Did Bourdain Lose His Skull?

By Karen

It’s safe to turn on the TV again. The Olympics are finally over. All the athletes are heading home to fondle their medals and pose for cereal boxes. If countries poured as much time and money into medical research as they do into sports, we’d have a cure for cancer.

OK, I feel better now. Rant over.

Anthony Bourdain’s in Ecuador tonight in a new episode of No Reservations. I’ll have to leave the room when he chows down on guinea pigs. They were my starter pets before my parents let me have a cat.

Travel Channel has posted 3 new episodes of Alternate Universe, “The Slippery Slope,” “The Travel Bug,” and “Sidekick Needed.” Their webmaster shows his/her usual meticulous attention to detail by misnumbering them.

I’m snarky because I stumbled over them while searching in vain for the NR schedule. The link clearly saysNo Reservations TV Schedule,” but that’s not what it delivers. I never did find it.

The Bourdains enjoyed a long weekend in South Beach for the Food Network’s Food & Wine Festival. Tony and Eric Ripert recorded their Sirius radio show, Turn & Burn, there on February 25.

Cats Working reader Cindy provided this link to Miami New Times and a good interview with Ottavia. But check out the picture — closely. Notice anything different about Tony? Give up?

Tony and Ottavia in South Beach. (Photo - Miami New Times)

The infamous Miami Ink skull tattoo on his right shoulder seems to be missing! I wondered if Tony had it removed to spare Ariane the scare of having it grinning back at her when she seeks out Daddy’s shoulder to cry on, but I was just informed by an unimpeachable source that this photo is OLD. Tony’s skull tattoo is definitely intact, and I apologize for jumping to conclusions to anyone who read the earlier version of this post.

Village Voice has a good take on Bourdain’s Yo Gabba Gabba appearance. Since the characters are just colorful blobs to me, I completely missed that Toodee, Tony’s leading lady (at least, I think she’s female), is a giant cat.

Food Network Humor also weighed in on YGG, and the comments were pretty brutal. They’re calling Tony “Bore-dain” over there. Ouch!

And here’s a strangely lavish item from the New York Times food blog, Bitten, about a week-long, multi-restaurant event Bourdain attended in New York City recently, thrown by daughter Ariane’s namesake, Ariane Daguin, to celebrate the 25th anniversary of her company, D’Artagnon. You have to read this to believe what she did.

40 Responses to Did Bourdain Lose His Skull?

  1. Cindy says:

    I think this takes us to the end of the season
    http://television.aol.com/show/anthony-bourdain-no-reservations/558009/episodes

    I have given up on Travel Channel’s web site. It may be newly designed but it is even crappier than the old one.

  2. catsworking says:

    Cindy, thank you. That’s all I was looking for. The “new and improved” Travel Channel site is a disorganized and almost-useless disgrace, and I hope Wendy at Room 214 is reading this and passes the word along.

  3. freddie mercury81 says:

    You know, I have a hard time with Tony Bourdain going on a rampage about Alice Waters when he attends dinners like these – I mean, come on, who is the elitist here? And it sort of goes along with the “sell-out” comments on the other website – he’s always doing stuff he says he’ll never do – he is a hypocrite and a sell-out.

  4. catsworking says:

    Freddie, I totally see your point. I think Bourdain and Ariane Daguin have been friends for a very long time, so he really couldn’t skip her big celebration. If anyone was over the top, it was her, flying more than 200 people over from France and turning the best restaurants in NYC into her personal kitchen. Give me a break!

    As for the other things Bourdain seems to be selling out on, I think it’s just that he’s maturing. Even after Kitchen Confidential became a bestseller and he had his first show on Food Network, I don’t think the reality of his fame had set in. He didn’t feel any different, and he certainly had no idea anyone would ever pay serious attention when he shot his mouth off. So a lot of things he said while playing the bad boy have come back to haunt, now that he’s happily married, has a great kid, and his personal life has stabilized. Maybe for the first time in his life, he’s realizing other people depend on him and he’s taking the responsibility seriously. He’s probably trying to make the most of it while he can because he knows it could all go Poof! at any moment.

    And since a good portion of his fan base seems to be young men who like a rebel without a cause, they could bring him down when they find a new idol. He and they just have nothing in common anymore.

