Bourdain Sank My Bearnaise Debut

By Karen

I still don’t feel like a foodie, but Anthony Bourdain has been eating away at me like a Chinese water torture. It’s been impossible to watch and read as much of his work as I have and dodge osmosis. I’ve been letting certain things creep into my kitchen, like sea salt and peppercorns, udon and soba noodles, memmi, and real cranberries. In just 2 years, my cranberry relish from scratch has already become a Wormald Thanksgiving tradition.

Guided by Cats Working reader Adele, I’ve roasted a whole chicken stuffed with herbs and lemon, with butter rubbed under the skin. If you had any idea how upsetting I find headless, hollowed-out birds with bumpy yellow hides and their guts in a bag, you’d know what a milestone this was.

Just last night, I morphed disparate Christmas Eve leftovers into a delectable pizza.

Thanks to Tony, I’m getting culinarily creative and it’s working!

…So my mother made this roast beef for Christmas Day and was complaining that no grocery store stocked béarnaise sauce in a jar. With Bourdain-inspired bravado, I scoffed, “How hard can it be to make from scratch?”

I Googled some recipes, and they ran the gamut of complexity. But one labeled “Never-Fail” contained only butter, egg yolks, tarragon, a microwave, and a blender.

I figured I could make it in a pan over low heat and skip the blender cleanup.

I went to my parents’ house for dinner prepared to amaze them with my béarnaise — until I unwrapped the Christmas wish they’d fulfilled — Bourdain’s Les Halles Cookbook. I immediately flipped to his béarnaise recipe on page 252 and made the mistake of reading this note from Tony aloud:

Note: Know this. If you haven’t made béarnaise from scratch before, you will surely fuck this sauce up.

The room was quiet until my mother finally mumbled, “That’s OK. Never mind. We don’t really need it,” and we ate the beef naked.

But I swear, Tony, I’m gonna do it — as many times as it takes to get it right. And I’m gonna try some other recipes from your book. When they film Karen & Tony, I want Julianne Moore to play a thinner, prettier, younger me and George Clooney to be you.

&

Yesterday, Tony wrote an Op-Ed piece called “Foodie Nation” for the New York Times. I think I smelled a whiff from his new book, Medium Raw.

Right after Morgan, Cindy and I met the Bourdains at the Capital Food Fight in mid-November, they were headed to Miami with Eric Ripert. Reader urbanjoanna found a few great pictures from their weekend in the sun. It’s the best photo of Ariane yet. At only 2 ½, she seems to be showing signs of Dad’s height.

Chowhound has Maine abuzz with rumors that Bourdain will be visiting Rockland in January to film No Res. Maine in January! What’s he thinking?

But at least on Friday, January 15, Tony will be basking in the sun at the (Grand) Cayman Cookout, giving a talk on Seven Mile Beach. Saturday evening he’ll be at Calico Jack’s, also on the beach, to man the grill with Eric Ripert for a barbecue. On Sunday he’ll help judge a cooking competition for local chefs, and that evening will pitch in to prepare a 7-course dinner with all the other celebrity chefs (last year he skipped that event). It’s already sold out.

And the honors just keep rolling in. PressDemocrat.com has named No Reservations one of the top 10 reality-based TV series of the decade.

Only 2 weeks to go until Season 6 of No Reservations premiers on the Travel Channel January 11.

51 Responses to Bourdain Sank My Bearnaise Debut

  1. Bob says:

    Oh how I know your pain Karen.
    I had to go through Christmas with my Sister and Brother in Law at home with the Folks.

    Not only do they not know how to cook an egg without making it into an inedible rubbery mass, they absolutely insist on putting everything in the dishwasher. That includes (GASP) non stick pans,and freshly honed knives.

    THE HORROR

    So I was on self imposed breakfast duty for the duration. I wowed them with crab omelets and scrambled eggs so fluffy they could float on air.

    My Sister wondered with amazement at the mystery substance I cooked my eggs in… BUTTER.

  2. catsworking says:

    Bob, this 462nd post was obviously the charm, so take note. Just got an e-mail from WordPress that it’s featured on the home page, and it’s right at the top at http://www.wordpress.com. Pulling in some hits, too. Go figure.

    My mother is the family’s least adventurous cook. Eggplant parmigiana, a bag of mixed greens in a salad instead of iceberg lettuce, and some yukky egg casserole she can make in advance, is about as exotic as she gets. I was really ready to tackle that bearnaise. I knew in my bones that I could do it exactly the way Bourdain described it in his cookbook note as how confident chefs do it (and this was before I received his book), skipping the double pans and throwing in butter at random until it was done.

