Bourdain Turns Teacher

By Karen

Leafing through Anthony Bourdain’s Les Halles Cookbook, I realized the only thing I’m competent to attempt is red-wine vinaigrette, so I’m eager for tonight’s new “Techniques” special. Tony and guests will demonstrate how to make an omelet, roast a chicken, make pasta with red sauce, prepare a hamburger, wield a knife, and make Boeuf Bourguignon, among other things.

I’ve been playing catch-up since my LG DVD recorder trashed China and “Obsessed,” but finally recaptured them both On Demand (48 minutes each with limited commercials — and NO Chase).

Speaking of Chase, boy, I spoke too soon last week. In China, Bourdain says, “Thank you. I got this,” and whips out the blue plastic, and then does it again with, “Lunch is on me!” like some big spender in Vietnam.

NOTE TO CHASE: You seemed to heed criticism about the stunt hand and fake card, now making Tony hold a card on camera. But it doesn’t help. Your tacky, gratuitous intrusions are cheap shots.

Readers, please use the comments to let those rat-bastards at Chase know what you think.

Speaking of rats, also in Vietnam, Bourdain revealed his culinary Achilles heel — tail. When faced with the Java-Mouse Deer, he said, “If it has a long tail, I just can’t handle it.”

On Friday, April 9, daughter Ariane turns 3, and Ottavia tweeted that a party is in the works. I don’t know of any appearances for Tony until April 20 (his wedding anniversary??!! — but it’s Scripps gig in NYC), so I assume he’ll be front and center to watch Ariane blow out the candles.

Here’s an interesting post from Word of Mouth about the genre Bourdain’s Kitchen Confidential inspired, and a Winnipeg pizza chef who got fired for participating in a similar restaurant tell-all.

Tony wrote in his own blog that his new book, Medium Raw, is meaner than he intended. But I assume he’s pleased overall with the finished product, to be released June 8, because he titled the post “Cloud Nine.”

And finally…

Blogger Corrin’s sister was on Bourdain’s flight to Austin for his April 1 appearance. She reported that Tony seemed annoyed by children on the plane (who isn’t?), and they got a few pictures.

Pacer Fox snapped another candid shot of Bourdain flying home from Austin. Tony was reading a magazine. Imagine that.

Advice to Tony: Never pick your nose in public.

19 Responses to Bourdain Turns Teacher

  1. Bob says:

    Karen actually Bagshaw’s firing here in Winnipeg may be more to do with his actual performance in the kitchen than just his Austrailian Party Rant.

    Turn’s out that his performance in the kitchen was more worthy of a Gordan Ramsay appearance than a Bourdain quote. According to local writer Gordan Sinclair he personally delt with Bagshaws poor quality food on many occasions.

    http://www.winnipegfreepress.com/local/pizza-chefs-firing-no-surprise-89826212.html

    So it may have been more than just the mouth that roared that got him fired.

    The Cats Man in Winnipeg….. Bob

  2. catsworking says:

    Thanks, Bob. I figured you could provide some back story on the Winnipeg situation, which is why I included it.

  3. Corrin says:

    It was unfortunate he was in such a mood – I would have love to actually meet my favorite chef!

  4. Corrin says:

    It was unfortunate he was in such a mood – I would have loved to actually meet my favorite chef!

  5. catsworking says:

    Hi, Corrin! Some months ago, another blogger wrote about seeing Bourdain sitting in an airport (forget which one) the morning after one she’d attended of his appearances and she invited him to have a drink with her. He declined and seemed a little sour, and she was disappointed, just as you were.

    I asked Tony’s wife about this incident when I saw her in November, and she said that he’s just a human being. He’s not a “bad boy” 24/7, drinking in the morning, and really isn’t inclined to do it with strangers in airports, no matter how well-intentioned. Would you?

    He’s such a busy guy, I’m going to hazard a guess that he thinks of flying as relaxing “down” time where he can just be alone to think or read like anybody else, so he’s not thrilled when people recognize him and approach him.

    I’m sure it was nothing personal.

  6. Cindy says:

    While he was in Austin, he also did some filming for NR, so he probably did need some “alone” time.
    http://impactnews.com/central-austin/recent-news/7845-travel-channels-anthony-bourdain-films-episode-at-perlas

  7. Adele says:

    Turns out AB is a pretty good teacher; I wondered if I’d enjoy “Techniques”, but I did, and I can’t wait to try that pasta pomodoro recipe. I also liked the interplay between Tony and Carlos, who seems more and more at home in front of a camera. Didn’t that steak look fabulous?