    I suspect he spends a lot of time wiping mental egg off his face these days when he hob-nobs with all the people he’s been dissing and finds they aren’t that evil.

    Sure, we all miss the bad boy who first grabbed our attention, and grown-up Tony can be kind of dull. But surely you can’t begrudge the guy for having a normal life and trying to make it a nice one.

  5. catsworking says:

    Thanks, Cindy. I don’t see any of Guy Fieri taking a swing at Bourdain, so it looks like he had a good day.

  6. Imabear says:

    Regarding Tony’s take on Alice Waters, I got the impression that his problem with her is her strong suggestion that everyone eat as she does – thus the “food Nazi” label. For most of the world, this is not just impractical, it’s impossible, thus the elitism. I’m sure we’d all like to have local & fresh at every meal, but most people simply can’t afford it. The suggestion is laughable and insulting to folks worried about the price of milk.

    As for the “sell out” – he has a wife and child to take care of – responsibilities he’s never had before. Who can blame him for wanting to be able to provide for his kid? And, yes, he knows his fame won’t last forever.

  7. catsworking says:

    Welcome, Imabear! I think you hit the nail on the head with Alice Waters. Bourdain has said that he thinks it’s ridiculous for people to pay $3 for a lemon because it’s organic. Since he was no Rockefeller while working in the restaurant biz, I’m sure he’s well aware of the price of groceries. In her recent interview, Ottavia mentioned a few places where they shop for food, but said they go to Whole Foods “for our daughter.” Tony wants his child to have the best nutrition he can buy, naturally, but it would be pretty disingenuous of him to fully stock his kitchen with organic while ragging on Alice Waters.

    I think the crowd who is now calling him “Bore-dain” has noticed the shift in his persona and he’s no longer the flavor the month. He’ll never be Ward Cleaver (wonder how many readers’ heads THAT reference will go over?) but I think he’ll be trading in the younger crowd for more age-appropriate fans — and ones who will sit down and actually read his books, too.

    There’s enough people out there thinking Tony Bennett can still sing to keep him cutting CDs so, insults aside, what’s going on right now is probably a good thing for him in the long run.

  8. Bob says:

    I think Bourdain himself actually said that he was “No Ward Cleaver”. I normally have a pretty good memory for this kind of thing. Anyway, he has referenced the Cleaver Clan many times in interviews and on NR.

  9. catsworking says:

    Bob, that’s exactly my point. Bourdain is of my generation, so he knows who Ward Cleaver was. I think if you mentioned “the Beav” to people a few decades younger than us, they’d think you were referring to half of Beavis & Butthead.

  10. MorganLF says:

    I thought at first the hair! Its long and wavy again, but as your source confirmed this pic was a while back.
    Speaking of Yo Gabba Gabba you know of course that the phrase comes from a Ramones (one of Bourdain’s favorites) song “Pinhead”. And the co founder of the show Yo Gabba Gabba is a founding member of the punk band Devo “Whip it”…coincidence that Bourdain’s kid likes that show?? I think not!

  11. catsworking says:

    Morgan, I’m not sure when the picture was taken, but perhaps it was during the same trip when he got the skull on Miami Ink, which led to me finding the video of it and my post about Ottavia… and the rest is history.

    At the very least, when he didn’t have the skull, they weren’t married yet, he hadn’t gone to Beirut yet, and Ariane was still just a gleam in their eyes.

    Also notice the blue ashtray peeking out from behind the chair cushion to Ottavia’s left. Yup, it was definitely the “old Tony.”

  12. catsworking says:

    Morgan, you know me and modern music. Bourdain probably thought he’d struck pay dirt when he found YGG, as far as kiddie shows go. I was watching again it for a few minutes last night. That dude in the orange outfit who hovers over all the creatures still creeps me out. I still haven’t figured out what’s going on with that. Are they supposed to be toys in a twisted doll house? How that show could possibly be edifying for children escapes me, just like TeleTubbies did.

    They just don’t make sweet, wholesome role models like Captain Kangaroo and Howdy Doody anymore. 😉

  13. MorganLF says:

    Or Mr. Greenjeans or Tom Terrific and his dog Manfred!

    I remember….

  14. Bob says:

    Up here we had to deal with Mr Dressup and The Friendly Giant. The Friendly Giant, used to have a rooster in a sack on the wall and a giraffe that would stick his head in the window. He lived in a giants castle, Creepy.

