Where’s Anthony Bourdain?

By Karen

Finding no personal appearances nor encounters on the road for No Reservations Season 6, I hope the absence of fresh Bourdain sightings signals Tony is enjoying some R&R with the family.

But I found some new audio. Sound Opinions in Chicago interviewed Bourdain on June 26 on the relationship between food and music. Bourdain’s featured during minutes 11-28.

On Sunday, July 12, at 10 a.m., the Travel Channel begins a non-stop marathon of No Reservations, leading up to a new episode at 10 p.m. on Monday, July 13, in Chile. He’s in Australia on July 20, and the Rust Belt on July 27 with Zamir, but that’s all I could find. No matter how I searched it, the TC schedule came up blank beyond that.

Seasons of Discontent recently honored Bourdain by naming him the blog’s Honorary Drinker of the Weekend.

Aspiring food writer Reagen Anderes, blogging for the Dallas Morning News, has been planning a fantasy No Res visit for Tony to Dallas, apparently unaware he’s already done Tex/Mex and Southwest episodes.

Bourdain slipped off the radar to drop by Livingston, Montana, to visit poet and novelist Jim Harrison some time “earlier this summer.” They dined on elk, antelope, and dove, according to the Wall Street Journal. Bourdain’s mentioned near the end of the article, and Mario Batali calls Harrison’s place “gastronomic heaven.”

26 Responses to Where’s Anthony Bourdain?

  1. Bob says:

    I really hope that Tony is resting up, I think that he probably needs a break. I know I would with his schedule. Good score on the Radio Interview, nice to hear him talk about stuff he likes instead of the rehashed same ol same ol that seems to be his “Normal” Interview these days.

    On that topic here is the Spin piece that he wrote that is eluded to in the piece.
    http://www.spin.com/articles/eat-beat

    Well I am back to work part weeks now…Really didn’t realize that I had lost as much mussel mass in my left leg… Not to sound sucked out or whiney.
    But my right leg is nice and buff, “Bikers Legs” and my left is like an old man leg. Kinda “Squishy”!?!

    I am currently working day on, day off. But off to the Dr today to see whats what. I get home after my shift now and just collapse.

    Bourdain For President
    Bob aka Mr Gimpy

  2. Cindy says:

    DON’T go to the TV schedule.
    Instead go to the home page for No Res. On the left are listings for the site (black area). The top one is SHOW INFO and the 5th item under this is “episodes”.
    Click on this and you will find a listing of the new season. They do like to make us work for any info.

  3. catsworking says:

    Cindy, well DUH! Thanks for pointing me in the right direction.

    TEN NEW EPISODES coming up. We’ve hit pay dirt!

    Travel Channel really needs to do something about that dorky, useless schedule. If the info is out there, it should be where people would look.

    Bob, your leg turned into a shellfish while you were out on leave? And your new girlfriend finds that attractive? I had to laugh at your “mussel mass.”

    Bourdain for President. That’s a concept. If it weren’t such a lousy job with everyone wanting a piece of you, I’d love to see it happen.

  4. Cindy says:

    http://www.missoulian.com/articles/2009/06/28/bnews/br52.txt
    This is a link to another stop on the No Res trip to Montana.

    I always thought Tony would enjoy the food of the Texas State Fair in Dallas. This is where they develop/test the deep fried goodies for all the state fairs. I lived in the Dallas-Ft Worth area most of my life and the state fair was always a “must”.

  5. catsworking says:

    Thanks for the link, Cindy (and thank you for your link, too, Bob). Looks like the Montana trip must be part of the Rockies episode airing August 24.

    I agree with you that Tony would probably get a kick out of state fair food. At the Virginia State Fair, they’ve been serving things like deep-fried Snickers, Oreos, and Coke. Not sure how they deep-fry Coke. I haven’t been to the fair in years, and now they’re planning to move it out of Richmond to some field in the middle of nowhere that will be a day trip just to reach. Probably a stupid move.

  6. Bob says:

    Well I must admit that the Mussel Mass was a food centric typo… Just who I am I guess.. I kinda get Peeved when my knives don’t get put away properly.

    So if Dar gets me being a little Shellfish so be it.

    I have been keeping busy watching the new season of Top Gear on BBC, so Bourdain gets a grace period.

    On that post of yours though Karen, Damm good score.
    Hard to find an interview so candid and relaxed, just shooting the shit as it were.

    Tony Come to Winnipeg.
    Bob

  7. catsworking says:

    Bob, I thought the interview was interesting because it sounded like he was right there in the studio, which put him in Chicago the day after his birthday. And he seemed predictably unfazed about Michael Jackson dying on his birthday. I don’t think it even came up in the conversation with him. Somehow, I don’t see Bourdain being a big fan.

  8. Bob says:

    Don’t want to junk up your board but I don’t see him being a fan at all, if anything it was a mosquito in his ear as the years went by….

    I am more bitter than sweet about MJ, I have to take Gene Simmon’s side and ask those that were wronged as kids to come forth.. Kinda hard to give more than a passing Hmmph for a guy that touched little Boys..

    It would take all the “Jesus Juice” the world for me to even pass out to that notion, let alone think of it.