    Thanks for the link, Cindy.

  8. Bob says:

    Just an update on renagade chef Scott Bagshaw here in Winnipeg. Looks like he has landed on his feet “Kitchen Confidential” Style by landing a Head Chef’s gig at Resto Gare. Once one of Winnipeg’s premiere french eateries.

    So I guess the spotlight will be on Bagshaw to prove that he can cook. I hope so because Resto Gare is just a stones throw from my house in the French Quarter of Winnipeg.

    So I hope he ponys up and cooks his ass off!!

    http://www.winnipegfreepress.com/local/fired-pizzeria-chef-lands-on-his-feet-at-st-b-restaurant-90071632.html

    On a side topic I snuck in a few min of “Techniques” in this morning. Can’t wait to watch the whole thing when I get home tonight!!

  9. catsworking says:

    Adele, I enjoyed that episode very much myself. It really made me wish I had a restaurant-grade kitchen. I agree that Carlos does seem to be getting more comfortable on camera. Who knows? Maybe he’ll land his own show on Food Network!

  10. catsworking says:

    Thanks for the update, Bob. You’ll have to check out Resto Gare at some point and let us know how the food is.

    Your pal Carlos shows up in the Techniques special making Les Halles’ French fries later into the episode.

  11. MorganLF says:

    I like Tony when he cooks. So I liked the show but try as I might I can’t remember any of the recipes except the one for…ughhhh Roast Chicken!

  12. MorganLF says:

    I was surprised Tony flies Coach. Even I finagle first whenever I can, but I don’t fly nearly as much as he does. I can imagine that cramming his lanky self into those seats might also make for a little crankiness and little kids misbehaving on planes has caused me to have more than one caustic exchange with numb nuts parents.

  13. Adele says:

    Hey Morgan, missed you. I do remember the spaghetti pomodoro recipe from Techniques. Definitely a sauce not Sunday gravy. Just plum tomatoes, peeled and cooked for about 40 minutes, mashed with a potato masher, then olive oil in which garlic and basil has been cooked, added, finished off with a pat of butter. Sounded really good and fresh to me. Planning on trying it this week

  14. MorganLF says:

    Yes Adele I now recall. You know that’s pretty close to one I whip up all the time and is fabulous it’s from Macella Hazan.

    2 cans plum tomatoes liquid drained & set aside
    1/4 cup EVOO
    Basil fresh if possible
    1 c wine
    4-6 cloves fresh garlic
    1 tbl Balsamic Vinegar
    Saute garlic in oil til golden, add tomatoes smash them with a wooden spoon or potato masher. Add wine and some of the tomato liquid if it is not bitter so look for tomatoes packed in juice (not puree).
    Add basil ( I like lots)
    Simmer for 35-45 mins
    Toss with linguine make a well in the center of the pasta and pour in vinegar, toss through all the pasta. I top with a bit of chopped fresh basil and serve with good grated cheese.

  15. catsworking says:

    Ladies, I think all the recipes are somewhere on the Travel Channel Web site. I’d provide the link, but trying to find anything in that f**ked-up mess always pisses me off, and I’m in a pretty good mood at the moment and don’t want to ruin it.

  16. catsworking says:

    Morgan, canned tomatoes? Shame on you!

  17. Adele says:

    Actually, Karen, when good tomatoes are not in season (which is most of the year up north), most cooks would agree that using good canned tomatoes is fine. San Marzano, from Italy (I think there are several brands) are kind of pricey, but really good.

    Morgan, your recipe sounds great. What intrigued me about the NR recipe was that the basil was cooked in the olive oil, along with the garlic. If I try it this week, I’ll let you know how it comes out.

  18. catsworking says:

    Aw, Adele, I was just pulling Morgan’s leg. You know what kind of cook I am. If it came down to boiling and peeling a bunch of fresh tomatoes and popping open a can of Contadina, which do you think I would do?

    You two have me thinking I should plunge in here and try making this recipe myself after a grocery run for the fresh basil (I do always keep fresh garlic in the house — to repel vampires).

  19. MorganLF says:

    Looking at a big 35 oz can right now. Just got home from work and I’m jonesing for pasta. Karen no offense taken,I love any kind of tomatoes but when I make sauce or gravy I generally use canned.

    Adele tell me how it comes out the thing that freaks me out is the butter component, that sort of repels me, but let us know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

