so they probably got a lot of attention anyway.

    I always make sure I’m in position to get a good hug whenever Karen walks by.

  6. Tuxi says:

    Mom always gives us a hug when we come over to get up in her lap. We like to do that when she has the TV on or is reading. At night we like to compete to see who gets to sleep on Mom and then we like to take turns. So usually she wakes up with 3 cats with her. One on the chest, one on the tummy and one between the feet.

  7. catsworking says:

    Tuxi, Adele here. It sounds like you guys have it all worked out. I envy you. Since Fred died and Cole came, hugging positions have been in a state of flux here. It’s taken Cole this long to start figuring out his favorite spots. Fred used to call all the shots, so Yul and I took whatever spots he didn’t. But Cole is all over the place, and the bed is a particularly sore subject. Yul and I used to sleep with Karen every night and Fred didn’t care, but since Cole started sleeping at the foot of the bed or under her desk in there, he’s been very possessive about it and I don’t feel like the bedroom is big enough for both of us.

    Last night Yul did spend most of the night on the bed with Cole to prove to me there’s plenty of room for all of us, especially if we sleep on top of Karen, but I’m still not totally convinced.

  8. Nina says:

    This is making me sad! I gave my last hug to my beloved 15 year old Siamese Whiskers as she died in my lap two months ago. I still have one left though and Baby gets all the hugs and love he can soak up.

  9. catsworking says:

    Nina, we’re so sorry to hear about Whiskers, but she was very lucky you were right there with her at the end. That’s as it should be and we know she appreciated it. And Baby is probably feeling very proud to be the one who can help you through your grief by letting you give him extra-special attention.

Leave a Reply