  9. catsworking says:

    Bob, I don’t think the pedophilia was ever a clear-cut issue with MJ. Like Yul said, MJ was trying to recapture his childhood in a man’s body. If you saw this daughter Paris at the memorial yesterday and how devastated she was to lose him, you have to believe that he only had children’s best interests in mind. I watched him in several interviews, and I never got any creepy sexual vibes off the guy. Sure, he looked weird and his life was a circus, but in his heart, I think he remained an innocent soul.

    That said, his music went in one ear and out the other. As they’ve been playing his songs on the radio non-stop, I keep thinking, “Oh, THAT was Michael Jackson?”

  10. Adele says:

    Chicago checking in. That Sound Opinions interview is actually from last fall, and it was rerun last week. One of the rock critics is a big Bourdain fan.

    I think we’ll never really know about Michael Jackson. Being no stranger to pedophiles during my 30+ years toiling in the child abuse and neglect field, I can say that Michael’s early life and apparent self-hatred always made me wonder if he was sexually abused or humiliated in some way. That’s often, but not always, a set up for becoming a pedophile in adult life. But the vibe I always got from him was pretty asexual — as I said, we’ll never know. I never worried about his own kids, though. And I did find his daughter’s little speech absolutely heart-wrenching. I just hope there’s not a circus involving the kids, now.

  11. Adele says:

    P.S. Bob, sorry to hear that the leg is slow in bouncing back. Hope it doesn’t cause you to flounder too much.

  12. catsworking says:

    Adele, thanks for putting that interview in the timeline. Bourdain being in Chicago on the 26th blew my theory about him being on vacation. 😉

    Once they finally put Jackson’s body to rest — somewhere — I think stories will start pouring out of the woodwork. Maybe the mother of Blanket will surface. The boys who accused him of molestation maybe will tell the truth since there’s no longer any money in it for them.

    Somewhere this week I heard that Jackson always said his father beat him and called him ugly. That could explain his zeal to change his appearance.

    I think “asexual” describes him to a T.

    I don’t think Brooke Shields had any good reason to lie, and her eulogy practically had me in tears. I think she knew him as he really was. Someone with a huge streak of child that never went away.

    I think Debbie Rowe will drop out of sight again. She’s won’t want to put herself in a fishbowl over kids who are virtual strangers to her, having the paparazzi constantly trailing them. And she risks forcing Blanket to be separated from the other 2, which wouldn’t be good for anybody. There’s no way she could come out of it looking good.

  13. missedconceptions says:

    Are you on Facebook? They just posted some pictures of AB in Chile from this upcoming season on the AB NR page.

  14. missedconceptions says:

    I assume you all know what those abbreviations mean!

  15. catsworking says:

    Thanks for the tip, Missed! Yup, we sometimes use AB for Bourdain and NR for No Res, so you’re speaking our language.

    I’m on Facebook, but as little as possible. AB got me to set up a page because it seemed the only way to register as a fan and access his stuff.

  16. Bob says:

    Thanks for all of the good wishes with my leg. I feel like the catch of the day!!!

    Friday is on the horizon, and holidays in a few weeks!!

  17. MorganLF says:

    May I weigh in? MJ was an addict, and as Bourdain has said many times , he (and I) consider it a weakness of character. Let’s not forget he hired multiple quack enablers who wanted to be associated with celebrity. What 50 year old man weighs 125 pounds???

    He was a creepy drugged up, veins tracked Junkie!!!! I have more DNA in common with his “children” than he did!

    His parents should be forcibly separated from those kids clearly they are culpable forwhat he became, but MJ himself is responsible for his creepy young boy drugged up inappropriate behavior.

    He was born a black man and died a white woman. His self loathing should not be elevated to icon status. He LOATHED his race and I am amazed that he has suddenly become a black icon. This was a troubled man who once had a spark of talent, and squandered it.

  18. catsworking says:

    Gee, Morgan, tell us how you REALLY feel about Michael Jackson. I agree with most of what you said, particularly the part about him being “born a black man and dying a black woman.” Well put.

    And I do find it VERY strange how suddenly everyone is devastated by his death when he was persona non grata after getting acquitted on that last molestation rap and felt he had to live in Dubai to recover from it.

    Apparently, his mother wasn’t a monster (though probably operating under orders from his father, who reputedly was), because MJ always had a good relationship with her. But I think his sisters would be better guardians of his children, and I believe his mother is feeling her age and will let MJ’s younger sibs play a big role in raising the kids.

    I definitely don’t think Debbie Rowe should get them. I just read that the kids themselves don’t even know she’s their mother. And poor Blanket! He has no clue about anything.

    Paris was obviously distraught at the memorial and thought she had a great father, so MJ couldn’t have been all bad. What I fault him for on fatherhood was thinking he’d live forever, and his kids would never have to unravel the mysteries of their true parentage. They’ll all probably end up in therapy for years. And God only knows what kind of men Paris will be attracted to when she grows up.

    I watched MJ closely in interviews, and though he had a lot of off-base ideas and surrounded himself with enablers for them, I always detected a childlike innocence in him. That doesn’t excuse his behavior, but it explains how totally messed up his whole life must have been. Unfortunately, he had the money to pursue every crazy whim.

