Anthony Bourdain Visits Marlboro Country – Smokeless

By Karen

While still blissfully unaware of the brutal flak in store for him after his domestic travels this season (except, notably, from Detroit), Anthony Bourdain headed to Montana for this week’s new installment of No Reservations.

Champagne Living provides the full episode summary from Ingrid at Room214, as well as the video promo.

Tony’s latest blog entry reveals he’s in recovery from a heady, yet harrowing, visit to Panama, which will air next season. It appears that our Tony has bid adieu to summer vacation and is hard at work again.

Cats Working reader Cindy has been telling us about the sale of the Travel Channel, but here’s some scoop from the New York Times. Every article about the deal is illustrated with Bourdain’s photo because the LA Times reports that NR draws 900,000 viewers, where TC’s prime-time audience typically runs about 485,000. Tony’s quite a catch, but we already knew that.

I’ve got a bone to pick with Travel Channel myself. It’s like they know I missed the Street Food episode because their schedule is packed with reruns of Greece and French Polynesia and everything but, just to spite me.

Inspired writing about Bourdain was lacking in the blogosphere last week, but I dug up a few tidbits…

Jeff Houck at The Stew posted an open letter inviting Tony to Tampa, since he’s making an appearance in the neighborhood in January. Winnipeg Bob, take notes.

A View from the Kitchen ran a poll on who would be most welcome back to Cleveland, and Bourdain won in a landslide over Rachael Ray and Guy Fieri — but, in fairness, the electorate consisted of only 26 voters.

Voodoo Kitchen posted a weird, one-question interview with Bourdain about the future of restaurants. Didn’t reveal if he actually talked to Tony or did a copy-and-paste job.

I watched the season premier of Top Chef last week and, without the prospect of Bourdain dropping by to judge this season, I couldn’t bring myself to care about anyone in that personality-free mob of 17 contestants. How about you guys?

24 Responses to Anthony Bourdain Visits Marlboro Country – Smokeless

  1. Adele says:

    Karen, I’m with you on Top Chef, although I’ll probably watch it from time to time, just to see if there are any talented chefs. It’s a show that benefited from Bourdain’s snark, and since seeing that Burger King commercial, I can’t bear to watch Padma.

  2. catsworking says:

    I may tune in to Top Chef again once they get it down to a reasonable number. Padma was shilling for Hardee’s/Carl’s Thickburger. If it had been BK, shey’d probably have been naked in bed with the King himself.

    I had a hard time taking her seriously before, but now that she’s thrown her lot to junk food, it’s impossible. And the icing on the cake is that she’s sharing an Emmy nomination with Colicchio as best host. What were they thinking?

  3. Bob says:

    Looking forward to seeing the Panama episode, to be honest I think Travel Channel must be running out of money or something, they seem to be sending Tony to a lot of Continental US locals.

    As for me writing an open letter to “MR.ahem… Bourdain” I have been doing just that for GEEZE how long has it been now that I have been sucking bandwidth from your blog?????

    I think that if Tony or Ottavia actually read this as we suspect they do that he is well versed already in the Winnipeg Mindset albeit from my Addled Brain..

    Honestly the last thing I would do now is Kiss His Ass to come here, (for one thing he actually was here once already on book tour) In Winter if my mind is not playing tricks on me??? If I missed my chance to be his drinking buddy then it was only because I was trying to get laid that night… Successfully 🙂

    So I think that to beg would be to cheapen any attempt to get him here, I could go on about Michael Ono of Chef of the Year Fame. But Tony would know that Michael is already gone to Hong Kong anyways..

    I could go on about the Restaurant that Probably contributed to John Candy’s Death, Alica’s is SOOO Yummy that John used to order perogies and Cabbage Rolls on his Movie Locations.

    I could go on about our small but very vibrant Chinatown, and the palaces of Dim Sum that dwell within…or the cozy local blues bars where live music is still the rule not the exception.. But I don’t want to come off looking like a Sycophantic Tool.

    Naa I can’t see my self writing an open letter to Tony, he knows where I am just fine I figure.

  4. catsworking says:

    Bob, if anybody in the Bourdain house is reading Cats Working, I think it’s Ottavia. She’s the one who watches Tony’s back while he’s out on the road.

    I agree that Season 5 of No Res has been very US-centric, and Travel Channel IS on the block, so maybe it was a money thing. On the other hand, Tony has caught so much grief for his “superficial” visits to most of the places he went, maybe he’s sick of domestic ingrates because Season 6 is mostly foreign locales, I think. Or maybe he wanted to stay closer to home while Ariane is so young.

    I think now is your prime time to get Winnipeg on his list. Isn’t Montreal the only Canadian show he’s ever done? Winnipeg, if only for its name, should be exotic enough to lure him.

    I’m still pulling for you, Bob. You sound like you know your way around and could be a good fixer. Let’s work on our “plan.” I sent you a message through Facebook earlier on how we might do it.

  5. boscodagama says:

    Screw Winterpeg. He should do Sudbury & Thunder Bay, eh.

  6. Bob says:

    Bosco he already did a Rust Belt episode, I doubt that he wants to do a “Rust Belt Part 2… Now with GST”

  7. MorganLF says:

    Cats & Folks,

    Big news….guess going to the Capitol Food Fight in DC? You know the one hosted by Anthony Bourdain and Jose Andres, with all sorts of political co chairs like John Kerry oh and did I mention the judges, Ted Allen (of Top Chef & Queer Eye fame)…and ….ERIC RIPERT???

