Bourdain’s Better Half Tweets

By Karen

I just discovered Ottavia’s been tweeting for months and she’s really good at it. But first…

Anthony Bourdain returns to China in this week’s new episode of No Reservations — in the dead of winter during his crew cut phase. His head could have used the extra fleece.

Ottavia tweeted that Tony brought Ariane some “communist baby clothes,” I think, from that trip. I learned more about the Bourdains from her, but first…

Tony just checked in with a blog post from his current shoot in Liberia. He’s been very sick, so I feel a little guilty about the next few paragraphs. You know, kicking the guy while he’s down. But here goes…

As I watched last week’s “Obsessed” special, I wondered why they faked the blood in his butcher scenes. The spatters on Tony’s apron never changed. Was he hacking up a plastic pig, too?

Tony’s done many shows I hated to see end (Paris, Venice, Sardinia spring to mind), but “Obsessed” wasn’t one of them. In what felt like 2 hours, Tony proved that food bloggers in the flesh are as dull as I find their subject matter.

Gawker.TV ripped Bourdain a new one for hypocrisy in this episode, since Tony could be called a video blogger who just subs out the graphics.

Deceiver.com leaps into the fray with more backlash.

But Chef Diesel agrees with Bourdain about food bloggers missing the point, and furnishes video clips of the offending scenes if you missed them.

Eater got photographic proof that Tony and Guy Fieri made nice in Miami at the South Beach Wine & Food Festival, but Ottavia sat between them, just in case.

Now, back to Ottavia. I joined Twitter just to follow her tweets, and while I was catching up on them, she signed up to follow me. But I never planned to tweet!

She revealed that Tony eats red velvet cupcakes, although he has expressed disdain for cupcakes and claims he never snacks and doesn’t like sweets. And she said that he pitched in to cook the Gala Dinner at the Cayman Cookout this year so he wouldn’t have to sit at the wives’ table again.

In December, she assertively tweeted, “Please don’t follow me if you don’t appreciate scatological humor,” to weed out annoying followers, I imagine.

Ottavia freely admitted that Ariane thinks Mom has a “big tushie.” She also says that the family is in the midst of moving, and she’d rather eat a dead rat — with fur — than pack. I hope they’ve found a bigger place where Lupetto can have a buddy.

Also on Twitter there’s someone posing as Ruth Bourdain who has “mashed up the tweets of Ruth Reichl with the mind of Anthony Bourdain” and it’s really weird.

Cats Working reader Cindy contributed this link to a good interview Daily Blender got with Bourdain (courtesy of Ottavia) at the Cayman Cookout.

28 Responses to Bourdain’s Better Half Tweets

  1. Bob says:

    Just getting back into this years season, I haven’t seen very many of them thus far. Just comming of Hiatus and getting back into the swing of things again.

    I did download “Obsessed” but haven’t really watched more than a few min of the beginning. Looking forward to getting re-aquainted with my favorite socially acceptable obsession!!

  2. Adele says:

    Either I’m going to spam again, or what I posted yesterday just didn’t make it. At risk of repeating myself, let me say that I thought Tony’s Liberia blog post was some of the best writing we’ve seen from him. He sounded really sick, but perhaps suffering inspired him. He really, in relatively few words, gave us his sense of Liberia. I think Liberia will be a very educational, but not escapist show. I just wish AB could get into Cuba.

    I admit,I’m a Luddite, and an old one at that. I don’t have an I-phone or Blackberry, but can one tweet on the computer? I thought I signed up, but apparently my signin didn’t work. What little I could discern from Ottavia seemed really funny. How do you work this Twitter thing?

  3. catsworking says:

    Adele, your last comment didn’t go to spam, so I don’t know what could have happened to it.

    I agree with you that the extreme conditions in Liberia brought out the best in Bourdain the writer. Not that I want to see him suffer for his art, but suffering does seem to inspire him.

    I’m in the same boat you are. I don’t text, and my simple cell phone is only on if I want to make a call or am expecting a call. It takes pictures, but I have no idea how. (I did use it to get on the Web in San Juan, for the first time ever, to check on the weather and the status of our flights, since accurate intell was not to be had in the airport.)

    You can tweet on a computer. That’s how I would do it, if I did it. I’m still on the fence about that. I was able to sign up and it created a home page, and I figured out how to follow (just click a button at the top of the person’s page), but Twitter choked when it tried to access my contacts in gmail and Yahoo for their tweets, and I couldn’t figure out how to do anything else with it. I find it as baffling as Facebook. It seems Ottavia’s tweets are interspersed with comments from others, so you have to dig a little for her voice. I believe those are the pure tweets with no @ anywhere in them.

    No Res is also on Twitter, but it’s not Tony, just a bunch of commercial tweets.

