Will Gwyneth Paltrow Tangle with Anthony Bourdain?

By Karen

The blogosphere is itching for a feud between Anthony Bourdain and Gwyneth Paltrow. In Seattle on May 30, Bourdain ragged on Mario Batali for making Spain…On the Road Again for PBS with Paltrow as his sidekick when she wasn’t eating a Spanish staple — meat. Paltrow hasn’t yet taken the bait, and I’m predicting she won’t.

Socialite Life also reveals that Bourdain and Batali may be cooking up a new show for the Travel Channel. Oh, please, let that rumor be true.

Mission Mission was speculating back in March on Bourdain’s still-to-be-aired San Francisco episode, which he was filming then. The comments on this post contain 2 personal encounters (as well as a link back to Cats Working, thank you), and someone mentions spotting Tony with his “Asian ‘girlfriend.” I bet that was Ottavia.

There’s a shipwreck of a Bourdain fan blog that hasn’t been updated since January. I wonder what ended the honeymoon? I didn’t sift through the old comments looking for buried treasure, but you Bourdainiacs might want to.

Sadly, I know Tony won’t be popping out of my birthday cake this year. He’ll be at the New York Wine and Food Festival October 8-11.

I still haven’t found any personal appearances for June, so I’m guessing he’s either ramping up for Season 6 of No Reservations or taking some well-deserved R&R.

Here’s an interesting online Q&A between Bourdain and fans from 2002, when A Cook’s Tour had been published, and he was still on the Food Network. He mentioned that first wife Nancy’s idea of “extreme cuisine” was meatloaf, but defended it as a good thing.

If you’d like to see a replay of Bourdain’s staged Kung Fu fighting (Can’t recall the NR episode. Hong Kong perhaps?), here’s the clip. He was still wearing the ubiquitous earring and leather jacket. It’s vintage.

And here’s Tony dissing Paris Hilton with Mario Batali, with more links to other topics they covered during that gab-fest.

12 Responses to Will Gwyneth Paltrow Tangle with Anthony Bourdain?

  1. Adele says:

    Tony’s Asian friend in S.F. also might have been truly Asian and his fixer for at least part of the S.F. segment. Jeez will I be glad when the new season of No Res. starts again. Last week, I actually watched 2 segments of “I’m a Celebrity, Get Me Out of Here,” just to see our ex-governor’s wife — she’s pretty plucky, btw. But I was so overcome with shame that I almost reached for a fork to put out my eyes.

  2. catsworking says:

    Adele, I thought of that, too. Would make sense to have an Asian fixer there. But if someone was mistaken for his “girlfriend,” it seems to me they must have been holding hands or something.

    So I’ll appreciate the spin on the new Baltimore segment of NR, I’ve started getting The Wire through Netflix. I’m only on the second episode of Season 1 and I’m not seeing the brilliance yet, but if Bourdain says it’s one of the best things on TV EVER, then attention must be paid.

  3. Adele says:

    I think it takes awhile to get into The Wire. You need to get to know the characters. I’m on the 4th season now, and I’m completely hooked. Having worked for so long in settings similar to the “corners,” it really rings true to me. In each season the focus is on another aspect of corruption, from the corners, to the docks, to the Police, to the schools, and the parallels between the “legitimate” institutions and the criminal enterprises are beautifully drawn.

  4. catsworking says:

    Adele, that’s what I figure. Can’t judge after only one episode, although I see the potential. It’s kind of like The Sopranos. By the end of that series, I loved those guys. In fact, the guy who was sitting in court intimidating all the witnesses with his presence kind of reminded me of a black Tony Soprano type.

    I could also see how this would be Bourdain’s type of show, given the subject matter of his novels. Crime fascinates him.

    As I was watching it last night, I was thinking, “Boy, I hope this turns out to be one of those series I can really get hooked on.” The last time that happened was with Mad Men.

  5. Adele says:

    I was hooked on Mad Men from the very first episode. But I think the sense of time and place so overwhelmed me, that the characters could have been a little less intriguing and I still couldn’t have waited for the next episode.

    Good call on the Tony Soprano type on The Wire; if I recall that scene correctly, he’d be a capo of a drug crew, if the drug crews had capos. One of the cool things about The Wire, is that little things like the court scene (sort of leit motifs) appear from season to season in just slightly different forms. Happy viewing.

  6. catsworking says:

    I was a Mad Men fan from Day One myself. I had just started rewatching them On Demand to ramp up for the new season when I started getting into The Wire. Now there’s not time for both. There are so many layers to MM, you have to watch each episode a few times to get it all. I read these reviews other people write about the show and wonder if we were watching the same thing. They pick up on things that go right by me.

    The only show I watch that closely is No Reservations!

  7. MorganLF says:

    My two favorite people rave about the Wire Howard Stern and Bourdain I just could not get into it. I will have to try but I don’t like watching TV on DVD..just a thing.

    I am beyond pissed that yet again I missed out on the tix for Bourdain at NY Food & Wine!!! Thanks to the IT aholes at my job I can’t access my email and when I finally logged on his both appearances were of course sold out!!! Thanks IT TOOLS!!!

    Layoffs coming fast and furious on the job management cuts that were wayyy ovedue hit this week. You know the types, came in late left early took too many vacations then were ushered out sobbing when the axe fell.

    There are many more I’d personally carve away. We actually have a manager that has been there 16 years makes good $$$ and does nothing but run endless pools all day! He has like 5 going on at a time and spends hours going from person to person collecting, When not doing that he is on the phone with a series of Russian strippers 30 years his junior that he supports and purports to be his “girlfriend”.

    I made it through this week but as I’m not of the ass-kissing breed that may not last, even though performance wise I kill. I work for a company that cultivates lazy male toadies. My “supervisor” is barely conversant and totally without humor. He totally does not get innuendo, clever conversation or quickness. I zing him mercilessly, because I can. Thank god my real boss is cute and funny. So guys and Cats I may be a woman of leisure soon. Thank got I refinanced my mortgage and have a blissfully tiny payment!!

  8. catsworking says:

    Good luck Morgan. At least you’re around to see the ones who really had it coming get it. That’s got to be satisfying. Unfortunately, it’s the do-nothing management that’s always last to be sacrificed.

  9. boscodagama says:

    The Mario/Bittman/Paltrow show was terrible. They had some scenes where there was no fire under the pan (making migas near the windmills).

    Bittman turned out to be a real pain in the wazoo.

  10. catsworking says:

    Bosco, I never managed to catch that show. I like Gwyneth as an actress and I’m sure she’s a sweetheart, but she seems kind of bland and boring as a personality (you know, vegan mommy), so I never felt any compulsion to track down the show and watch it. She and Mario just didn’t seem like a good match, although I understand they’re friends. Bittman, I have no idea about.

  11. She is without doubt my No.1 actor right now. What an amazing presence. Just wonderful!

  12. catsworking says:

    Welcome, Joe! I think Gwyneth’s OK. Wonderful in Shakespeare in Love, but her name on a movie roster won’t get me into a cinema. Now Julia Roberts is another story. Really looking forward to seeing her in Eat, Pray, Love, which I just finished reading.

Leave a Reply

