Big Cat Makes the Big Time

By Cole

As a long-time shelter cat who recently lucked into this cushy gig at Cats Working, I relish rescue tails tales with happy endings, and Pat the Cat is one. But Pat isn’t your typical shelter cat. He’s a jaguar.

Pat was born in Belize 8 to 11 years ago. His ‘hood kept shrinking, thanks to human development, until Pat’s only hope for survival was to become a cattle-rustler.

It wasn’t long before the humans noticed their herds dwindling, so they captured Pat and would have made him into a rug, but they noticed he had a certain je ne sais quoi and seemed friendly, in spite of everything. So they gave him to a sanctuary where he was further tamed and even had a song written about him.

Pat's a real hunk of cat.

Pat's a real hunk of cat.

In March 2008, he emigrated to the Milwaukee County Zoo and is now a worldwide celebrity.

The jaguar is the largest cat in the Western Hemisphere, and only 44 live in North American zoos. Only 9 of those were born in the wild, so inbreeding is a problem. Pat’s genes are welcome because he’s got no family here. Since jags live to be about 20, Pat’s considered a teenager and his new owners plan to make him the feline Hugh Hefner.

Here’s some video of Pat at the zoo, where he saw cheetahs and lions for the first time. There’s also a potential girlfriend named Stella. But if sparks don’t fly with Stella, Pat will be loaned to other zoos to party with loose females.

Here’s another video of Pat and Stella. She’s a real looker.

Since Pat has become the poster boy for preserving jaguars, he’s spawned merchandising that includes jaguar-themed jewelry and cookies.

So that’s another happy cat tale. Me and Pat. From the skids to success.

8 Responses to Big Cat Makes the Big Time

  1. Cindy says:

    FYI-
    MSNBC had a story on “no kill” shelters yesterday and Richmond was front and center in the story.

  2. catsworking says:

    Luckily, I ended up at the Richmond Animal League, which has always been no-kill, or I’d have been history 3 years ago. I believe the Richmond SPCA has also gone no-kill, and we have another shelter called Second Chance somewhere around here that’s what its name implies.

    Yul and Adele also came from RAL. I have to say they do a really good job with cats, although I was never really able to get the white fur on my toes completely white until I came here and started living on carpet instead of linoleum.

  3. Adele says:

    Cole, an excellent story, and I’m so glad both you and Pat have found your happy endings. And you’re right, both Pat and Stella are real lookers. I’ll bet their babies would be adorable. I think one day during the summer, I’ll go pick up my sister, who lives near the Wisconsin border, and we’ll go to Milwaukee to visit Pat. If that works out, I’ll send you some on the scene pictures.

  4. catsworking says:

    Thank you, Adele!

    Live pictures of Pat would be super! But check before you go to make sure Pat is there, and not off partying with some lady jags at another zoo. I hope Stella doesn’t foolishly let him slip through her paws. He looks like a real catch to me, and I’m a guy.

  5. Zappa says:

    Hi Adele!
    I think it’s so cool that Karen lets you write on the Computer-I have to sneak on when the Human is away!

    I’m an adopted kitty. My mom get me when I was only 5 weeks old. I was sooo tiny,but you wouldn’t believe how big and pretty I am now. The nice Adoption Humans at Petsmart gave me a home until my mom found me.

    Every kitty deserve a warm, loving home to destroy.

    Your biggest fan

    Zappa

  6. Zappa says:

    Hi Cole!!

    Iam so sorry, I got distracted by the birds on the balcony!! I gave Adele credit for this story yet now I see your byline. Forgive me. You are all excellent writers!
    Zappa

  7. catsworking says:

    Cole here. No problem, Zappa. We all read each other’s posts and sometimes jump in with comments. I’m still learning the ropes of blogging, so everybody’s looking over my shoulder. It is cool that Karen lets us use her computer, and even her laptop, whenever we like. She doesn’t think cats should stay barefoot and stupid, and keeping this blog going with all her other writing work would be too much for her to do alone.

    It’s nice to know we’ve got some cat readers, too, even if you do have to be sneaky to get online.

  8. Harry Nagel says:

    I could tell pat was thinking “What am I doing here?” Sorry Milwaukee…The only big cat you need is the emblem on the car

Leave a Reply