  4. Zappa says:

    I’m with you Karen! I love all of Tony’s shows in Europe(even the ones he didn’t like so much….Romania,for example)Next week he will be in Provence and I won’t miss it! Last night’s show in China was a waste of budget.Silly,boring,blech

    Zappa’s mom

  5. catsworking says:

    Zappa’s mom, I’ve always preferred to watch Bourdain in civilized places, where he’s eating street food I might get to try some day (if I ever meet and marry a blind millionaire). The warthog butt in the bush leaves me cold. Romania has become a cult classic.

    Provence may be the highlight of this season for me, although I’m very interested in his visit to Maine, too, being a New England girl myself.

    I’ll be watching China tonight. That guy Jia sounds like he might be an Asian Zamir.

  6. Imabear says:

    I admit to watching Tony as a travel show with food thrown in, not the other way around. So shows like “Obsessed” don’t do a lot for me. I DVRd China last night so haven’t seen it yet, though it looks interesting and different from the previous China show. Liberia sounds like a must see. I find the mix of the more vacation oriented destinations (Brittany) and the more out-of-the way/inaccessible places (Liberia)very appealing. Sorry he got sick – that sounds like a truly hellish place to need a handy bathroom, though his writing is excellent on the blog entry. He seems to be really growing as a person as a result of his travels and life changes (which is as it should be – I believe it was Ali that once said “If you’re the same person at 50 that you were at 20, you’ve wasted 30 years).

    Another admitted Luddite here as well. I too only turn on my cell to make a call or if I’m expecting one. I have to tell my friends “use the home number or I may never get your message”.

  7. Zappa says:

    Do let me know if that blind millionaire has a brother

    ZM

  8. Adele says:

    Is there a blind billionaire’s dating site? If so, I must sign up. I imagine the blind billionaire would have a computer that could use a Braille printer. Perhaps there’s hope for me yet — so much world to see, so little money.

    I certainly didn’t love Namibia, but I’m with Imabear; I usually enjoy the more off the beaten path locations. And I liked last night’s show. Had no expectations, and 10 minutes in I realized that I was interested. I’ve never seen Manchuria and likely never will, and Tony did a good job writing the episode — I liked it way better than Iceland or Sweden. Of course, I’m salivating at the thought of Provence; I have a feeeling that Zero Point Zero’s camera people will really do it justice.

  9. catsworking says:

    Imabear, I’m with you. I consider the food incidental to NR. My 6-month-old LG DVD/VHS recorder screwed up AGAIN and suddenly refuses to read the DVD I recorded “Obsessed” and China on, so I’ll have to wait for China to rerun and try to recapture the special. If anyone tries to sell you any electronics by LG, RUN THE OTHER WAY. The recorder is the biggest hunk of junk I have ever brought into the house, bar none. One of the buttons FELL OUT of the remote at 4 months and they refused to replace it at no charge.

  10. Tuxi says:

    Mom uses her mobile web alot and said she should get a memory card and that can hold her pictures and videos of us cats animated and speaking dialogue she writes for us. Verizon offers animated messaging. I love seeing me talk about my cousin Saffron farting from Friskies and Mom uses a digital pic of me on the couch and Saffron looking behind me saying What u talking bout, Tuxi?!!

  11. Tuxi says:

    Grandmom Terri told Mom that when she gets herself a new laptop, she’s going to get Mom a new laptop too, to treat her because her female problems have kept her from doing so much for so long. Finally tomorrow all her problems leave her in a pulverized, robot-removed uterus suck-out! Now, we need recommendations and advice on best brands of laptops. And yes, we cats are the original laptops! Tuxi

  12. Jules says:

    First of all, amazing blog. Going through old posts and loving it.

    …as I am Ottavia’s tweets. I don’t bother with Twitter much but hers are really enjoyable. Thanks for the heads up.

    I really enjoyed the Harbin episode and just can’t wait for Provence, a place that’s close to my heart. By the way, I’m in Australia so wasn’t able to catch Tony on Yo Gabba Gabba and can’t find it on YouTube – any idea where I can catch this masterpiece online?

  13. catsworking says:

    Welcome, Jules! I haven’t seen Tony on YGG myself. I keep checking for reruns, but it seems like they’re recycling every episode but his. I’m putting the call out there to all readers. If any of you find his whole scene(s) online, please give us the link.

  14. Imabear says:

    Wanted to weigh in after seeing the Manchuria episode – loved it! Laughed my butt off (sadly, it grew right back). The rich Chinese guy, the weird hostile Russian, the ice fishing. Excellent!

    As for LG, I don’t have any of their products and now will be sure not to buy any. Our DVR belongs to Time Warner and has limited memory which makes keeping anything very long problematic. I’d love to have a machine that actually recorded to disc so it would be permanent and mobile.

