Cats Working & Bourdain: Together Again

By Karen

Sort of. Anthony Bourdain and I will be in the same room again on November 11. This time on Pennsylvania Avenue, where Tony is co-hosting the Capital Food Fight to benefit the DC Central Kitchen.

Reader MorganLF put me up to it. She’ll be there, too, as well as reader Cindy. You’re invited to join us.

Tickets are $150 until October 9, when they go up to $175. However, you can deduct all but $50 as a charitable donation. Fifty local restaurants will be on hand to serve their signature dishes while chefs battle on stage.

Morgan found a cheap hotel called the Harrington within walking distance of the venue. “Cheap” means $99 for an inside single room the hotel itself describes on its Web site as being little better than a cell with running water. But it’s a bed in the right spot, near the Metro and Union Station.

DC traffic on Veterans’ Day could be a disaster, so I’m taking my first train ride ever on Amtrak for only $51 round trip. To avoid the stress of driving on I-95, it’s a real bargain.

Senator John Kerry (D-Mass.) is an honorary co-chair of the event, so he might show up. Judging the chefs’ performance will be Bourdain’s bud, Eric Ripert, third-place winner of last season’s Top Chef, Carla Hall, and Ted Allen.

Morgan and I have our fingers crossed that Ottavia Bourdain will be there.

Since I’m not a foodie, I hope I don’t embarrass myself, but I guess it’s as good a place as any to get my culinary feet wet. And maybe I’ll cross paths with Tony again.

16 Responses to Cats Working & Bourdain: Together Again

  1. Bob says:

    If you do happen to cross paths with Tony make sure you mention your close personal friend and avid watcher of the show. Who just happens to live in a very food friendly town.. Winnipeg. 🙂

  2. catsworking says:

    Bob, maybe you should send me a Winnipeg T-shirt. I’ll wear it wet. In November. THAT should get his attention! 😉

  3. Ann Nix says:

    Catsworking–

    Thanks for the shout out about the Capital Food Fight. I’m the director for the event and I love seeing the word get around.

    Other food celebs for the Food Fight include Eric Ripert, Ted Allen, Michael Mina and Carla Hall. We’re really excited about it and hope y’all will join us there!

    Traffic in downtown DC will be a breeze on the 11th–city and federal offices are closed and downtown will be pretty empty. Don’t know about the drive down.

  4. Bob says:

    What size should I get it in???

  5. catsworking says:

    Ann, nice to hear from you. Thanks for the traffic tip. If I’d known that, I might have driven up (from Richmond), but now I’ve got my first train ride booked, so I guess I’ll stick with that plan and avoid the hassle of 95, because coming back the next day will be business as usual and it’s usually gridlock in northern Virginia.

    Cats Working readers are also fans of Eric Ripert and Top Chef, so we’re excited about the line-up!

  6. catsworking says:

    Ha, ha, Bob. Think I’m going to broadcast that HERE?

  7. MorganLF says:

    Well its all set and needless to say, I’m psyched. Meeting Karen and hopefully some others in the crew will an added bonus. Karen thanks for the tip on the tax write-off.

    I don’t think you have to be a foodie, it looks like there will be lots of tasty bites and drinks but with all the oogle-eyeing going on think we’ll remember to eat?

    I’m surely hoping we meet Ottavia.

    I’m working on my nonchalant attitude, but I am getting the horrors!

    I just picture turning a corner, running smack into Tony, Eric and Jose hoisting a few and suddenly my wacky ankle (that I fractured last winter) gives out causing me to careen most ungraciously into the nearest solid object. All red hair flying tablecloths and cutlery…disgrazia!!

    Karen I just may rent a wheelchair and have you ferry me about. Not a bad idea at least we’ll get to cut the lines!

  8. Jessica says:

    …psssssttt…..
    Arianne will have a little brother……

  9. catsworking says:

    Jessica, I’m letting your comment through with the caveat that it is an unfounded rumor, and I challenge you to COME BACK and TELL US WHAT YOU KNOW and HOW YOU KNOW IT.

  10. Cindy says:

    Heads up folks. Eric Ripert’s new program premieres this weekend on PBS. “Avec Eric” is on at 1:00 pm Sunday on WETA in this area.

    I will check out the area and find a good meeting place for us for the food fight.

  11. MorganLF says:

    Well, Jessica we have speculated on the same. Wouldn’t that be something! Keep us posted.

    Cindy I’ll be looking for the show and thanks for doing the research I look forward to meeting up!

  12. Adele says:

    I knew Eric Ripert was doing a show for PBS; I didn’t realize it was coming on this soon. Thanks for the info, Cindy. Of course I’ll be so charmed by his accent I may not learn any cooking hints.

    Still pondering how to afford the Food Fight.

  13. catsworking says:

    Adele, check this list to see when Ripert’s new show comes on in your area. It’s coming on in Richmond at 1pm on Saturday afternoons starting Sept. 19. A hard time for me to catch it.

    http://aveceric.com/stationguide

    There’s also a clip from the show on the site. Eric Ripert is so nice, he’s like the anti-Bourdain.

  14. Tammy says:

    If ANYONE knows where I can get just one ticket for this event I would be eternally grateful!!!! I just found out about the event, and tried the web site but they are sold out!!! Spoke to one of the people working in the event and was told there is nothing they can do! :(((( I am the biggest Tony Bourdain fan EVERRRR!!!! and was counting on seeing him at least once! :((
    so if anyone can help PLEASE let me know!!!

  15. catsworking says:

    Welcome, Tammy! I hadn’t heard that the Food Fight is sold out. That’s great news for them. I don’t know where you can get a ticket, but maybe someone else will check in with some ideas. Never fear. Bourdain has been to Washington several times in the past year or so. If he has a new book coming out next year (and I think he does), maybe he’ll do a book signing there and you’ll get to see him. He also has said that he plans to make 40 personal appearances in 2010, so maybe one of them will be within your range.

  16. Tammy says:

    THANKS!! ANYWAYS, HERE’S TO HOPING CATSWORKING! 🙂

Leave a Reply