    Mr Dressup on the other hand had a “Son” with a wooden head so no lips moved Casey (the boy) Lived in a tree house with a dog (Finnegan) Mr Dressup also had a tickle Trunk where he kept all of his costumes.

    It’s a wonder how any of my generation grew up normal.

  15. Adele says:

    I was trying to explain Tom Terrific and his wonderdog Mighty Manfred to my nephew, who just kind of stared at me in open-mouthed disbelief. I was big on Kukla, Fran and Ollie when I was litle. They had quite a cast of characters, including a puppet named Beulah the Witch, who was quite witty, and one called Cecil Bill, whose conversation was limited to syllables that sounded like “Toi, ta-toi, toi, toi.” And of course in Chicago, we had Garfield Goose, King of the United States; he was a puppet, too and had many puppet friends. I was a little old for Captain Kangaroo, but my brother watched him. It’s arguable that I grew up normal at all.

    Morgan, now that you mention it, I do recall that the phrase, “Yo gabba, gabba” is in a Ramones song. I never made the connection, and I had no idea of the Devo connection to the show. Karen, the orange guy kind of disturbs me, too, but all the little kids seem to love to dance with him.

  16. Bob says:

    What about Puff n Stuff… Now that was a mind trip.

  17. catsworking says:

    Bob, Mr. Dressup probably inspired a whole generation of young boys to have Tickle Trunks that they still use to this day.

    Canadian kiddie TV does sound pretty disturbing. I think that giant would have given me nightmares.

  18. catsworking says:

    Adele, I didn’t realize that little kids love to dance with the orange guy. That’s just my point. He looks like he could dance them right into an alley “where there’s candy and puppies and rainbows” and…

    I shudder to think.

    Kukla, Fran, and Ollie reminded me of Shari Lewis and Lamb Chop? I loved them.

    I think it was a local thing in Boston, but we had Romper Room with Miss Jean. Every day she’d look into her “Magic Mirror” with no glass, supposedly at kids in the TV audience, and name names. “Tommy, have you been eating your vegetables?” “Mary, you look very happy today!” Creepy.

    Then when we moved to Ohio there was an interactive cartoon called Winky-Dink, where this kid could get into precarious situations and viewers were supposed to draw the escape ON THEIR TV SCREENS! They sold some special overlay for the screen, but you know parents must have found ropes and ladders and parachutes drawn in crayon on their TVs.

  19. catsworking says:

    Bob, we had Beany and Cecil. Beany was a kid who wore a beany cap-copter (with propellor) and Cecil was a sea monster.

  20. Adele says:

    We had Romper Room in Chicago,too. In fact, one of my paintings was exhibited on Romper Room. And I was one of those kids, who drew on their parents’ TV screens (with nail polish, no less) to help Winky Dink get across a bridge — I mean Winky was in trouble; what was I to do? I was older, but I loved Beany and Cecil; it was full of puns.

    I know what you mean by the orange guy on YGG. He kind of does have pedophile written all over him. But then my years of working in child abuse make me suspicious of everybody — clowns,scout leaders, kids’ swimming coaches; I could go on and on. Just the term “tickle trunk” makes me cringe; it sounds like a pervert’s playground.

  21. catsworking says:

    Adele, I’m sure, after your first exhibit on Romper Room, your parents realized you had talent and didn’t mind the art on the TV screen. And I’m sure Winky appreciated the assistance.

    I remember loving Rocky & Bullwinkle, Bugs Bunny and all the Looney Toons characters (the giants of animation and clever plots and double entendre), Deputy Dawg, Yogi & Boo-Boo, and even Gumby and Pokey. And let’s not forget the Flintstones.

    Aside from The Simpsons and South Park, which are really for adults, I can’t believe the simplistic crap that passes for kids’ programming these days.

  22. boscodagama says:

    Whaddabout Winky Dink? & Tom Corbett: Space Cadet?

