Bourdain Flirts with Obsession

By Karen

Tonight’s new special episode of No Reservations is called “Obsessed.” Anthony Bourdain stays close to home again, flitting around New York pursuing the best beef, bread, fish, cheese, and tequila. He talks to several food bloggers and gets splattered with blood hacking up a pig. I’m guessing the gratuitous gross-out scene is intended for fans who think he’s gone soft.

Last week’s guinea pig scene in Ecuador was more “tasteful” than I expected, without any wholesale slaughter of trusting little fuzzy things. I would only suggest that Bourdain run a hand through his own coiffure du jour before calling anybody a “gel head.” Tony, you’ve been known to hit the product pretty hard yourself.

Tony talked at length about NR in a phone interview with TV.com.

At the South Beach Wine & Food Festival, Bourdain was seated with Guy Fieri at a dinner honoring Daniel Boulud. From all reports, they were friendly, even though Fieri was a judge at Tony’s fish-cooking duel and proclaimed Eric Ripert’s dish the winner.

Here’s a video clip and some photos. Bourdain said he’s headed to Liberia next for NR.

You’ve got just 2 more weeks to hear Tony and Eric on their Sirius radio show, Turn & Burn, which airs on Thursdays from 7-8 p.m., then replays Monday at 4 and 7 p.m.

You can also catch Tony doing his doctor schtick on Yo Gabba Gabba on Wednesday, March 10. I’ll be watching to see if he dances with any of those creatures.

Food on Drunk thinks No Res has “run its course” and explains why.

The Traveling Fish has a much kinder, gentler perspective.

Cats Working reader MorganLF found on Food Network Humor that Bourdain was named among the “Top 10 Famous Foodies That Look Like Old Lesbians.”

Here’s more on the 25th anniversary party for D’Artagnan, and Tony comments on his good friend, Ariane Daguin.

If you’re interested, Celebrity Tattoos shows Bourdain’s body art up close and personal.

And after last week’s post on the skull tattoo, I found out from my unimpeachable source what daughter Ariane really thinks of it. She loves it! She’s into pirates these days. From ballet lessons to peg legs without missing a beat. You go, girl!

32 Responses to Bourdain Flirts with Obsession

  1. boscodagama says:

    New York? For the best tequila? Que locura! I’d go to Jalisco for that..

  2. catsworking says:

    Bosco, I agree. This is what Wendy said about the tequila scene:

    Obsession #4: Mescal – The Ur-tequila
    Ron Cooper is an artist who turns to Mexico for inspiration for his art project that involved creating 50 blue bottles and filling them with prime mescal – the Ur-tequila. Del Maguey’s mescals are produced slowly, naturally and in small quantities.

  3. Bob says:

    LOL too funny would figure that Tony would have a “Lil Rocker Chick” into pirates and dancing.

    Many girls, my own included have a Johnny Depp fixation. Time will tell if she goes after her own bad boy.

    Also I think Tony has eaten Guinea Pig before, Peru if memory serves?? But really after the “Squezel” in Vietnam can anything scare him???

  4. catsworking says:

    Bob, I think you’re right, and it probably was in Peru. I believe guinea pigs run wild there. The Ecuador episode made me think of the Squeezel in Vietnam as well. Zimmern eats some horrible things, but Bourdain’s no slouch in that department either. I’ve watched Zimmern spit out durian several times, saying he just couldn’t handle it. Tony loves it.

  5. Tuxi says:

    We cats should have an all-request Bizarre Foods episode where we can request Andy eat an assortment of cat food ingredients, not to mention a nice mouse casserole! I’d like to see him try some, turn five shades of green, and see if he can keep it down. If people who create cat food actually had to eat or even just be around cat food ingredients, overnight cans would appear on shelves like Friskies Filet Mignon and Fancy Feast Luscious Lobster!

  6. catsworking says:

    Tuxi, I think an animal-inspired Bizarre Foods would be excellent. Adele once wrote about Canadian humans who taste cat food…

    https://catsworking.wordpress.com/2008/07/11/do-canadians-secretly-crave-cat-food/

    I was just reading somewhere about the possibility of mouse-flavored cat food. A mouse is nature’s most perfect food for a cat, so if they grew them in farms, ground them up whole, and canned them, cats would have the perfect diet. The only stumbling block is human squeamishness. We don’t hesitate to feed our cats the ground guts of other animals, but what if we opened a can of mouse food and found a tiny paw or an eyeball staring back at us? I know I couldn’t handle it.

  7. Bob says:

    Catfood, that’s (Burp) silly. Why if I could stop licking my fingers. (Burp) Long enough to type, I would (Burp) like to deny that outright. Catfood while looking good (Hic) tastes nothing like human food.