    Once had a boyfriend who took a non-stick frying pan I prized so much that I kept it under the bed so no one would touch it, and used a steak knife to break up sausage in it. RUINED the pan with a thousand tiny cuts.

    That spelled the end of THAT romance. “Huh? Whattid I do?”

    Congratulations on showing your relatives how to cook eggs.

  3. vintagejenta says:

    This is hilarious because I am watching Tony RIGHT NOW! I love him. His show is the only decent one on the Travel Channel. Hands down.

    I avoid fancy frenchy things like bearnaise for precisely that reason. I like easy, simple, and non-frustrating dishes. Clearly, you do, too!

    I have a whole chicken in my freezer. I want to roast it so bad, but I am so very afraid… I may have to resort to braising it via Jamie Oliver’s chicken in milk recipe.

  4. catsworking says:

    Welcome vintagejenta! Yes, I am a big fan of simple recipes. All it takes is a long list of ingredients to make me flip the page in any cookbook, but now that I have Bourdain’s, I am determined to tackle at least a few of his.

    My raw chicken phobia goes back to childhood. My mother used to soak them first, and sometimes she’d make me get them ready to cook. The goosebumpy skin freaked me out. I refused to stick my hand inside, and remember once bursting into tears and shaking the thing desperately, trying to get the guts to fall out. I’m not much better today.

    When I was in high school, my mother wanted me to apply for a part-time job in a grocery store meat department. ME. While she waited out in the car, I took one turn around the store and then told her they’d already hired someone.

    The chicken I mentioned in the post that I roasted came out perfect and delicious. I used a bunch of pre-packaged, fresh “poultry herbs” from Kroger, and had to get Adele to tell me which was the sage, rosemary, and thyme because I had no clue.

  5. methesnake says:

    Ahh…the stresses of the holidays. The line about the sauce had me laughing. Great post!

  6. littlemarie says:

    ah, finally…somebody else who prefers Bourdain over the other shows…good luck with your culinary endeavors!

  7. Adele says:

    Karen, you shouldn’t have let Bourdain scare you off. I absolutely believe that you could have made bernaise, using his recipe and without the bowl over water trick — just a heavy bottomed sauce pan over low even heat. As long as you have very fresh eggs and KEEP STIRRING, it almost always comes out. I believe I’ve even made it just by whisking bits of softened butter into the sauce, but the clarified butter is better. I never make bernaise or hollandaise any more — I used to love eggs benedict, but I do try in some small ways to limit my cholesterol intake.

    When you get around to it, Les Halles Moules Marniere is my favorite recipe; I make it all the time. The Moules Portugaise are excellent as well.

    Ariane has certainly grown, and her curls are tres charmant. Speaking of hair, I was struck by how good Ottavia’s looked as she sat by the pool, and speaking of looking good, Eric Ripert is certainly adorable, though I think he may be young enough to be my son.

  8. mike says:

    catsworking, I just found your blog from the WordPress homepage – great blog.

    But I have a question – what’s with the non-stick pans in the dishwasher? (Maybe this question is really for Bob 🙂 )

  9. catsworking says:

    Welcome, Mike! You’re right. Bob will have to speak to the logic of the pans in the dishwasher. Seems like it takes a special kind of stupid. They probably leave cast iron sitting out to drip-dry, too! 😉

  10. vintagejenta says:

    This is hilarious because I am watching Tony RIGHT NOW! I love him. His show is the only decent one on the Travel Channel. Hands down. I avoid fancy frenchy things like bearnaise for precisely that reason. I like easy, simple, and non-frustrating dishes. Clearly, you do, too!I have a whole chicken in my freezer. I want to roast it so bad, but I am so very afraid I may have to resort to braising it via Jamie Olivers chicken in milk recipe.

  11. Bob says:

    Mike I assume that you are asking why do you NOT put non stick pans in the dishwasher..and also knives.

    Well basically a dishwasher cleans dishes by using an abrasive mixed with soap. Think of taking a good pan or a real nice sharp knife to the beach and grinding sand on it for a couple of hours. Not a pretty thought eh.

    Yes, the food is gone off of it but the surface is full of scratches and abrasions. So not very good for the previously non stick coating.

