Happy Birthday, Mr. Bourdain

By Karen

It’s a good thing Anthony Bourdain quit smoking because he’s got 53 candles to blow out today. We’ll be getting even more relief from the heat soon with new episodes of No Reservations beginning July 13 in Chile.

Bourdain-NYWineAndFoodFest

On July 27, watch for Bourdain’s much-anticipated journey to the “Rust Belt” of Baltimore, Detroit, and Buffalo with his pal Zamir. I’ve been renting The Wire from Netflix to get up to speed on Tony’s favorite show so I can fully appreciate his reaction to Baltimore.

The Travel Channel is playing coy about the air dates of the other new episodes. Maybe Ingrid from Room241 will check in soon and give us some scoop.

Cats Working reader UrbanJoanna sent a link to another great photo of lovebirds Tony and Ottavia. Her effortless chic is so Sex and the City.

Time magazine just dubbed the culinary tell-all genre Bourdain’s Kitchen Confidential inspired as “Chef Lit.”

Culture in Indonesia, who’s trying to learn food writing, compares My Life in France by Julia Child to A Cook’s Tour by Bourdain and reaches an astoundingly off-base conclusion about Tony’s attitude toward food.

Thanks to Bourdain, I just got sucked in to Facebook while innocently trying to get a handle on his upcoming personal appearances. I’m in way deeper than I ever intended, hearing from long-lost cousins I couldn’t pick out of a lineup. I’m even registered like a common loony as one of Bourdain’s fans. Oh, the shame!

But since I’ve yet to figure out how Facebook works, none of it is doing me any good. Somebody out there please give it to me straight: Is Facebook an infuriating maze of poorly designed and hard-to-find features, or am I going senile?

7 Responses to Happy Birthday, Mr. Bourdain

  1. Cindy says:

    Go to NR on travel channel web site. In the upper left corner click on episodes. It will give you a listing for the new season. It also has links to descriptions of the first 3 shows.

  2. Bob says:

    Happy Birthday Tony, spend it wisely with your family and friends 🙂

  3. catsworking says:

    Thanks, Cindy. I was poking around on that site just yesterday and the schedule was coming up blank past the first week. I’ll have to recheck it.

  4. Adele says:

    I’m adding my Bourdain birthday greetings as well. That photo of Tony and Ottavia is charming. I really thought only French women could work a scarf like that.

  5. MorganLF says:

    Happy Birthday Tony…that’s not the best pic of Ottavia, but as usual they are holding hands.

    When I saw them in AC they walked around like that too, and frankly its getting a bit twee…don’t you think? I mean come on, its sorta creepy they have been together for at least three years must they always be connected? I mean he IS 53! I’m just sayin’

  6. catsworking says:

    I don’t know, Adele. Michelle Obama did a very nice job with hers in Paris. A friend was just telling me today that Michelle bought a Hermes scarf while she was there. Maybe that it was.

  7. cpt/bustamante says:

    happy birthday tony have a good one =)

    (r.i.p micheal jackson =( you will be missed <3)

Leave a Reply

