Anthony Bourdain Heads West

By Karen

Even between seasons of No Reservations, Anthony Bourdain doesn’t seem to sleep in the same bed 2 nights in a row. On May 28, he’ll be giving one of his talks at De Anza Community College in Cupertino, California. I wonder if his recent face-to-face encounter with Alice Waters inspired any new material, and if he’ll have the nerve to unleash it on her home turf?

On May 29, he appears at the Keller Auditorium in Portland, Oregon. On May 30, he’ll be in Seattle sharing a stage with his good friend, Mario Batali, for “An Evening,” which may well prove the highlight of his week.

What a life.

Bourdain’s May 14 appearance at the Connecticut Forum with Alice Waters and Duff Goldman is still rippling throughout the blogosphere. Here’s a video clip of Alice Waters pontificating on hot dogs and Tony’s response, which brought the conversation back to earth.

Here’s another bit where they all discuss food as aphrodisiac.

Michael Costanza attended the event and dubbed Alice Waters “the new postergirl for food snobbery” and vowed to eat half a dozen hot dogs over Memorial Day weekend just to spite her. [Note to Cats Working reader Nancy (not THAT Nancy): If you click this link, brace yourself.]

Someone caught Tony standing around in Chinatown. I seem to remember him saying a while back that he intended to retire that leather jacket. I’m glad he didn’t. It’s so him.

And here’s a candid shot of Tony and Ottavia sent by Cats Working reader Linda. They’re at Bar Pitti e Da Silvano in Greenwich Village. Don’t they look like a pair of crazy kids in love?

Now we have a mystery to solve: Somebody caught Bourdain filming something in front of his home-base restaurant, Les Halles. What could he have been up to?

At Let’ Get Together Blog, Bourdain was selected as the inaugural Food Hottie of the Month, in spite of somewhat conflicted thoughts about him.

My Opera, a recently initiated Bourdainiac, wrote an interesting analysis of what Tony does on No Reservations.

If you’re a foodie wannabe, Bourdain and other chefs contributed recipes, observations, and advice to The Foodie Handbook: The (almost) Definitive Guide to Gastronomy by Pim Techamuanvivit, to be released in October.

UPDATE: Oprah’s best friend, Gayle King, interviewed Tony for Oprah Radio™ in August 2007, and I just found the first 11 minutes, thanks to a tip from Cats Working reader Bob. Gayle’s questions cover no new ground, and she has some difficulty shutting up to let Tony speak, but Bourdain’s always a good conversationalist.

10 Responses to Anthony Bourdain Heads West

  1. Bob says:

    Wow busy busy girl, lots to sift through today.
    Thanks for finding the enlarged clip, lots of good points made by all sides but I still think Alice should go drink her potion and go back to what ever Wonderland she really lives in..

    Some good candid shots of Tony there, I am surprised with all of his travel and working that he and Ottavia still have time to get out and hold hands.. AWWWWWW

    I do wonder what they are doing at Les Halles though, hopefully another show about NYC I love it when Tony gets all snarky about his city. Honestly that’s really the only thing that can set him off any more.

    Someone had said that he had appeared on Oprah???
    Any clue on where to find that clip?? I have seen him on Letterman and Conan..

  2. catsworking says:

    Bob, your wish is my command. I put an update at the end of this post with a link. It was a radio interview 2 years ago. If anybody bugs the “living shit” out of him, it should be Gayle King. I certainly hope she’s taken some lessons in interviewing since she did this one.

  3. Adele says:

    Good culling of the Bourdain file, Karen. I’m not a big Ace of Cakes fan — pastry’s not really my thing to cook, and simple frosting is all I can manage for cakes, but I never knew Duff Goldman was so funny. Kudos to him (in the food as aphrodisiac YouTube) for “It’s not the wand, it’s the wizard.” I’ll file that one away.

  4. Bob says:

    Thanks,,, Good Little part of an interview.
    Is there a part 2???

  5. boscodagama says:

    Duff is an idiot.. sewage? plague? the fleas on rats brought the plague..

  6. catsworking says:

    Bosco, you are so right. The cats are very proud that their ancestors dispatched the flea-carrying rats to end the Plague. Duff Goldman should probably stick to cakes. History is not his thing.

  7. Adele says:

    Okay, I still thought Duff’s “It’s not the wand . . . ” comment was funny, but you’re so right about sewage and plague. Raw sewage was responsible for lots of things (cholera and thypoid immediately come to mind), but I thought everyone knew that the rats brought the fleas, and the fleas brought the plague. Our cats are justifiably proud about their rat-killing ancestors; although our pampered housepets of today don’t want their food on the hoof; they expect it to be prepared for them.

  8. MorganLF says:

    They look so cute, as I have said before that is exactly what I saw when I observed them in Atlantic City. I’m jealous!

    I need to punch out Alice Waters’ lights!! Find out where the hot dog is from is it grass fed…OH SPARE ME!!!

  9. catsworking says:

    Morgan, I’m strangely glad that you find Alice Waters as annoying as I do. I don’t dispute her point. Sure, we could all eat healthier. She brings up bad memories of every pain in the butt I’ve eaten out in a restaurant with who wanted to know all the ingredients and where they came from before they ordered, and asked for all the dressings on the side, and then left most of the meal on the plate.

  10. MorganLF says:

    Look, in a perfect world…I do not disagree with fresh and local. But I suffer with the lazy gene. A trip to the farm stand or a trip to the freezer? I agree with Nancy who posted elsewhere about making and freezing large batches but there is just so much I can do in my small freezer. I live in a condo so not much chance of getting an extra freezer.

    Even my garage is not an option since I actually use it for my car and other storage. If I can find a compact one I may consider it. I mean why not make 8 quarts of homemade gravy and freeze? Save’s money and I’ll be ready when my brother calls in his order for my Mom’s Sunday macs & gravy.

    I think canned and frozen is fine it’s the processed crap we all fall prey to that is the culprit. Look at the ingredients in a lean cuisine or even a frozen pot pie (a secret vice). The labels read like a chemistry project!

    In a restaurant if any dining companions start with that crap, I would make them really, really, sorry. I have a zero bullshit tolerance. That is right up there with people who refuse to split checks evenly ’cause they didn’t have an appetizer.

Leave a Reply