    Bourdain & Ripert at one venue (sigh!) and a mingling venue at that. I can barely contain myself.

    I’m taking the choo choo to DC, booked a hotel and wrote my Senator (who is also a co-chair) for passes for the White House tour. I already reserved my tour of the Capitol. The tickets are steep but take a look at the set up, worth it Food, drink, Bourdain, Ripert (!)

    http://www.capitalfoodfight.org/

    Anyway it’s November 11. It would be really cool if some of the Cat’s gang could show up too, anyone game?

  8. MorganLF says:

    I am the worst typist!!! Meant to day guess “who” is going.

  9. catsworking says:

    Morgan, you are tempting me! Could it be a sign from above that the cut-off for the cheaper ticket is my birthday? And DC is only a few hours from here. Hmmm… I’m going to have to give this some serious consideration. Where will you be staying? The traffic up there makes an overnight stay definitely seem worthwhile.

  10. MorganLF says:

    There is a travelers hotel nearby, very basic & cheap but the location is flawless. I’ll email you the details.

    It is 2 blocks from the event and 4 blocks from the White House, 8 from the Capitol and a mile from Union station. No car needed.

    Bourdain & Ripert…..not to mention all the other politicos and celebs.

  11. Cindy says:

    When I first suggested it, my husband readily agreed to go. So we have had our tickets since they first went on sale.

    Don’t forget that this is right by a Metro station (green/yellow lines), so you could get a hotel in VA or MD.

    Another judge is Carla Hall, a finalist in “Top Chef” last year.

  12. Adele says:

    Karen, I think you should go. What a great birthday present to yourself. I must admit, I find the event very tempting — not only Bourdain and Ripert, but you and Morgan in one place, but since all my part-time social work gigs have dried up, I don’t see a trip in my near horizon, so I’ll probably have to live vicariously, but I am going to play around with budgets and see if there’s a chance in hell that I could make it to DC, a place I’ve always liked visiting.

  13. catsworking says:

    I loved Carla last season! I’ve got to do some homework on this…

  14. Adele says:

    And Carla, too. I loved her on Top Chef as well; I almost cried when she messed up at the finale. D.C.’s Central Kitchen is also a very worthy cause; as far as I know, we have nothing exactly like it in Chicago, otherwise it’s a place where I’d volunteer. I’m not surprised that Bourdain is the co-chair; the stories of the people, who are learning to cook and turn their lives around would appeal to him in the same way The Wire Does.

    Off subject, Karen, don’t forget about this week’s Mad Men — a fabulous episode. I’m still picturing some of the scenes.

  15. catsworking says:

    Adele, I remembered to tape Mad Men last night, so I hope it worked.

  16. MorganLF says:

    Adele,
    Please try it would be great fun for the crew to meet. Karen just emailed me she’s in and bought her tix. Cindy we will have to designate a meeting place and meet up.

    Jose Andres too, I watch his show religiously and a sponsor is Senator John Kerry someone I would not mind running into!

    Wow this is going to be fun Hey Bob what about it? Catsworking Bourdaniacs take the Capital!

    Karen looking forward to getting together!

  17. Bob says:

    Would Love to storm the US Capitol.. Unfortunately, till I win some big money its not going to happen just quite this year…:(

    Have fun without me..This time

  18. Michelle says:

    And Carla, too. I loved her on Top Chef as well; I almost cried when she messed up at the finale. D.C.'s Central Kitchen is also a very worthy cause; as far as I know, we have nothing exactly like it in Chicago, otherwise it's a place where I'd volunteer. I'm not surprised that Bourdain is the co-chair; the stories of the people, who are learning to cook and turn their lives around would appeal to him in the same way The Wire Does.

    Off subject, Karen, don't forget about this week's Mad Men — a fabulous episode. I'm still picturing some of the scenes.;. All the best!!

  19. Cindy says:

    Be sure to watch “Top Chef” tonight. Mike Isabella is one of the chefs actually battling in the food fight. Bryan Voltaggio(one of the brothers) owns Volt, which is a participating restaurant.

  20. Adele says:

    Morgan and Karen, I’m really going to try to figure out a way to get to DC. I’d have to say I’m not in the best financial place now, but if airfares are cheap enough, and my dental insurance comes through to pay some of the bills I’ve acrued, I might be able to work this out. It would be a hoot. I’ll keep you posted. Bob, if I win some big money, you’re in.

  21. catsworking says:

    Adele, I was just able to get a $51 round trip ticket on Amtrak to DC. Without the traffic and parking hassles, it’s a deal. And Morgan found this fleabag hotel practically next door to the venue. Room for one with no view and no closet – $99 + tax.

    If you want details, let me know.

  22. Adele says:

    I never thought of Amtrak, although from Chicago, it probably wouldn’t be much less than flying. But $99 a night is a deal. I’m going to keep fooling around with airfares and see what I can do. I’ll be in touch.

  23. Cindy says:

    Adele-
    Check out Southwest Airlines. They have been having a fantastic sale, $59 or $99 one way almost everywhere. If you fly into National Airport, it has a Metro station of its own (do I sound like a shill for Metro?).
    Also check out American, they also have been having fare sales.

  24. MorganLF says:

    Adele I hope it works out. It will be a great time not the least of which is getting to meet the Cats gang. Of course there is Tony and Eric ( a particular fave of yours as I recall).

Leave a Reply

