Bourdain Does Kiddie TV

By Karen

Perhaps as an early birthday present to daughter Ariane, on March 10, Anthony Bourdain guests on Yo Gabba Gabba as Doctor Tony. If you needed any proof that fatherhood can unhinge a guy, watch this:

I tried to watch Yo Gabba Gabba some time ago when Bourdain first mentioned it as a favorite, and it had me screaming for mercy after about 10 minutes.

The Pittsburgh Post-Gazette did a phone interview with Bourdain recently and printed the highlights, but there’s a link on the page to the whole 15-minute audio version.

Tony and Eric visited Martha Stewart’s TV show on February 16 to promote their new Sirius radio show, Turn & Burn, which premiered on the 18th, and to prepare coq au vin.

Cats Working reader Cindy provided a link to the highlights of their first gab-fest, with guest Mario Batali. I wish I got Sirius!

Dicey Venison writes about his/her “better half’s” weird brief encounter during the Q&A at Tony’s Milwaukee appearance on January 22.

MSN TV got some good Raw Talk with Tony, and then almost ruined it with WAY too much clicking required — quelle agonie! (Sorry, I just watched Breakfast at Tiffany’s). Thanks, MSN!

Tony does mention that he likes Samantha Brown, describing her as “nice, and not painfully sweet.” I always wondered about that.

15 Responses to Bourdain Does Kiddie TV

  1. Bob says:

    I am glad that Tony is spreading around the love.
    To do just Yo Gabba Gabba would be wierd at best.
    But at least he has the book comming out and the radio show. I don’t get sat radio here but I hope it pops up on the net somewhere.

  2. Zappa says:

    I want to see AB portray himself on The Simpsons-or be parodied on South Park.That’s success!

    Zappa’s mom

  3. catsworking says:

    Bob, I would be very surprised if “Doctor Tony” makes the rounds of any more kiddie shows, although I could see him talking some trash with Oscar the Grouch on Sesame Street.

  4. catsworking says:

    Zappa’a mom, I think AB would agree with you on The Simpsons. He would see it as the pinnacle of success. I can’t recall ever seeing him weigh in on South Park, but that bunch could do things to him that would make the depravity of his Alternate Universe pale greatly in comparison.

  5. Adele says:

    Zappa’s mom, I think the idea of Tony appearing on The Simpsons is an inspired one; I’m sure he’d love it. Karen, thanks for the YouTube clip. I have to say, when he leered at the camera and said. “Yes, I’m the doctor,” we got a glimpse of the old Tony.

  6. Wendy says:

    My kids and I love Yo Gabba Gabba AND Tony, so putting the two together is wonderful!! I was cracking up watching the clip.

  7. Bob says:

    I totally agree with you Adele, when he said I am the Dr. He totally had that impish look in his eye.

    Actually I was waiting to see if he was going to “Tie Off” Tootie and shoot her up… But that would have been a bit close to the bone.

  8. catsworking says:

    Remember, this was only a preview of Tony’s appearance. I assume there’s more to the skit. After all, shouldn’t Doctor Tony CURE Toody, or whatever that creature’s name is, so everybody can live happily ever after?

    I think what creeps me out most about that show is the human dork who bounces around above the creatures. What’s his purpose?

  9. Cindy says:

    Ottavia is getting friendly with the media, check this out
    http://blogs.miaminewtimes.com/shortorder/2010/02/better_halves_interview_with_o.php

    BUT YOU WERE FIRST!

  10. catsworking says:

    Cindy, you are so right! You were there! That was a great interview with Ottavia, though. She is very funny.

    When I saw her in November, I asked her about the Raleigh Hotel in Miami, Bourdain’s favorite, because I’m always looking for a good one in South Beach after getting burned at several rat holes over the years. She told me it had just changed management and they were giving it one more try that coming weekend (when Tony made an appearance with Ripert there) to see if they still liked it.

    The photo on the new interview says they’re at the Raleigh for the SoBe Wine & Food Festival, so it must still be OK. That’s good to know.

    What a charmed life she has!

  11. I love this guy hes always entertaining. My kid loves this show and it always nice to get a surprise. Thanks tony it just what the doctor ordered!

    Samuel

  12. Adele says:

    Cindy, thanks for the link to the Ottavia interview. I loved that her inspirations are the 7 deadly sins – she turns out to give great interviews, and it’s pretty clear that she and Tony have similar senses of humor.

    Karen, did Ottavia have such delightfully snide moments when you talked to her?

  13. catsworking says:

    Adele, Ottavia wasn’t snide at all with me, but very sincere. She does joke around, but she was obviously having fun with this interviewer. After staying under wraps for the first couple of years, I’m pleased to see her spreading her wings and testing the waters as a personality separate from Tony. She’s also setting a good example for Ariane. And since we all know that Bourdain loves feisty women, he’s probably very proud of her. Ottavia really does reflect well on him.

  14. MorganLF says:

    Adele,
    Agreed it was a fun clever interview. I’ll say it again smart chick. I loved her secret ambition! She was funny and informative with no pretense. I found her to be very open & pleasant in DC as well, Louboutins and Birkin bag notwithstanding. Karen will tell you I was obsessing over them and her watch!

  15. catsworking says:

    Even though I’ve seen every episode of Sex & the City at least a dozen times, Morgan was the one who recognized all the labels. No doubt about it, Mrs. Bourdain is stylish in that effortlessly understated way European women seem to be born with.

Leave a Reply

