More Bits of Bourdain

By Karen

This week, No Reservations visits Provence. I love watching Anthony Bourdain in beautiful locales with clean sheets. There’s a dinner scene that sounds like the meal he cooked in Tuscany, where we unwittingly got our first look at Ottavia. She told me she was directed to say his cooking was “disgusting,” but it was actually quite tasty.

Apparently, Tony doesn’t fare much better in Provence, but blogger Miss Expatria defends him against his cruel hosts at the villa.

Ottavia just tweeted that Tony is in India again.

Thanks to another DVD recorder glitch, I missed NR in Harbin, China, last week, but I’m set to catch the rerun today. My recorder also trashed “Obsessed,” so I’ll need to recapture that to keep my collection complete.

Speaking of “Obsessed,” Bourdain must be learning you mess with food bloggers at your own peril. They will always have the last word. Tony allegedly dissed Steven Plotnicki of Opinionated About Dining in the special, who struck back via, DUH, a lengthy blog post I couldn’t get through. But then, I’m not a foodie.

In the Things to Do Department…

Take Travel Channel’s NR Knowledge Quiz. I’m embarrassed to say I scored poorly.

And watch the last episode of Alternate Universe,Duel Over Russia.”

Tony told ChicagoMag.com why Ottavia flew to Chicago alone.

SlashFood got him to answer 5 questions.

Cats Working reader Cindy provided this link to a preview of Bourdain’s new book, Medium Raw. I wonder if they’ve made the cover photo more menacing?

Village Voice got a bit about “Ruth Bourdain,” who’s tweeting as a cross between Ruth Reichl and Tony.

Tony discussed exercise and many other things with Anne Berry at Examiner.com in New Orleans in January, but her interview just appeared. Here are links to Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, and Part 4, not readily found on the site.

PS: In December, a new book is being released, containing 15 years of Julia Child’s correspondence with Avia DeVoto, who helped her find a publisher for Mastering the Art of French Cooking. Julia in her own words. Yum!

12 Responses to More Bits of Bourdain

  1. Lori says:

    I took the NR knowledge quiz too. I got 70% on the darn thing I thought I would have done better I guess not. Wow India again for Tony, I loved the guru guy in the 1st India episode. Maybe it’s a filler for him since he and his crew still can not get into Cuba and do a NR there.
    Get wait for Provence tonight loved the Brittany episode this should be a good onr too.
    Thanks for the heads up on the Julia Child book. I loved watching her cooking shows that she had on PBS, she was so funny on those shows.

  2. catsworking says:

    Lori, you scored better than I did on the quiz. But I answered questions on the China episode I haven’t seen yet and got them wrong. My head’s a sieve for the names of restaurants, too.

    I just got the first season’s DVDs of The French Chef and will start watching them soon. Still working on Season 1 of Mister Ed, another favorite around here

  3. Joanaroo says:

    Hi! Have I missed something with the Good Tony/Bad Tony thing? I’m watching the NR in Provence episode back to back and really liked it. I like shows that show you the scenery, tell you about and introduce you to the people, and in Tony’s case tell you about and show you the food and beverages. Tony seems like a guy I’d like to meet and share a meal with. He’s cool.

  4. Tuxi says:

    And I agree, only Mom wouldn’t eat anything with Tony that made her squeamish. But I would! Tuxi

  5. Adele says:

    If there’s a heaven, it must look like Provence. A pretty straight forward show, where Zero Point Zero let the scenery, the food, the people and Tony do the talking. I was looking for Ottavia, but there was no sign of her. This is a trip I hope she was on. The villa where AB stayed looked fabulous.

  6. Lori says:

    Adele, If Ottavia was there in Provence she more then likely was hanging out in the background off camera.
    I really loved this one. What a beautiful region of France.
    It was nice to see Tony cooking again, I like it when he does his chef thing.

  7. catsworking says:

    Aw, guys, I haven’t seen Provence yet. I caught bits and pieces of China last night, so I have some catching up to do. Adele, I, too, hope Ottavia went on that trip with him. I did watch the whole Tuscany episode again last night, and this time she seemed to be in it more than I’d ever noticed her before. I don’t think I ever realized he was wearing his wedding ring then, either. She told me they shot it right after she had Ariane, so that explains why she looked so voluptuous.

    Joanaroo, the whole Good Tony/Bad Tony thing is this season’s advertising gimmick, but it’s kind of moot because Bad Tony has been in pretty short supply for some time now.

  8. Cindy says:

    For anyone in the Baltimore area, Tony and Eric Ripert are having a joint appearance at the Hippodrome in Baltimore on May 22.
    For details
    http://www.examiner.com/x-277-Baltimore-Dining-Examiner~y2010m3d20-Bourdain-and-Ripert-coming-to-Baltimore

  9. Joanaroo says:

    Hi Karen! I remember seeing Tony when he was on Food Network and he seemed to be such a “hard ass” that I didn’t watch the show. Maybe marriage to Ottavia and Ariane are a good calming influence, plus like all of us, the old boy is getting older! =)

  10. kw says:

    It was pretty cool to hear Anthony Bourdain fairly fluent in French in the Provence episode. I don’t recall another episode in which he displayed his bilingual skills, but please correct me if I am wrong.

  11. catsworking says:

    Joanaroo, you bet Bourdain has lost a lot of his edge, unless provoked. It’s still under the surface.

    Cindy, are you going to see Tony and Eric in Baltimore?

    kw, I was impressed with Tony’s French in Provence myself, and I was even able to follow most of what he said! I forget where I heard/read it, maybe Ottavia mentioned it to me, that he speaks to her parents in French and they can understand him. Apparently, they don’t speak much, or any, English, but French and Italian are close enough that they get the gist of what he says. Tony’s late father was French so he used to visit relatives in France in the summers when he was a kid and probably picked up a lot of it then and it’s stayed with him.

  12. Cindy says:

    Karen- I am not sure if I will go to Baltimore or not, I am saving my $$ for this years Food Fight. Also, I always get very lost in downtown Baltimore (too many twisty one way streets) so I would want my husband to go with me. That would require serious favors. (He is cool with my crush on Tony but he doesn’t like him.)
    kw- You can hear Tony speaking some Spanish in the Mexico episodes, but he is not as fluent as in French.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 176 other followers

