Little Girls Gang Up on Bourdain

By Karen

This week, Anthony Bourdain takes No Reservations within spitting distance of home, having lunch with actor Bill Murray in the Hudson Valley. Here’s a clip.

He also gets a good taste of what he’s probably got in store from daughter Ariane in about 7 years…

Speaking of little girls, Bourdain shares in his blog a touching essay by crew member Todd Leibler’s daughter. Tony, before you know it, Ariane will be writing her own revealing school essays. If she’s got a fraction of your talent, her teachers are in for a treat — or a shock! There may be a few urgent parent-teacher conferences in your future.

Cape Cod Times did a great run-down on Bourdain’s appearance in Providence, RI, on January 23, and mentions that Cape Cod might be on the short list for NR Season 7. (UPDATE: This article also implies that the Bourdains have a dog. I was able to verify that it’s not true and Lupetto the cat still reigns supreme. Tony was probably speaking of pets in general, and the reporter misunderstood.)

On February 28, at the Food Network South Beach Wine & Food Festival, Tony will square off with Eric Ripert in Death Match on the Beach: Battle Fish. From ingredients in a mystery basket, they’ll each try to prepare the best fish dish.

Sorry, Tony, my money’s on Eric to win.

Yet another wacko has tattooed himself with Bourdain — and Eric Ripert and Masaharu Morimoto.

Stellaa’s Blog gives Tony a lengthy kick in the pants. At first, I thought it was tough love, but she really does seem to hate the guy.

Here’s the most complete listing I’ve found on the ‘Net of Bourdain’s personal appearances.

11 Responses to Little Girls Gang Up on Bourdain

  1. Bob says:

    That little girl was too funny!!! Boy she might just as well have put Tony over her knee. I have never seen him as flummoxed as what she did to him.

    Classic! Yup he’s pretty much screwed when Ariane turns about 10. Those pony’s and rainbows are going to kick his ass!!! Way Too Funny!

  2. Zappa says:

    Apologies to Bob,but I wanted to ..um….send her to her room.What a precocious,pretentious brat! The screen time that was wasted on her could have given us more Bill Murray.

    Zappa’s mom

  3. catsworking says:

    Zappa’s Mom, just be glad she’s not YOUR brat!

    That’s why I live with cats.

  4. Cindy says:

    Interesting. The Warner Theater does not show AB on their schedule.

    And I agree with Zappa’s mom. We have way too many of this kind of child in our family. It is not cute and it gets old real fast.

    I missed most of the show, I fell asleep. Dealing with the snow has worn me out.
    Thigh high at our house but we are on a snow emergency road so we were plowed early and frequently.

  5. catsworking says:

    Cindy, I haven’t seen the Hudson Valley episode yet. Will be watching it this evening. I hope they didn’t spend much more time with that little girl than they showed in the promo.

    We’re supposed to be getting slammed with a few more inches of rain and sleet dusted with some snow here between now and tomorrow afternoon, but so far it’s sunny.

  6. Adele says:

    I thought the kid was pretty cute,and Tony seemed to enjoy her, but I think a lot of what she said was scripted. I was surprised by how beautiful the Hudson Valley is, and not being great at geography, hadn’t realized that it gets so scenic so close to Manhattan.

    Karen and Cindy, I hear you about the snow; here in Chicago, we’re expecting 12 inches, but I suspect Chicago is better prepared for snow than Richmond or DC. (Bob, I can’t imagine how well prepared Winnipeg must be). Even so, it will be a challenge getting my car in and out of its parking place. I’m going to the store and then coming home to make a pot of beef stew.

  7. catsworking says:

    Adele, you know Tony was seeing Ariane in a few years.

    It’s nearly 3 p.m. in Richmond and nothing has started falling yet, which is bad news because the later it gets, the colder it gets, so whatever comes down will freeze. I’m planning to do something with chicken thighs (another step in overcoming my aversion to bones, after reading more of Les Halles Cookbook last night and getting a browbeating over being a food sissy) and risotto.

  8. Bob says:

    Actually Adele we here in Winnipeg, as you can guess, have the whole winter storm thing down to a science.
    But that’s to be expected I guess, we don’t normally have temps above freezing for at least 5 months of the year.

    It actually freaks me out that y’all down south DON’T have any type of preparation for these kind of events.

    I guess Chicago would do fairly well, being right on the lake and all, but it seems to me that most of the States don’t have much in the way of protection unless they seem to actually touch Canada.

    If you haven’t seen them yet I just put up a couple of posts on Winter in Winnipeg on my site.

  9. catsworking says:

    Bob, we got 3-4″ more inches of largely unexpected snow this morning. The kids were already on their way or in school when they decided to close the schools, so now parents are in the spot of having to retrieve them or leave work to stay home with them. There are wrecks all over the city; the news reported many people driving without headlights or clearing off their windows. Don’t get me started on the mountains they leave on their roofs to blow off on hapless vehicles behind them.

    So even if we did have the equipment to clear the snow quickly, I don’t think it would make much difference to the idiots too dumb to take the simple steps to keep themselves from being hazards to other drivers.

  10. MorganLF says:

    Zappa’s Mom & Cindy I could not agree more, what an unfunny snotty little brat! She’d get the back of my hand and then we’d see how many books on neurology she reads! To be fair, I’m sure that was scripted but it missed. Now if he’d have said ” your the smartest person who’s ever been on this show” and she eye rolled and dead panned into the camera..that would have been funny.

    Snow killing us here in NORTH JERSEY, supposed to get 12-18 Cindy I feel your pain. You guys got hammered.
    Coming down gangbusters now and the woods around me look magical. It’s almost blizzard-like but I’m digging it. Tomorrow when I have to venture out for work I’ll be cursing. Since my employer did not close(!) I have to use personal time, merde!

  11. catsworking says:

    I haven’t seen the Hudson Valley episode yet because for some reason, my recorder captured a solid hour of the Verizon logo! I think it reruns Thursday night and I won’t miss it.

Leave a Reply