  23. freddie mercury81 says:

    Well, I’m not sure that what Bourdain says about Alice Waters is what SHE really said- and calling her a “food nazi” is pretty inflammatory, don’t you think? What I took away from what I read about her idea is that poorer populations should have access to fresher foods/nutritional information. I don’t remember her saying that people should be buying $3 lemons. I live near Harlem where to take a walk down the street is to see an incredible number of disabled people -canes, wheelchairs – some of which, I’m sure, is attributable to poor diet and living in neighborhoods where fresh food has traditionally not been available (and where bad eating habits were firmly formed). It’s actually cheaper to buy produce at Fairway (there is one at 133rd at the Hudson) or even at Westside Market than it is to buy food at a bodega. The neighborhood finally got a mini farmer’s market near Columbia. But why not have a farmer’s market in East Harlem? A lot of people here can’t afford to take a taxi and don’t have a car so they tend to shop at the closest stores, which are usually crappy bodegas. And it’s only recently that these better food options have been available. This lack is traditional in poor neighborhoods in the US. I watched a Nightline show about obesity rates in black neighborhoods in LA – the guy who was the focus of the show was trying to lose weight by walking home from work rather than taking the bus. But as he walked his route, he pointed out to the Nightline host how every food place was a fast food outlet, there were no good supermarkets and no access to fresh vegetables. Ever stopped to get gas in some Bronx neighborhoods? The only food outlets in some places are the hot dog machines and snack counters at the gas stations. So I think what Waters may have been getting at is that people need options – they don’t necessarily have to be expensive ones. It’s an important issue and I don’t think that scoring points with your (gullible) fan base who still think of you as “brutally honest” “telling it like it is” “a bad boy chef” adds anything to the debate. Besides, what does Bourdain do to help anyone? Any charities? I’ve never read about him being involved in one. And please, to think he attended that dinner only because he was obliged by friendship! If anything is obvious about this guy, it’s that he LOVES special treatment and attention. Look, if extravagent menus and exotic expensive foods are your thing, by all means go for it. It just seems hypocritical to me to call someone an over-the-top name like “food nazi” because you think they are elitist and then partake of the kind of food 99.9% of the world’s population will never see or smell, let alone eat.
    And as far as selling out goes, again, it’s the hypocrisy which gets me, After years of marketing yourself as someone who would never sell out, it’s pretty cheesy to do credit card placements. I mean how many times did he rip Rachel Ray or Emeril for being sell-outs? And as for the excuse that he now has a family, why doesn’t he write better books, ones that aren’t so sloppy and recycled? That’s a good way to make money. Does responsibility only mean making money, no matter how? You cannot deny this guy has totally marketed himself as some kind of outlaw-type, some purist, so he is now showing how fraudulent that pose really was. No wonder he’s losing fans.

  24. Imabear says:

    Freddie – I agree that fresh, organic food should be available to the poor. I live in Los Angeles and volunteer with at risk youth in South Central. I’m down there a lot and I know what is and isn’t available. I’m also involved with a group of other white people who do anti-racist work so I am very familiar with the fact that poor neighborhoods tend to have very limited access for fresh and local foods while being inundated with fast food and liquor stores. But cost is a very real issue that cannot be swept under the rug. And they don’t have the time or the transportation to be running all over the city to farmer’s markets, even if they could afford some of the food.

    In an interview with CBS 60 Minutes, Waters herself admitted it was a luxury (see below link). Advocating this type of diet for everyone without working to make it accessible to the people who arguably need it most gets one nowhere, thus the cries of “elitism”. It sounds like she is blaming the poor – just what they need.

    http://www.cbsnews.com/stories/2009/03/13/60minutes/main4863738_page3.shtml?tag=contentMain;contentBody

  25. boscodagama says:

    Old Alice has led an entitled life. She may have played at being “poor” in her Beserkeley hipster days, but she always had a familial safety net. Some of us haven’t.

  26. catsworking says:

    Freddie, I can’t really take exception to anything you’ve said except the part about Bourdain and charitable work. When I saw him last year at the DC Food Fight, it was a non-profit event to support the DC Kitchen, a training project where inner-city people can learn career skills for the food industry. I don’t think it was the first time Bourdain had hosted that, either.

    And on April 30, he’s participating in the Asian Food Festival in NYC, another charity event to support hunger relief.

    http://www.crainsnewyork.com/article/20100122/SMALLBIZ/100129948

    The credit card endorsements are not his doing. The Travel Channel crawled into bed with Chase and promised they’d have all their top talent push the Sapphire card. I believe Zimmern and Samantha Brown are doing it as well. I just haven’t seen them in action. It’s just part of the job. Sure, Tony is undoubtedly getting paid something for it, but I doubt it’s a gig he would have taken on otherwise.