    Sure you can get away with doing this a few times, because at first the scratches are tiny but over time it ruins the finish.

    Breaks my heart to see people that are industrious enough to cook but too lazy to clean up the mess.

    Merry New Year
    Bob
    http://bahbs.wordpress.com/

  12. mike says:

    Yes, thanks that’s what I was wondering. I never put my good knives in there, but my non-stick pans I do. But then again, I have low-end non-stick pans (since I don’t really care for non-stick) so I’m not so worried about them in the long run. My good Wusthof knives are another story!

  13. catsworking says:

    Adele, suddenly all your comments are going to the spam folder. I don’t know what caused that. Now I have to pull them out and approve them. Are you doing anything different?

    Bourdain didn’t scare ME off the sauce, he scared my MOTHER. She said she had been buying the sauce in a jar (which must have been like sh*t) but now no one carries it. On my next grocery run, I’m getting some real butter and I’m going to try bearnaise as soon as I make something to pour it on.

    Seeing those pictures of the Bourdains in Miami, I was struck by what a charmed life they live sometimes. They just flew out of Hurricane Ike in DC, whereas I rode Amtrak right into the brunt of it in Richmond. My train was going on to Miami. If I had packed the clothes and didn’t have hungry cat mouths to feed at home, I’ve have just stayed on board and joined them.

  14. I loved this!I found it from WordPress front page. I like “Tony” but he can be a snob at times. I don’t get to watch him anymore as I don’t watch TV. As for knives, I hate for other people to drop knives in MY dishwater. Imagine what a good sharp knife can do to a hand in soap covered water when the knife can’t be seen.

  15. Great post. Thanks! I love Tony!

  16. Bruce says:

    I too am a fan of Anthony Bourdain. I love the way he mixes his travels to distant places, so that he can taste the local fare and get smashed in the process! He is my culinary hero. I think he’d be a gas at parties.

  17. Emily says:

    Aww…don’t let him intimidate you! Just go for it! So what it turns out badly the first time? Then you don’t eat it. But what if it had turned out great?? Be bold!!

  18. MorganLF says:

    Well it seems your new placement has roped in a whole new crew of Bourdain fans.

    Loved the pool pics, I have many just like that.

    What a cute kid and Adele, Eric…just a hottie, do you like his new show? I do, but have a hard time finding it. I never really liked Frenchmen but 2 now seemed two have captured my fancy.

    As for raw poultry I admit to being defeated by it. I recently tried a whole chicken, wrestled the evil thing around my kitchen buttered under the skin, herbed it then spent the next 2 hours deconstructing my kitchen with bleach to get rid of the narly germs. What a hassle, but the chicken was fine except one thing I DON’T LIKE ROAST CHICKEN! There
    I said it.
    Thanksgiving I was a guest but wanted to have my own, so I roasted a fresh turkey breast, since it had no legs the friggin’ thin tipped over.. one side was golden crispy brown and the other a flabby pale mess…I threw it out. I’m sticking with my killer brisket and world class Sunday gravy meatballs and bracciole.

  19. Adele says:

    Morgan, I do like Eric Ripert’s new show. I have a hard time finding it, as well, though. I particularly like his stories behind the food and loved being in Tuscany with him. I’m surprised by his kitchen, particularly the fact that he has one of those smooth electric cooktops. I do like Frenchmen and still fondly remember a fling in Paris in my much younger days. Ah, Phillipe, walking hand-in-hand on the Champs-Elysees, going to Fouquets, interspersing kisses with sips of Framboise. Okay, I just slapped myself to keep from going on . . .

  20. catsworking says:

    Morgan, I have no idea how I got tapped for the honor of a day on the WordPress home page, but it did cause a temporary spike in hits.

    I’m glad to hear that someone else has a poultry phobia. Sometimes I buy whole roasted chickens at the grocery store because they smell so good, then I’m freaked out dealing with all the bones, especially the whole carcass when it’s picked clean.

    Once my mother tried to get me to split chicken wings and cut the tips off and I couldn’t do it. Couldn’t hack through those bones. All I could think of was cutting up a corpse. I’m such a wimp.

  21. Bob says:

    Well I guess neither one of you would make it though Sunday supper when I cook a roast chicken.

    It’s real tasty and I do follow proper food handling techniques. But during the process it looks like the Manson Family has set up shop in my kitchen.

    Mmmm Good times

  22. catsworking says:

    Hey, Bob, if you’re cooking it, I’m eating it.