    Damm where is that Fancy Feast??? I mean Cap’t Crunch.. Yea Yea thats what I ment.

  8. Adele says:

    Ah, mescal. In my younger days, I was very fond of it for its trippy high. And Tony’s description of the after effects seemed just about right.

    Bob, I guess we all know what to serve when you come to dinner. I wonder about the wine to go with it, though.

    And Morgan, SOME of the food personalities do have a distinctly bi/butch girl look, especially Jamie Oliver — but our boy, Bourdain, looks much too masculine. I just don’t see it.

  9. catsworking says:

    Bob, I always knew there was something weird about you. The cats highly recommend Friskies’ shredded meat varieties because they have the most gravy. They should be excellent served over rice.

    Fancy Feast doesn’t come in large enough cans to satisfy a big strapping guy like you.

    I think it was 9-Lives who used to make a flavor called Savory Stew. It had recognizable chuncks of potatoes, carrots, peas in it. My cats would eat everything but the peas. They’d lick the bowl clean, but leave the peas rolling around, clean. I never saw how they did it, but they must have spit them out. And I always thought that particular flavor was aimed more at the senior citizen market. Maybe even Canadian seniors.

  10. catsworking says:

    I don’t know, Adele. If you squint your eyes just right and tilt your head a bit, Tony could pass for somebody’s grandmother.

    What am I saying?! I just got back from the eye doctor and my pupils are all dilated so nothing looks right to me.

  11. Imabear says:

    When Tony was eating those gourmet sardines in Brittany, I thought “cat food”. My cats would love something like that. Does anyone feed their cats sardines, anchovies, etc (canned fish other than tuna or salmon)?

  12. catsworking says:

    I don’t eat canned fish other than smoked oysters myself, so the cats don’t get them. They’ve never shown any interest in the oysters, although Cole would probably try them. He seems to be game for anything.

    Their absolute fave is people tuna. They hear the can opener and come running. They seem to love the water it’s packed in even more than the tuna itself.

  13. Imabear says:

    Oh yeah, the tuna water. One of ours, Spooky, prefers the water to the tuna. After he drinks is all he says “okay, open another can!” Spooky and Bear both love steak and chicken, but Princess won’t eat any people food but canned tuna and salmon, so it was her I was thinking of regarding the sardines or anchovies. But I wonder if it would be too rich and make her vomit. Maybe just a little?

  14. Zappa says:

    I have been known to eat the occasional sardine. I have my human rinse them off (i don’t like that much olive oil) sometimes I will have some canned salmon when I have been behaving….wink

    Zappa

  15. Adele says:

    I can’t believe I’m asking this, but is Yo Gabba Gabba on Nickelodeon, and if so, what time? Thought I’d tune in to watch Dr. Tony. Heaven help me! Just another step on the increasingly short road to senile dementia.

  16. Lori says:

    Hi everyone I’am a newbie here. To answer Adele’s question about if Yo Gabba Gabba is on Nickelodeon yes it is. The Dr. Tony episode will air on Nickelodeon West (Nickw) it airs 12:30 pm my time I live in Minnesota so that is central time.

  17. catsworking says:

    Imabear, if Princess is interested, I don’t think a little would hurt. My cats like cooked shrimp, but Yul has been known to wolf it down so far it comes right back up.

    BTW, Zappa, Yul LOVES olive oil. He’s been having some problems with “danglers” from the box lately, so I’ve been spritzing olive oil on his canned food to lube him up a bit. Now if I forget to do it, he reminds me with a sharp look. I think Adele likes it, too, because she always wants to lick his plate when he’s finished.

  18. catsworking says:

    Here, YGG is on Nick Jr. at 1 p.m. (EST), but I checked the listing for today and into next week and he’s nowhere mentioned. There’s a movie coming on TCM that I’ve been waiting to tape, so I’ll be tuned in to that instead. If he really is on today, somebody please let me know so I can catch him in reruns. They seem to run the same episodes several times within a few days.

  19. catsworking says:

    Welcome, Lori! Thanks for that info. Maybe Nick Jr. is on a different schedule than Nickelodeon.

  20. MorganLF says:

    Folks & Cats,
    When I saw that pic of Boudain and the caption “old lesbian , I positively screamed with laughter, not only did he look like my music teacher in grade school “Miss Heyn” but he also reminded me of Miss Jane on the Beverly Hillbillies …Then there was a comment that he reminded a reader of her old gym teacher…I roared I simply ROARED!!

  21. Cindy says:

    I was home yesterday so I watched Yo. The main guy was really creepy, the whole show is creepy. And Tony was creepy.
    But you know who would be really good on that show, Guy Fieri.