    Ironically, the situation you describe in Harlem is just the opposite here in Virginia. Because the ‘burbs are so spread out, you can’t get from point A to point B without a car. Mass transit doesn’t exist. Yet all the farmer’s markets are “in town,” sometimes in parts of town a nice little suburban lady would hesitate to venture into.

    We have a couple of places out in the country that sell fresh produce — WAY out in the country. Like 25 miles away. Am I going to drive 50 miles round-trip because the corn is sweeter than I can get at Food Lion a mile down the road? Uh, no.

    I agree with Alice Waters that everyone should have access to fresh, wholesome food, and in a perfect world, we all would. I think it’s her delivery more than her message sometimes. She comes across like a space cadet.

    And one note on Bourdain being a sell-out. I read online something he wrote some time ago. Wish I could remember where. Anyway, the point of it was that he was rethinking the whole endorsement thing after seeing how well his fellow celebrity chefs were making out from it. He said that as long as he found products he really believed in, he wouldn’t rule out doing endorsements. And he totally admitted it was a complete 180 from his prior thinking.

    These days, he seems to be paying the price for changing his mind about a lot of things. When you go out on a limb as far and as often as he has saying outrageous things, you have to expect some backlash.

    I’m with you in hoping that he writes a lot of great books in the future.

  27. catsworking says:

    Imabear, thanks for the link! I’d never seen this clip, but I think it’s the one Bourdain’s referring to when he complains about Alice Waters burning a cord of wood to make 2 eggs. And I think my observation about her coming across like a space cadet is confirmed.

  28. catsworking says:

    Freddie, I can’t disagree with anything you’ve said, except about Bourdain’s charity work. When I saw him at the DC Food Fight last year, it was a charity event to benefit the DC Kitchen, a project that trains inner-city people for careers in the food industry. I think he’d hosted it before, and he said he’d do it again this year. It raised a boatload of money.

    On April 30 in NYC, he’s participating in the Asian Food Festival to support hunger relief.

    http://www.crainsnewyork.com/article/20100122/SMALLBIZ/100129948

    Travel Channel crawled into bed with Chase and pledged its top talent to push the Sapphire card. Zimmern and Samantha Brown are supposed to be doing it as well. It’s now part of their jobs. They’re probably getting paid something for it, but I doubt Tony would have jumped on Chase as a gig, given a choice.

    I can’t remember where I read it, somewhere online, but a while ago Bourdain wrote about rethinking the whole endorsement thing after seeing how his fellow celebrity chefs were making out. He’d decided if the right product came along, he’d do it. He admitted it was a complete 180 from his former position on “selling out.”

    But I don’t think it’s selling out if you’re endorsing a product you’d actually use yourself and believe in. As far as I know, he hasn’t gone there yet.

    I agree with Alice Water that everyone should have access to fresh, wholesome food. And so does Bourdain. As Imabear says, unless the food is placed within reach, it’s a pointless position. I think Waters also hurts her message by coming across as a space cadet.

    Ironically, we have the opposite problem here in Virginia from the situation you describe in Harlem. Because the ‘burbs are so spread out and there’s no mass transit, having a car is a must. All the farmers’ markets seem to be in the city, and some in places where nice little suburban ladies hesitate to go.

    We have a few country markets, but they’re 25 miles away. Am I going to drive 50 miles round-trip to buy corn that’s sweeter than Food Lion’s (a mile away)? Uh, no.

    Bourdain seems to be changing course on a lot of things lately, so he’s got to expect some backlash. I hope he writes many good books in the years ahead.

  29. Cindy says:

    AB has been supporting the DC Central Kitchen for years. He has been host and judge for the food fights several times. And it was no accident that they were featured on the DC episode of NR.

  30. Imabear says:

    I had to DVR the Ecuador episode and have still only seem a small part of it. Was Tony eating penis soup or was I just over tired when I watched?

  31. catsworking says:

    Imabear, you were right. It was penis soup. And he makes fun of Zimmern eating testicles all the time…

    Tuxi, sorry to hear about your mom’s troubles. If she figures out how to beat the snack demon, share her secret with us.

  32. boscodagama says:

    You can get pinga de toro at the Americana chain of Hispanic grocery stores in the DC area. You may be able to get it at Big Apple Super Market, a Hispanic market out on Jeff Davis in S. Richmond.