    And this has nothing to do with germs (which I think is an overblown fear fostered by Clorox — otherwise, none of us would be here because our chicken-cooking grandmothers would have all died before they had a chance to reproduce). I just can’t stand touching a dead plucked chicken, inside or out. Once it’s cooked and, preferably, separated, no problem!

    Heh, heh, I’m just realizing I found a recipe for Italian herbed crockpot chicken today and was thinking I might make it this weekend, completely forgetting this conversation.

  23. Adele says:

    Roast chicken is one of my staple. I don’t love putting butter and herbs under the breast skin, but I’m not that squeamish. I wash my hands constantly, although Bob, you’re right; my grandmother was a great cook with a clean kitchen, but the if constant hand washing had really been necessary, I guess I wouldn’t be here. And the bones and the carcass — soup and stock. But I have my squeamish side, as well. I will peel and de-vein shrimp, but after I’ve done it, I don’t want to eat it. I love lobster, but I can’t bear killing them, so on those exceedingly rare occasions that I have lobster, I have it out.

  24. catsworking says:

    I wash my hands a lot while handling chicken only because I can’t stand the feel of the slime. Peeling shrimp doesn’t bother me in the least. I can eat raw oysters. Love steamed clams. But don’t serve me a fish with the head still on. Can’t hack that eye staring at me. I’ve never cooked a whole lobster, but I know they scream and wouldn’t want to be responsible for that.

    I know this is all highly hypocritical. Mentally, I have removed myself so far from where meat comes from that I can’t tell you what part of a cow any steak or roast comes from, nor what part of a pig pork products come from. So I usually get screwed buying beef. I have no idea which cuts are supposed to be tender, except for the obvious ones like filet mignon and prime rib.

  25. Bob says:

    You gals are so funny, I have no problem with killing my own food. I used to hunt, so popping a lobster into a pot of boiling water has little to no effect on me.

    As for cuts of meat, being a previous bachelor, I know the ways of the meat marinade!! Little red wine goes a long way to making meat nice and tender. Of course it helps if you don’t buy crap. But on those rare circumstances when “Chuck Blade” is all I can afford a good soak does it a world of good.

  26. MorganLF says:

    Adele, Phillipe? Framboise? Champs Elysee? Sounds romantic…

    I was surprised by the cook top too but I think he is using an induction flattop not the same as a typical electric cook top, notice how he does not use a cooking vessel but puts the food directly on it?

    As for electric ranges I have an opinion: AWFUL! You cannot do a proper roast all you get is hot meat. I HAVE to have electric in my complex so this is a thing with me, I recently switched to a Bosch convection range and its better but I still can’t broil a proper steak.

    Growing up we never had whole roast chicken my mother skeeved it too. We had pieces barbecued or baked with sausage, potatoes and onions.

    I have a thing about grilled chicken salads:I HATE THEM, YECCCCCH!!! They should be banned. There is something icky about the texture its so, so , chickenish…

    I’m with Bourdain more Pernil, Lechon and fresh ham.

  27. Adele says:

    You’re right about Ripert’s cook top, Morgan. I just saw an episode of Avec Eric last night, and he put a piece of cod directly on the flat-top. The finished dish, with a sauce of peppers, onions, I think tomatoes and thyme, looked fabulous. And the grilled chicken salad, I’m with you. Although I will grill a chicken breast cutlet at home and make my own salad. Of course, I marinate it and make my own salad dressing and put my favorite things in the salad. I make a steak and potato salad as well, which was featured in a newspaper article in the early 90’s (a friend of mine was a food stylist for the paper). And Phillipe was romantic. From my very small sample, I’d say that everything you’ve ever heard about Frenchmen and the arts of love is true.

    I’m a gas stove person, too. I just got a new one, with an excellent over and a power burner that brings huge pots of liquid to a boil in no time — and I can flame things just like the do in restaurants. It’s a good thing.

    Karen, I love raw oysters, and eating fish with the head on doesn’t bother me. But there’s something about taking out the intestinal vein of the shrimp that gives me the icks. I’m trying to get better about it, because I have a couple of seafood soup recipes that I make, and I love the way they taste — skipping the shrimp is a loss; I’d eat them with no problem in a restaurant.

    Bob, I guess you just can’t take the girl out of the middle aged woman. We’re all squeamish about something.