    What’s giving me the willies right now is that they’ve still got him on ice at Forest Lawn a MONTH later. Sheesh! Cremate him, or inter him at Neverland where he belongs, and let him finally rest in peace.

  19. Adele says:

    Hey Morgan, good to hear from you. And Karen, in all the Michael Jackson coverage, I missed the fact that he’s still in the fridge at Forest Lawn. Yeccch! Katherine Jackson is a devout Jehovah’s Witness, and the Witnesses are pretty strongly against divorce. She’s described as being estranged from Joe Jackson, who, at least, is too old to be the monster that most agree he was. Unfortunately for Michaels’ kids, the Jacksons are the only family they’ve known, so all we can do is hope that one of the saner members is responsible for their care. I read or heard somewhere that there was a nanny with the kids 24-7, so there was someone else, who could look after them, as opposed to poorer junkies’ kids, who basically raise themselves. If I were betting on this, I’d say that Paris is going to turn out better than her brothers, who have the whammy of the f^&#ed up same sex parent to overcome. Morgan, Salon.com said, “Michael Jackson did not become a white man; he became a Eurasian woman.”

  20. catsworking says:

    Adele, I just heard in the past day or so that MJ is still above ground. You’re right about the nanny. I can’t remember her name, but she was a prime caretaker of the kids. MJ fired her a few months ago, but Katherine Jackson has rehired her, so I think she’s with the kids again. That’s got to help.

    They say poor Paris just sits in her room and writes letters to her father. It sounds like something he might have done.

    You know, the kids I’d really like to see interviewed are OJ Simpson’s. They’re adults now, and I wonder how they turned out, particularly now that Dad is back in the slammer.

  21. Bob says:

    Adios Amigos… Headed west tomorrow. Will miss two weeks of Bourdain…Oh the shame of it all… Maybe I will run into him out west..

    Stranger things Have Happened.. Keep the fort warm.
    Bob

  22. catsworking says:

    Oh, Bob, you are going to miss the Rust Belt episode featuring Zamir that’s coming up. I have a feeling it will be one of the highlights of the season.

    Have a safe trip!

  23. Adele says:

    Have a great holiday, Bob, and be careful with that leg. Karen, O.J.’s kids — wasn’t the daughter named Sydney? I can’t remember the son’s name,but this could cause some googling on my part.

  24. catsworking says:

    I want to say OJ’s kids are Sydney and Justin, but I’m not 100% sure.

  25. MorganLF says:

    Hi guys,

    OJ’s kids are understandably in a tough place but to their credit we have not really heard anything negative about them, thanks I am sure, to Nicole’s family.

    OJ was a menace and a psychotic and it really upset me when he became a lightning rod for black and white relations, how ANYONE could support that narcissistic murderer who’s self absorption convinced him of the infallibility of his actions, is wayyy beyond me!

    Thank god that we have Obama to move that dialogue along.

    And those Jackson kids…I am speechless that a so called medical professional would support the engineering of children for that…drugged out freak!!

    It’s our fault that we do ANYTHING for a brush with celebrity.

    Tell me honestly if that powdered Geisha showed up at your door would you let your kid go sleep at his house? What cabal of “doctors” perpetuated that transformation? Are there no ethics or consequences?

    His parents must be really evil greedy people especially his exploiting back-country speaking old satyr of a father, who was so broken-up with grief that a mere few days after the death he was gadding about at some awards show with Janet and taking meetings with Al Sharpton! Nuff said!

    That memorial, the whole thing was farcical and grossly weird. All those celebrities singing to a gold casket..ewww and at the end the clearly orchestrated comments of Paris faux sobbing while her “Aunts” jockeyed for camera position was REVOLTING!!!

    Those kids have never been to school! Michael “home” schooled them, and who schooled him? His diction was that of a poor uneducated person pronouncing bed as “bet” and other such bad habits.

    Those kids need to be taken away and not be allowed as pawns for the bankrupt elder Jackson’s to leverage money from the estate. For my money his sister Rebbie should probably be considered, but face it she is not blood related to those kids so how much will she or any of them care for these kids if the money runs out?

    Well time to jump off my soap box, hope everyone is cool!

  26. catsworking says:

    I watched some of the Jackson memorial service, and I wondered if he was really in the casket. It didn’t seem likely, particularly since everybody expected the fans to go nuts. And this is gross, but I was wondering if the people up on the stage could SMELL him, if he really was there. I couldn’t help remembering the funeral of Pope John Paul, how after about 10 days, he was looking kind of “turned” and the cameras stopped going in close on the body.

    Jackson had been dead about 2 weeks and he was already a bag of bones to begin with. He couldn’t have been looking too good.

    The one who really got to me was Brooke Shields. She seemed to have genuine affection for MJ, and she was obviously very upset he was gone. Say what you will about him being a freak, but he did have a good side that he only showed to certain people and his kids.

    But you’re right about those who exploited his weirdness for their own agendas. The plastic surgeons, the surrogates. In their own ways, they were creepier than he was.

Leave a Reply