    Those Ecuadorian caldos looked great.

  33. catsworking says:

    Bosco, you are so funny! I wouldn’t be caught dead in a Hispanic market on Jeff Davis Highway. Let me rephrase that: I would probably end up dead if I ventured in to such a place. That part of town is not in my stomping radius by a long shot. There are too many fillers in the paper that begin with, “An unidentified body was found in a parking lot on Jeff Davis Highway…”

    But we have a lot of ethnic markets springing up everywhere. Now that you mention it, I bet some of the stuff Bourdain eats is available right here if you know where to look and not get caught in the crossfire.

  34. MorganLF says:

    Oh pipe down! I grew up in the NJ burbs. My mother did not drive; anyway we only had one car that dad took it to work. Mom did one big food shop on Thursdays,(when Bewitched was on) so we ate canned and frozen and all grew up fit and tall. Alice Waters is silly, we moved whole armies and went to the moon on canned/processed chow.

    I do recall fresh veggies, but not as much as I remember creamed corn. In the summers “fruit Charlie” would drive around the developments in a converted school bus selling fresh fruit. It was a big treat to climb on board and pick through the boxes of peaches, corn and tomatoes but I still prefer frozen peas to fresh which are often mealy.

    To call Bourdain a sell out is so tired. He “evolved” after all the dude is mid fifties what do you expect? His approach to food is that of a professional it is his job after all. I don’t think attending that dinner was elitist, HE didn’t throw the affair and Ariane is a friend of his whom he admires her greatly and in fact named his kid Ariane. In DC Ottavia pointed her out to us and made it clear they were very fond of her. Am I an elitist if I attend a fancy dinner?

    Look Freddie, feel free to open a farmers market in East Harlem or anywhere else you fancy. But since I haven’t frequented the area in search of hierba for many years,I doubt I shall ever have the opportunity to patronize it.

  35. MorganLF says:

    Karen,
    Romper Room!! I remember it well. When she looked into the mirror and said hi to Mary and Tommy and Kathy and never me! Do you remember galloping with the stick horses? We had one and do you remember the black beanie hat with the fuzzy white ball on the top that kids wore to pretend they were on the show (my brother had one and I razzed him about if for YEARS!) and the Do Bee and Don’t Bee?

    Adele you had featured art work on the show? How impressive! I also remember Claude Kirshner and his wisecracking puppet Clownie, I bet Bourdain and his brother watched that, it was big in the North Jersey/NYC market and came on 7PM and had cartoons and stuff…BUT at the end of the show at 7:30 he always said “its time for all good little boys and girls to go to bed”. Somehow we always forgot that was coming and got snagged by it all the time.

    Later in life there was Beany & Cecil all double entendre. I recall an episode with “Bikini Atoll” and “No Bikini At All” featuring a map of an island shaped like a female torso and the tag line “aw heck Beanie”

  36. catsworking says:

    Morgan, what a memory! I DO remember the Do Bee and Don’t Be and the stick horses. I had to ride a broom because we were poor. I don’t remember the hat.

    When I was a kid, I had fresh fruit year-round. We stole it. It seemed something was always in season. I could get grapes off the fence in my backyard that belonged to the guy next door, but I also remember swiping apples, plums, pears. We found blackberries growing wild, so those were legit. The hardest fruit to snag was the raspberries because we had to break into somebody’s garden for those. Our parents had no idea how much we kids ate while we were outside playing.

  37. boscodagama says:

    I’m not being funny.. Jeff Davis has some interesting places on it. Reminds me of my home turf back in Texas. I’ve found types of dried beans I can’t get anywhere else in town, and they only charge 50 cents a pound for onions. Damn honkey stores charge a dollar or more for onions. That’s robbery.

    I do one thing, though, I don’t go after dark.

  38. catsworking says:

    Bosco, I hesitate to travel too far east on Midlothian Turnpike, even though I lived right behind Cloverleaf Mall for years. Some parts of town are just too dangerous. Now, if I were a guy, drove a Hummer, and had a shotgun, I’d go anywhere. 😉

  39. boscodagama says:

    My son and his GF are rehabbing a house he bought in which to live in the very area you fear. You’re missing alot of the best part of town. Good folks there, too.

Leave a Reply

