Me No Likey Tiger’s Ad for Nike

By Yul

Not since my namesake, Yul Brynner, filmed a creepy commercial for the American Cancer Society that was aired after he died of lung cancer, has there been an ickier ad than Tiger Woods’ new spot for Nike.

Do they expect everybody to recognize his father’s voice if they haven’t been following all the buzz? Without that knowledge, the ad makes little sense.

What was Tiger thinking, agreeing to drag his dead father into his mess? Does he need the money that badly?

And what’s Nike’s point? Are they trying to selling tennis shoes by reminding everybody their spokesman is a “sneaker?”

The bottom line on the sorry Tiger Woods saga is that he’s a great golfer. Period.

He’s been a lousy husband and father, a cheating boyfriend to myriad women. It all adds up to a big zero as a human being. Aside from his skill at hitting little balls with a stick long distances into tiny holes, nobody should consider him a good example or role model for anything.

And I think that’s the way he’s wanted it all along.

They say Tiger has a cool, reserved, and standoffish public persona. That’s what I’ve seen in the awkward press conference and interviews he’s done since all his skeletons fell out of the closet. I think that’s the real Tiger.

When he’s not on the course or doing something he shouldn’t, he’s as boring as golf.

PS: If you want to check out Yul’s ad, here ya go…

25 Responses to Me No Likey Tiger’s Ad for Nike

  1. Joanaroo says:

    When I saw a report on CNN about Tiger’s ad, Yul, my first thought was, is this news? Then I thought, what the ____? If he had to do anything with Nike, why didn’t he say he and Nike are alike-wealthy, arrogant and use the little people for their financial gain. That would be the first truthful thing he’s said!

  2. catsworking says:

    If Tiger’s ad influences even ONE person to go out and buy some Nikes, it’ll be proof that humans need to step aside and let us cats take over running things.

    I guess Nike thought they were being all subtle and European by having Tiger stand there like an idiot for 30 seconds without ever telling WHAT the heck they were advertising. His father must be doing back-flips in his grave.

  3. Tuxi says:

    I wish his dad would come over to Tiger and give him The Dope Slap Heard Round The World! I’m well known for my southpaw dope slaps and they work very well to keep other feline behavior in check.

  4. Jules says:

    Couldn’t of reviewed Tiger better myself. The ad gives me the icks. I think Nike had their fingers crossed with this one, but it’s a giant fail. I haven’t heard one person say, well, it’s unconventional, but it works.

  5. catsworking says:

    Tuxi, Adele is real good at giving dope slaps, too. I run away as fast as I can when she gets that dominatrix look in her eye. Poor Yul thinks she’s his friend because she loves to cuddle with him. But sometimes in mid-cuddle, Adele will suddenly decide that Yul is a dope who needs slapping. And she’s ambidextrous, so before he knows it, BAM! BAM! and he’s got a new scab on his head.

  6. catsworking says:

    I dunno, Jules. Some of the talking heads are calling it “brilliant.” But then, they’re just Mad Men. The ad’s success will be measured in sales. Nike’s probably thrilled that the ad is all over the ‘Net, and even CATS are talking about it.

    Too bad we don’t wear sneakers. We’d be buying 2 pairs apiece!

  7. Bob says:

    I have to be honest when I heard about the Tiger Woods ad for Nike with his father’s voice in it a chill ran up my spine. Having just lost my own father in the past few weeks it sickens me to think of a son trampling on his father’s grave in that way.

    I guess that he does owe Nike something though for not bailing on him when the litter hit the fan. Unlike other sponsors Nike sees the long-term potential in this golfer and they intend to squeeze him for every last penny they can get out of him.

    I must admit I haven’t seen the Nike ad yet, just hearing about it, as I said, almost made me sick.

    But I feel completely different about the Yul Brenner ad. For one thing it was something that he CHOSE to do in his dying days. I remember seeing that ad as a child and it haunts me to this day. In fact I took showed it to my parents who were both heavy smokers in an attempt to get them to try to quit.

    Just one man’s opinion.

    Bob

  8. catsworking says:

    Bob, we’re so sorry to hear about your father. Cats Working condolences all around.

    Click on the link to CNN in the post. The commercial plays there, as well as some discussion about how “great” it is. We didn’t post the commercial here because I found some copyright issues with Nike on other sites and didn’t want to push the envelope.

    Karen was a big fan of Yul Brynner’s (obviously — she named me after him), and the ad makes her so sad ever time she sees it. She saw him on Broadway within a few weeks of his comeback in The King and I, back in ’77 or ’78, long before the cancer, and he was a mesmerizing presence. She was in the nosebleed seats, but told me she could feel his heat all the way up there. And when he danced Anna around the stage in that climactic scene, Ooh, la, la! He could have thrown her down on the stage and pounced on her and the audience would have cheered! What a man!

    He left big shoes for a cat to fill, I can tell you that.

  9. MorganLF says:

    Bob,
    Condolences on your loss. Having also lost my dad I found the ad offensive and twisted, that being said it did what it was supposed to do, EVERYONE is talking about it.

    Karen, I too had a Yul Brynner thing, big time, but in recent years I have seen some of his movies again and all that silly posturing and hands on hips thing seems downright douchy to me now.