  28. catsworking says:

    Bob, you and Sarah Palin have more in common than you might think…

    I just came from the grocery store and I did see some of that “chuck blade” you mentioned, and it was really cheap! With bearnaise in the back of my mind, I bought a couple of rib-eye steaks and some kind of butter touted to be used “by European chefs.”

    I also bought 6 lbs. of chicken thighs (moister than breasts, at least I know that much), even though the recipe only calls for 2 1/2 lbs. of chicken. What am I going to do with all that bird? It was the smallest package they had.

  29. catsworking says:

    Morgan, I’ve been cooking electric for 22 years and it does take some getting used to. It’s looking like I’ll be getting a new stove this year, but it will also be electric because that’s all I’ve got. But I’m very leery of the flat-top ranges because Yul uses the stove as his pathway to the counter. If I tell him the electric coil is hot, he seems to understand and doesn’t jump (I know… He’s smart… what can I say?). But what will he do if I say it’s hot and there’s nothing he can see? I don’t want to find out what burnt paw pad smells like.

  30. catsworking says:

    Eric puts the meat RIGHT ON THE STOVE? How can that BE? I’m thinking clean-up. What a mess!

    First it was those stinking vacuum cleaners with no bags, and now this. Stoves with no pans. I think we’re going backward.

    If you are talking about grilled chicken Caesar salads like they serve in restaurants — a bowl of lettuce with a hockey puck laying on top — I’m with you. Can’t stand them.

    You don’t have to tell me about Frenchmen. I’ve got a movie from Netflix sitting here for New Year’s Eve with my current French heart throb, Thierry L’Hermitte, in it. Six pounds of raw chicken and Thierry. Life is good!

  31. MorganLF says:

    Well I see your point and feel Yul’s (potential) pain but those old fashioned coils blow. One thing about the flattop no mess! It cleans up ( with the proper cleaner) and buffs to perfection every time.

    I do recommend convection. Mine does both regular and convection. It has a few convection settings, roast, bake and broil. But like Adele says I can’t flame a pan ( maybe that’s a good thing).

    Donna is having a dinner party tonight and she was thinking of serving eeeek..chicken (gag) roll-ups with asparagus and cheese & prosciutto, I hope I succeeded in changing her mind.

    If there is anything I loathe more than chicken its rolled up food all that touching…

  32. catsworking says:

    Ah, the thought of never again having to scrub those pans under the coils (which never come clean enough! What IS that crap that gets on them? Surely nothing I’M eating!) makes my heart flutter.

    Would you feel any better if Donna put her chicken roll-ups on little toothpicks with fringe on them? Nah, probably not.

  33. Adele says:

    The flat top is a separate part of the stove, and it’s borrowed from professional stoves; it’s kind of like a griddle, but better, with very even (and I think potentially really high) heat. It’s designed to have the food put directly on it and is particularly good for cooking things like fish that would be too delicate to be placed on a grill.

    Morgan, I don’t mind my food touching, and prosciutto and asparagus are among my favorite foods, but I, too, have an aversion to rolled up stuff; in this case, I think it’s the cheese and the fact that unless the chicken is in a sauce, it will be really dry. I make chicken piccata with chicken breast cutlets all the time, but between the shallots, capers, lemons and wine, that’s really tangy and not at all dry.

  34. Cindy says:

    The only way I eat beef is ground. Doesn’t matter if it is rare, raw or burned to a crisp, the texture gives me the skeevs.

    I will eat/cook almost anything else. Rick Bayless inspired me to finally try tongue tacos last summer. Yummy.

    I have a fantastic stove. It has a gas cook top with an electric/convection oven and a down draft vent.

  35. catsworking says:

    Cindy, you won’t eat whole beef, but you’ll eat a tongue? Sounds like me. I like apples, but don’t care for apple pie, applesauce, cider, or anything else with apples in it.

  36. catsworking says:

    OK, I have to weigh in on this “rolled up food” matter. For Christmas Eve hors d’oeuvres I bought prosciutto rolled with mozzarella, already prepared. Seemed like a good idea, but it was lousy and tasteless and hardly anybody touched it. But it made a very nice pizza topping later.

    Ladies, you haven’t tasted “dry” until you’ve had a good old Southern ham biscuit made from salty Smithfield ham slapped on a biscuit made with water and sand. Nothing else on it. My mother always asks, “Where’s the mustard?”

    But no Southern potluck is complete without somebody proudly bringing those GD ham biscuits. Nothing worse, except those deadly green Jell-O molds mixed with fruit cocktail and mayonnaise.