  15. catsworking says:

    Imabear, I don’t have a DVR, but the LG piece of junk is making me rethink that. I bought a recorder because I’ve got a huge library of VHS movies that I’ve been transferring. Had a Sony recorder before this that was a real workhorse until it gave up the ghost on the VHS side.

    I have yet to figure out how to “dub” VHS to DVD on the LG because the user’s manual is beyond bad and they staff their call center with idiots they hired yesterday who not only know nothing about their products, but nothing about electronic devices in general. I know because I was on the phone with 2 morons for 4-5 hours trying to get the thing set up with Verizon FIOS.

    After my recording problems began, I went online and found myriad horror stories from owners whose LG recorders either never worked properly or failed within a few months of purchase. I myself put a scathing review out on their Web site, but somehow it never got published. Imagine that. I’ve also written to Customer Service about the self-destructing remote and got no response.

    Lousy products, worthless warranties, and downright bad service. LG is a triple threat.

  16. Cindy says:

    Sorry about your LG experience. We have a LG TV and we love it.

    Found some interesting teasers for “Medium Raw”
    http://www.thebookseller.com/news/114723-anthony-bourdain-back-with-meltdown-tale.html

  17. catsworking says:

    Cindy, thanks for the link. Sounds like the book has either morphed quite a bit from the original plan to make it about cooks and what’s happening in the culinary world today, or they’ve asked him to include some backstory to make it feel more like a sequel to Kitchen Confidential, which is great because fans want to know more about him personally. But I’m not expecting any big revelations about Nancy.

    Congratulations on your success with your LG TV. It’s good to know they’ve sold ONE unit that actually works. I’ve been burned too badly by them. I’d never consider an LG product again.

  18. MorganLF says:

    I have no time or interest in recording anything. If I miss it, I miss it. So I have missed a lot of NR episodes (it’s on too late). If I can I’ll catch up on a marathon but they never run anything other than the boring Greek episode, China and the Japanese noodle show with the guy with the mashed nuts.

    I have no time for Facebook or Twitter either but I have accounts so I should go on and check out Ottavia. For my part this obsession to update one’s status on FB is a bit presumptuous, who the fuck cares?

    As for tweeting I’m sure no one cares that I’m experiencing an excess of flatus today…..do they?

  19. catsworking says:

    Morgan, you said a mouthful. This blog keeps me about as busy online as I want to be. I set up a Facebook page to accommodate someone who wanted me to be their friend that I didn’t want to slight (can’t remember who), but I have never been able to figure out how it works. Several acquaintances have asked me to be their friends, but I have yet to find out how to accept the invites. Every time I try, it takes me to some irrelevant page. I found Twitter much the same way.

    Life’s too short…

    And I’m with you. There’s very little worth saying about my personal life in 140 characters that anybody would care about. On the other hand, Ottavia’s got a lot of material.

    I know exactly the guy with the mashed nuts you’re talking about. If more guys practiced that form of birth control, they could feed the planet with noodles!

  20. MorganLF says:

    Cats,
    I just went to Twitter I had to re-enter and start a new account because I forgot my password, so I can’t use my handle “MorganLF” since its already in use, so I made up a new one…Ottavia picked it up instantly. It IS pretty funny see if you can figure it out.:D

  21. Adele says:

    Morgan, I’m with you and Karen; can’t imagine what I’d have to say in 140 characters (or more for that matter) that anyone would be interested in, but I did open a Twitter account just to see what’s going on, and to follow Ottavia’s tweets. I would become one of your followers, though. Is your new handle equally Arthurian, or would the surname be perhaps Chanko? I’m going to Twitter now, just to see if I can figure it out. My handle used no imagination at all.

  22. MorganLF says:

    Adele,

    No Arturian reference this time just some yuks! :D
    I think you may also appreciate my profile pic. OB is quick she got it ASAP!

  23. Bob says:

    LOL Morgan you’re right!!! Classic name, I highly approve!!! You are too cool for school! :)

  24. catsworking says:

    Methinks Morgan may have morphed into GuyFierisHair. Fieri should be so lucky as to have the hair from the pic she’s using!

  25. MorganLF says:

    There’s no fooling you guys! ;)

  26. Adele says:

    After this little flurry of tweeting, I may have little to say. But Morgan, Guy Fieri is about as far from Arthurian legend as one can get — a great name — kudos on the selection.

  27. Tuxi says:

    Mashed nuts, hmm! Gives me an idea of something to try for at the next vet visit! I so love seeing my vet….NOT!

  28. Tuxi says:

    Will watch the Provence episode. Tony looks like he has a buzz on and want to see where he goes with that. Tuxi

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 176 other followers