  10. Adele says:

    Had a dinner party last night, and everyone was talking about Tiger and the ad. Vanity Fair has an interesting article about him, with a little bit about his relationship with his father (conflicted at best) and a lot about his “dating” habits. One girl, who actually thought she’d be the next Mrs. Tiger, said the only thing he ever bought her was a Subway sandwich.

    At risk of starting a “cat” fight with Karen, I have to agree that the human Yul, late in his career, did play The King in almost every role. But how about him, all in black, in The Magnificent Seven, great movie and just the thought of him still makes my heart go pitty-pat.

  11. MorganLF says:

    Adele,

    Well at least its not Maurice Chevalier , sorry Karen I HAD to!

  12. catsworking says:

    Yeah, Morgan, I hear ya. Being the king definitely went to Brynner’s head, but that was part of his charm, although he could be such a bastard in real life that one of his wives committed suicide. So did one of Rex Harrison’s. Same reason.

    I think my favorite Brynner movie was The Journey, where he played a Russian officer in some backwater (Yugoslavia maybe), delaying Deborah Kerr and a busload of tourists from crossing the border to safety. He swaggered, but he was also lonely and vulnerable, and showed Kerr he had the hots for her as he wasn’t able to do in The King & I, by laying a big wet one on her. Loved it!

  13. catsworking says:

    Adele, we’ve probably seen “Mag 7” (as we call it around here) 20 times because Karen drops whatever she’s doing any time it’s on, even though we also have it on DVD. I like many of the other great actors: Charles Bronson (Karen had a BIG thing for him in his Death Wish days), James Coburn, Horst Buchholz, Steve McQueen, Eli Wallach. But what were they THINKING to stick Brynner with a stupid name like “Chris Adams?”

    I had also read somewhere that Tiger was cheap. As I said, an all-round zero.

  14. MorganLF says:

    Horst Buchholz was hot wasn’t he in a movie with Leslie Caron & Maurice Chevalier? I recall it was in a French seaside town & there is a love triangle .

  15. Joanaroo says:

    I’m trying to remember the Yul Brynner ads. Was he very markedly thin and possibly hoarse? I remember when I heard he had cancer. Just trying to remember if his appearance was similar to Dennis Hopper. I know Dennis could be an acquired taste, but as a person I am glad he was able to know he received his star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame.

  16. Tuxi says:

    Hi All! I like Maurice Chevalier in that he sang the title song of my favorite film The Aristocats! I love Eva Gabor as Duchess and Phil Harris as O’Malley the Alley Cat. Also liked the late Captain Phil Harris of Deadliest Catch. Had a cat like me been needed onboard to keep mice away, I would want an old salty dog like he was. Not in Princess’s Alaska though!

  17. catsworking says:

    Morgan, you’re talking about one of my all-time favorite movies, Fanny. Most of my French crushes were in it — Maurice AND Charles Boyer. Boyer was a geezer by then, but Maurice was already a geezer by the time I discovered him at age 5, so he never aged in my eyes.

  18. catsworking says:

    Joanaroo, the Yul ad is at the end of this post. He wasn’t looking too wasted at that point. I don’t recall him doing any ads when he was really sick.

    He died just 3 weeks after the run of his King & I revival ended, which I suspected would happen. There seems to be something about the adrenaline of the stage that keeps them going. They said toward the end, he would be too weak and tired to do the big Shall We Dance? polka, so they’d somehow work around it, which much have been a BIG disappointment to the audiences. That was HIS moment. I saw a picture of him during that time and he looked like a shrunken little old man.

    I think at one point in his life he was smoking 3 or 4 packs a day. And when the end was near, he developed meningitis, and I think that’s what killed him.

  19. catsworking says:

    Tuxi, we’ve never seen the Aristocats! Karen doesn’t allow Disney in the house because she says bad things happen to animals in those movies too often. She can’t stand it, even if they’re cartoons. There are moments of Roger Rabbit she can’t watch.

    I’ll have to sneak Aristocats onto her Netflix list!

  20. Tuxi says:

    Tell your mom no animals are killed in The Aristocats. SPOILER ALERT: There is a butler who, when he finds out his employer is leaving most of her fortune to the cats, but leaving him some, tries to abandon the cats but they meet up with Parisian alley cats and their mouse friend and horse friend send the butler on a One-way trip to Timbuktu. Duchess, her kittens and O’Malley inherit a fortune while their guardian is still with them, and likely has more lively years with her lawyer friend. It is a funny film and does promote kindness to animals in the face of adversity.

  21. catsworking says:

    Tuxi, that sounds like a movie Karen would go for. She always loves to see animals get revenge on humans, although she did weep when the shark ate Robert Shaw in Jaws. He was another one of her crush guys. That movie just made me hope she’d open a can of tuna for dinner.

  22. MorganLF says:

    Robert Shaw as a crush guy? Never thought about that..aye laddie! But loved him in “The Sing” ya folla?

  23. MorganLF says:

    Meant “The Sting”!

  24. catsworking says:

    Morgan, Karen here. I think Robert Shaw played Henry VIII in A Man for All Seasons, and he was a hunk. Can’t remember which movie got me hooked on him, but he always seemed like such a man’s man.

  25. MorganLF says:

    Yes that was him, very hunky as I recall. Great movie, but a sit turns out Sir Thomas Moore may not have been such a saint after all.

Leave a Reply