  22. catsworking says:

    OK, we’ve got verification that Tony’s episode DID air yesterday. Thanks, Cindy! I’ll be trolling for the reruns now. And I think you’re right about Guy Fieri. While I was looking for Tony’s episode in the TV listing, I saw that Jack Black is coming up, and he’ll be DANCING. Did Bourdain dance?

    If I had a small child, there are very few shows I’d let him/her watch. What bits I’ve seen lately are so utterly mind-rotting. I think I’d confine TV-watching to PBS, where at least the characters aren’t scary.

  23. Cindy says:

    The episode is titled “The Doctor” and no, Tony didn’t dance. In DC it came on at 10:30.
    Although this week is being advertised as Superstar Week on the show, I didn’t see any names that I would consider superstars.

  24. catsworking says:

    Superstar Week! They must be showing different shows on Nick Jr. because I didn’t recognize most of the names I saw until I hit Jack Black. But I think there were a lot of music figures, and you know how totally ignorant I am on that score.

  25. Cindy says:

    Found this interview with a blogger at the Cayman Cookout.
    http://www.dailyblender.com/?p=3472

  26. catsworking says:

    Thanks, Cindy! That was a pretty good interview. Very interesting that he thinks his new book is too mean.

  27. Tuxi says:

    Some of us cats eat people tuna and we use that in water. I myself can’t digest it, but because I’m very hard cat to pill, our vets recommended the humans crush our pills and give it to us with tuna water in an-obviously-needleless syringe. I liked my pills given that way!

  28. MorganLF says:

    Cindy funny!! You know Mr Fierrrrri is so petitioning Yo Gabba for a spot!

    Very interesting that Ottavia is gently ushering Tony to interested bloggers; as we know here, she DOES monitor.

    It is, to me, a normal progression that she has his back. We like her for her informal and accessible approach;although, it does beg the question what was more fun? The bitchy conjecturing Cats or the more reverential and informed?

    My whole aspect has changed and I love to see him as I now perceive him; although I admit to wanting to know about his life with Nancy…if only because he referenced her so much in his writing (after all this site came to popularity because we fans were all looking for informaation).

    The best part of the Catsworking experience has been getting a lot of information from the Bourdains(in spite of the obvious self promoters and flatterers).

    Adele- “Ah, mescal. In my younger days, I was very fond of it for its trippy high.” DITTO!

  29. catsworking says:

    Joanaroo, Obama seemed like the best hope of getting a single payer system, so that’s why Karen voted for him, too. At one time, Obama favored that approach, but said that it probably wasn’t practical, given the many obstacles — like STUPID people.

    What’s criminally unethical about this whole situation is that politicians on both sides morphed the problem totally away from healthcare and turned it instead into a vast conspiracy to preserve private health insurers — at the expense of the people they claim to be so concerned about. For that, they ALL should get the boot. With the exception of the few who advocated going to single payer, the rest have proven themselves totally addicted to those bribes they’ve been getting. Obama included.

    Tuxi, Karen has never tried to pill any of us with tuna water. All of us are pretty good about letting her climb on our backs and ram a pill down our throat (which we sometimes go around a corner and spit out), or squirt a syringe. Well, we don’t know about Cole. He’s never had a pill here. But I’m guessing he will either hide or put up a fight because he’s still pretty skittery.

    The next time I need meds, I’m going to see if I can hold out and get her to try the tuna water trick.

    We once had a cat here named Ginger who died of kidney failure. She was only 8, too. I never met her because it was Ginger’s passing that opened a spot for me here, and Karen brought me home from the joint a week later. All of us Cats Working kitties came from the Richmond Animal League.

  30. catsworking says:

    Morgan, I think we’re all mellowing along with Tony. When Cats Working first veered off into Bourdain territory it began as an innocent search of more personal background information to flesh out what little I saw and read in his work. And yes, sometimes we had a bitchy reaction to what we thought we found. But now that we have access to the truth, there’s no need for that.

    I think Ottavia is very wise to befriend the few bloggers who have Bourdain on their radar. That wasn’t Tony’s first reaction. But with her help, I think he has realized that we aren’t a malevolent force and, in fact, can help him keep the record straight.

    When I got confused about his skull tattoo after the old photo was published recently, I received the correct info within a few hours of posting, which was great. I want Cats Working to be the place Bourdain fans can come to find accurate information about him.

    I’m with you. I’d like to know more about his life pre-KC. Maybe some day he’ll ask me to become his authorized biographer and more of the story can be told. 😉

  31. MorganLF says:

    Official biographer, NOW THAT’S A GET! 😀

  32. Lori says:

    I just Read Tony’s new blog at the TC website. Tony’s in Liberia and he is really sick and miserable.

Leave a Reply