  37. MorganLF says:

    Cindy I’m jealous of your stove! But skeeve meat? No skirt steak? No Brisket or short ribs? As for tongue and offal, sorry Tony but:HELL TO THE NAH!

    Adele just got back from the Italian fancy butcher/salumeria and tonight we are having chicken cutlets Milanse w/ stuffed artichokes,asparagus sauteed in evoo and tossed with balsamic marinated red onions and a lovely Stags Leap Cabernet.

  38. catsworking says:

    Morgan, you are making my mouth water. I think I will be having a steak tonight and trying my hand at bearnaise just to see if I f**k it up.

  39. Bob says:

    So how was the steak???? Did your F**kin’ Bearnaise turn out????

    Inquiring minds wanna know..

  40. catsworking says:

    Bob, yes, I did share New Year’s Eve with a steak and bearnaise. I’ll let you know how it turned out in my next Bourdain installment. Stay tuned…

  41. MorganLF says:

    MAJOR NEWS!!!
    Just went to turn on Food Network and Cablevision the cable provider in the most densely populated area of the country has a blank screen with a voice over announcing that due to Scripps network “money issues” they have pulled their programming from this cable network it spite of many, many years of association.

    Didn’t Scripps buy Travel Chanel? Is that next? I’m freaking out, no Bourdain???

    @@$@#&%$#&###@1!! Scrippps you aholes!!!!

  42. catsworking says:

    Morgan, Food Network is on here. I’ve got Verizon. Sounds like the money issues could be with Cablevision, not Scripps. Keep us posted.

  43. Adele says:

    I hope this doesn’t go to SPAM. Comcast viewers can get an early viewing of the NR Panama episode. I found it in the On Demand Menu — the Travel Channel is now in the Food and Living (or something like that) category. So Morgan, I think the issue is with Cablevision.

    I know nothing about Panama (Tony said he didn’t either), so the program was enjoyable from that angle. This was not an episode where Bourdain’s enthusiasm was infectious, but it was good to see him again; the photography was great; Panama is still not on my list of places to visit, but is more interesting than I expected, and Tony had a drink, made from a sugar cane liquor, like the Brazilian cachaca (sp.?) that looked absolutely delicious. Oh, and I predict, based on how miserable he looked in the Panamanian jungle, Tony won’t be visiting many more jungles.

  44. catsworking says:

    Adele, thanks for the heads up. I’ll have to check and see if Verizon is offering something similar, but I’m not holding my breath. Compared to Comcast, I’ve found Verizon On Demand extremely poor. It takes WEEKS for episodes to get posted, and forget about the free movies. Only a handful. The only good thing I can say about it is that switching to On Demand takes seconds, where it seemed like you could go off and make dinner waiting for Comcast to switch.

  45. MorganLF says:

    You are correct I think its a Cable vision issue. If I lose Bourdai they lose me!

  46. catsworking says:

    There was an article in today’s paper about it. Scripps wants Cablevision to pay more per subscriber per month and Cablevision is balking. They said the complaints were pouring in.

  47. Cindy says:

    This is like pulling teeth. I have finally found the air dates for 2 more new episodes of NR. Prague will air Feb 1 and Feb 8 will be the Hudson Valley episode with Michael Ruhlman.
    Is there a reason Travel Channel isn’t posting this information? I have had to go to other web sites to find this partial list.

  48. catsworking says:

    You’re right, Cindy. There seems to be no reason for the secrecy, unless they’re still unsure what order they’ll air the episodes in. I imagine Wendy from Room214 will be checking in this week, but Adele has already seen the Panama episode on Comcast.

  49. Wendy says:

    Cindy – We will be updating the show page on TravelChannel.com soon with more information on upcoming episodes. I would check back next week!

  50. catsworking says:

    Hi, Wendy! Cindy’s our resident researcher, so she’s always digging for more. Thanks for the heads up. I assume Bourdain will resume blogging, too, when the new season ramps up. We’re counting down the days!

  51. MorganLF says:

    There is a big pissing contest between Cablevision and Scripps. They are running ads with Bobby Flay saying it is Cablevision’s fault please call this number to show support.

    Cablevision is calling Scripps childish for pulling the channels during negotiations, stating it is unfair and they are charging more than triple what other carriers pay. They are running their own adds with a phone number to call to support THEM.

    This is major shyte!

Leave a Reply

