Bourdain’s on the Road Again

By Karen

Season 6 of Anthony Bourdain’s No Reservations begins tonight in Panama. I saw it online last week and exclaimed almost immediately, “WTF! He got another one??!!

I’m talking tattoo — BIG tattoo — right forearm. Then his left forearm. They kept appearing and disappearing, keeping my eyes glued to them.

Their presence was explained by the end of the episode, but they sure wreaked havoc on continuity.

Season 6’s promo theme is, “Which will it be? Nice Tony or Evil Tony?” Is that supposed to allay fears that Bourdain’s gone soft?

His Web site got a face-lift and they managed to reformat the episode schedule to make it utterly useless. (Thumbs up on the season recaps, though.)

On January 9, Tony spoke in Lowell, Mass. Cats Working reader Cindy found this pre-show phone interview. Tony’s appearing on Ariane’s favorite show, Yo Gabba Gabba.

The profane Anthony Bourdain doing children’s TV. What next? An F-bomb-spewing Vic Chanko puppet on Sesame Street?

Tony is in Calgary, Canada, on January 12. The Calgary Herald got an e-mail interview.

On the 13th, Bourdain’s speaking in Santa Rosa, California. The Press Democrat phoned him and Tony confided a “grudging respect” for — are you ready? — Guy Fieri. He also said they plan to shoot NR in Rome in black and white with subtitles, like a Fellini film.

This coming weekend, he’ll be barefoot on the sands of Seven Mile Beach at the Cayman Cookout, but apparently not before accepting his Person of the Year honor in San Francisco January 14 at the Tasty Awards, hob-nobbing with Meryl Streep, who won an Outstanding Performance award for her amazing portrayal of Julia Child.

The Daily Fork gave Tony only honorable mention on its annual list of sexiest culinary celebs, while the burger-blowing Padma Lakshmi from Top Chef made #5. Must be a guy thing.

Tony discussed his evolving fan base before his appearance in Lakeland, Florida, on January 8. I like to think he oh-so-obliquely acknowledged the existence of the Cats Working ladies.

Blog of New Orleans scored an advance interview before Bourdain’s January 7 appearance there and somehow managed to make it dull.

Tony was in Portland, Maine, January 2 – in a snowstorm – eating seafood for a NR episode set to air April 12.

Bangor Daily News reported Bourdain enjoying hot dogs and beans in Milo, hometown of crew member Zach. They said Tony’s next stop is Cuba.

I’ve got to quit now. His January travel schedule has my head spinning, and he’s still got a few more stops to make.

8 Responses to Bourdain’s on the Road Again

  1. Bob says:

    Calgary… Calgary… Hmmmph
    I bet you were snikkering under your breath when you wrote this post today Karen. So he knows, I am “this far” from putting my No Reservations De-Coder Ring under a Bus. Hmmmph Calgary.

    Geeze Morgan is going to eat me alive when she reads this.

    Ok that’s out of my system, I have to agree with you on the new website, it’s horrid. ARRRGH Totally frustrating to navigate. Just blow it up already and bring back the old one, at least on there I kinda knew which links didn’t work.

  2. catsworking says:

    Bob, it is almost like Bourdain is taunting you, isn’t it? But that Calgary gig was probably planned long ago. Maybe he’ll swing through Winnipeg again on his next book tour.

    The new Web site seems less cluttered, but that’s not necessarily a good thing if what’s left is crap. The poor TV schedule really annoys me. I guess we’re just supposed to stay glued to the TV 24/7 to see what’s coming up next.

  3. Adele says:

    I can understand why Tony keeps doing his speaking engagements. Karen, you gave me ample warning of his Chicago appearance, but since it’s April 24, I figured I didn’t need to look for tickets until this month. I finally decided to get myself and a very good friend VIP tickets ($124 a pop — I owe her), and when I went on the Chicago Theater website, it looks like all the VIP’s are gone. Quelle disappointment! I still have a little gift for Ariane, that I’d hoped to give him, not to say get an autograph, a photo, and send greetings from the Cats Working crew. Oh well. It looks like there are still good seats available, but without the VIP perks.

    Speaking of websites, I’m not crazy about the new NR one either, and I hate the “good Tony, bad Tony” campaign. I think you’re right about the Travel Channel wanting to make sure that he doesn’t lose his fans, who like Bad Boy Tony, but for the rest of us, who appreciate both his snark and sweetness, the ads just seem silly. I did check out his blog last night; one poster just found out he’s married, and several were unaware that he has a book coming out. Obviously these people don’t read Cats Working.

  4. catsworking says:

    Adele, I’m so sorry to hear that you can’t get the VIP tickets. What a bummer! If you can’t catch him by the stage door, you know we have ways of getting your gift to Ariane. She’s probably just reaching the age to really appreciate it.

    I read his blog this morning and checked out the comments. You’re right. Quite a few of his fans seem to be seriously clueless, albeit adoring.

  5. MorganLF says:

    Adele the VIP tickets go instantaneously as I found out when he was in NYC and Atlantic City, he does have a following which was why the access we had in DC was rare. Good luck I hope you enjoy the show, clearly this grueling schedule is his main payday and I guess he’ll keep it up as long as he can. I agree Good/Bad Tony is silly.

    Bob, CONSTANT harping on one note of limited appeal(to the rest of the world) can be off-putting some people find relentless self-referencing tiresome. All I advise is a little self-editing.

  6. catsworking says:

    Morgan, welcome back! Seriously.

  7. Adele says:

    Morgan, good to have you check in. Yep, I was too slow on the draw for the Bourdain VIP tickets. Unless it’s pouring, my friend and I figure we’ll hang out by the side door of the Chicago, at least for a little while and see if we can catch Tony — undignified, but it will remind us of going to rock concerts in our youth; I got Ricky Nelson’s autograph by waiting by the side door of the original McCormick Place; maybe I can slip Tony a little gift for Ariane.

  8. MorganLF says:

    Adele,
    I haunted many a stage door and my best “get” was a meeting and kiss from Paul Newman!

    He was the always the first guest in a lecture series at the New School downtown in NYC. Of course no tix were available so we went to the school nosed around found a music room with stairs that led to the wings of the stage. My friend and I were lurking there, when the door opened from an alley that led to the street, and with no entourage and a six pack of Coors he arrived with the host of the series Leonard Probst (who tried to shoo us away).

    Paul was magnificent, sunburned wearing a blue striped boater and the eyes, he was shorter than I had anticipated though.

    He was 50 that year; I was 24 and swooned….I asked for an autograph which he declined (as he never gave them), but he allowed us to stay in the wings and on the way out he gave me a kiss. Eeek I’m still giddy!

Leave a Reply

