Meryl Streep Was ROBBED

By Adele

Sure, Meryl Streep has had 16 Academy Award nominations, but WHAT WERE THEY THINKING not to name her Best Actress for her portrayal of Julia Child in Julie & Julia?

I have nothing against Sandra Bullock. She’s pert and funny, although a bit long in the tooth for some parts she plays. But I’ve watched a few clips from the football movie she beat Street with, The Blind Side. I’m sorry, but dying her hair blonde and playing an upscale Christian redneck wasn’t that far of a stretch.

Streep completely transformed herself. She convinced us she was BIG and TALL. She mastered Child’s bizarre VOICE. She learned to wield a meat cleaver like she meant it. To top it off, she did all this mostly against a European backdrop from decades ago.

Even Sandra Bullock thought Streep would win. She wrote it down and gave it to Meredith Vieira of the Today Show, to be opened after the winners were announced.

We caught a few episodes of The French Chef on PBS this past weekend. To say Julia Child was fearless is a gross understatement. She did unspeakable things to a chicken she spit-roasted, hacked huge fish to bits, and caressed a dead eel while explaining how to skin it for bouillabaisse.

I think Julia Child would rest easier, after unwittingly providing Julie Powell 15 minutes of fame at her expense, if Streep’s painstakingly loving recreation of Julia’s spirit had been recognized.

Powell has gone on to prove with her next book, Cleaving, that she really isn’t someone Julia Child would have ever wanted to know.

8 Responses to Meryl Streep Was ROBBED

  1. mc says:

    I completely agree, I’m so aggravated she lost. What a joke. The Oscars have lost all credibility afaic.

    I haven’t been this disappointed since Ellen Burstyn’s performance in Requiem for a Dream was robbed by Julia Roberts…

  2. Adele says:

    I’m with you, Adele. To be fair, I didn’t see either The Blind Side or Precious. I’ll probably see the latter, although after 30+ years in the child welfare system, I’ve been afraid that Precious will be a little to much like a day at the office. And I’ll never see The Blind Side. I know it’s based on a true story, but I have little patience with stories where the down and out black kid is saved by kindly white folks.

    But Meryl was magnificent as Julia, completely transforming herself and elevating a so-so movie several notches. I’ll never see The Lovely Bones (again, too much like a day at the office), but I can’t imagine Stanley Tucci was better in that than he was as Paul Child in J&J. Without Meryl and Stanley, J&J would have been a C- at best. Oh well.

  3. MorganLF says:

    Let me weigh in…Streep was transcendent in this role!!
    Adele for all the reasons you listed, she inhabited the part of a 6 foot tall oddly voiced woman who transformed American understanding of cooking..without creating a cartoon.

    I saw the movie, read Julia’s book then saw it again, I actually own it. I see her show w/Jacques Pepin routinely (its in rotation on PBS).

    Seeing and reading about her as a “real” person with a tender love affair with her husband, Paul and decidedly liberal political leanings has endeared this interesting, pioneering, tenacious, woman to my heart and I will endeavor to learn all I can about her& Paul Child.

    That said, Sandy Bullocks performance was not even close, but to her credit she knew it. Streep rules, and that’s it!

  4. MorganLF says:

    Oh PS:
    I saw the “Blind Side”, fair meaning not great. The “Hurt Locker”, yawn ( although my family violently disagrees).

    Adele the “Lovely Bones” is not at all graphic and as I understand, has less impact than the book, to be fair I ADORE Stanley Tucci and found him appropriately creepy in the part.

    But..in in J&J he once again stole my fancy, what a clever actor, he never disappoints!

    And to be fair…I liked “Avatar”.

  5. Adele says:

    Morgan, I read My Life in France, too — twice. I knew a little about Julia and Paul, but that book, aside from giving me even greater respect for Julia, made me wish I could have known the two of them and Paris in the early ’50’s. And I thought Streep and Tucci absolutley “got” the Childs in the movie. Quite a feat to inhabit the essence of real people.

    I adore Stanley Tucci as well. He seems incapable of being bad in a role. And don’t we all agree that Big Night, aside from being perfectly charming, may be one of the best movies about food, ever.

  6. catsworking says:

    Adele, Karen here. I don’t think I’ve ever heard of Big Night, but I love Stanley Tucci, too. I’ve seen him in many quirky roles and can’t even remember the names of the movies.

    Now you guys have convinced me I have to read My Life in France. The only Child book I own is Julia’s Kitchen Wisdom, which is more about tips than recipes. As you know, I need all the help I can get.

    Sunday while Adele and I were watching The French Chef, she persuaded me to donate enough to PBS to get the first-season set of DVDs as a thank-you gift, so we’ll be seeing more of Julia very soon.

    I’ll probably put The Blind Side on my Netflix list, but I’m with you, Adele. Between the “whiteys stepping in to save the black kid” and the football angles, when I saw the previews in the theater I didn’t think it was something I needed to see. But I’m willing to give Sandra Bullock a chance to prove herself. I read somewhere she turned down the role 3 times because she had misgivings about playing a devout Christian, so there’s probably some of that stuff in the mix as well.

    Like Adele said, MERYL STREEP WAS ROBBED.

  7. Adele says:

    Big Night was written and directed by Stanley Tucci. It’s set in 1950’s New Jersey, and it’s about two brothers, who want to introduce folks to real Italian food, in the hopes of operating a successful restaurant.It’s filled with the brothers’ artistic temperament and little vignettes about the people, who come to this meal. There was an Italian restaurant, here, that featured a “Big Night” menu for awhile.

  8. catsworking says:

    Adele, I feel sure I’ve seen that movie! I got it through Netflix. I get so many obscure (lots of foreign) movies, and I love them, but then I forget the titles. Boy, that never used to happen to me. I could recite every movie Katharine Hepburn ever made. I probably should be keeping a list.

Leave a Reply

