The Latest Anthony Bourdain Roundup

By Karen

Anthony Bourdain and wife Ottavia paused for a photo at the Food Bank for New York City’s Sixth Annual Can-Do Awards Dinner to honor Jon Bon Jovi on April 21, along with Rachael Ray, Emeril Lagasse, and Mario Batali. Bourdain always looks good in a suit and tie, but what’s with Ottavia’s cat-ate-the-canary smile? The poofy dress? Could a sib for Ariane be on the way? Only time will tell, but if I’m right, remember you read it here first.

$imgAlt

The Feedbag reports that Tony was in Flushing, NY, about a month ago eating a lamb face salad for an upcoming No Reservations. If that’s true, maybe it will be in the Rust Belt episode, which included Buffalo.

YumSugar reports that guest judge Toby Young will be back for Season 6 of Top Chef, which starts filming in a secret location today. Here’s hoping Tony returns to show the boring Brit how to cut a chef down to size with style.

Burrito Justice led me to Somali Pirate with the tongue-in-cheek claim (I think) that Bourdain was named “Somalia’s Next Top Pirate” on some weird Somali reality show last year. I do agree that Tony’s got the je ne sais quois to appeal to pirates.

Cats Working reader Bob alerted us to a new installment of Tony & Friends where Eric Ripert uncharacteristically rips into Gordon Ramsay’s take-no-prisoners style and what it bodes for future chefs.

Reader Adele found this account at Food Lovers Like Me on what it was like to actually be there when Bourdain and Ripert talked to Martha Stewart recently on her Sirius Radio show.

I just found this May 2008 interview with the New York Post I think I missed. Tony revealed he and Ariane loved watching Yo! Gabba Gabba on Nick Jr. and that her favorite book then was Good Night, Gorilla.

She should be ready to tackle NR: Around the World on an Empty Stomach before too long. It’s mostly pictures, and it’s dedicated to her.

And if you’re a DVD collector, No Reservations: Collection 4 goes on sale July 14 with 688 non-stop minutes of Bourdain’s travels.

The Pandemonium Of The Sun wrote a not-so-glowing review of Bourdain’s book, Typhoid Mary, which I recently read and admired for his ability to humanize a widely reviled woman. According to this reviewer, that makes me a “Bourdain fanatic.”

Just FYI, we call ourselves “Bourdainiacs” around here.

13 Responses to The Latest Anthony Bourdain Roundup

  1. Adele says:

    I think Ottavia was just trying too hard to pose for the photo. Maybe the full skirt is a cover up, but last year’s picture of Ottavia and Tony after the Letterman show, had her wearing a straight, but loose fitting dress, and I wondered then, too. I actually like the outfit and can’t get over how young and glowing she looks. I’m so many years from glowing that it’s the dimmest of memories. I scrolled through all the pictures on the site, and there must have been something funny with the lighting, because it looks like all the women and several of the men are wearing badly applied blush. It was interesting to see Batali in a suit. And Jon Bon Jovi doesn’t make my kind of music,(except for his knock-out version of A Change Is Gonna Come, with Betty LeVette at Obama’s pre-inaugural concert), but I’ve always thought he was adorable. Maybe I’m just a sucker for Jersey boys.

  2. Bob says:

    I am surprised that Tony would lower himself to the likes of Jon Bon Jovi, not really his kind of rock but I guess we all mellow in our old age..

    Regarding that post I found with Eric and Tony ripping Gordon, the thing that bothers me with the way TV packages chefs these days. Marco Pierre White’s Chopping Block was canceled on NBC apparently cause he was too nice to the chefs.

  3. neo says:

    FoodNetworkHumor.com has some funny Bourdain parodies and news too:
    http://foodnetworkhumor.com/2009/04/custom-facebook-urls-for-tv-chefs/

  4. catsworking says:

    Adele, “glowing” is the operative word here. I’ve been thinking that if they want to try to have another one, which I think he has mentioned, it’s got to be sooner rather than later. Ariane would be almost 3. I don’t know. It’s just a hunch, but when I saw that photo, it popped into my head.

    Bob, “nice” doesn’t play well on American TV. I remember some channel once showing a lot of Canadian stand-up comedians and thinking, “These guys are all so nice, they’re BORING.”

    After Gordon Ramsay has made people expect chefs to be total assholes, White had his work cut out for him. Of course, he couldn’t use the same language on network TV, which limited his potential right there. I think all the reality shows where people are mercilessly browbeaten and abused have made us think anything less is not worth watching. It’s sad.

  5. catsworking says:

    Thanks for the link, Neo. Who’da thought Bourdain would be the first to come to mind for them?

  6. Nickole says:

    Top Chef 6 just starting filming in Vegas. They are apparently at the M Resort for the next month and a half – all according to Eater.

  7. catsworking says:

    Nickole, thank you! I read an interview with Tom Colicchio just a few days ago and he wasn’t talking. Cat’s out of the bag now!

  8. Claudia says:

    Ottavia’s actually just sweetly leaning into Tony – it’s a habitual pose for her. Keep in mind she’s only about 5’5″, too, and she’s on her usual nearly 5″ heels. And she usually does glow, expecting or not expecting – she has a classic Italian caramelly/sun-kissed complexion, although it looks like she no longer dyes her hair auburn. She’s a very funny, fiesty, down-to-earth lady, BTW.

  9. catsworking says:

    Claudia, do you have a crush on her? 😉

    I think any of us here would say, if we were married to Bourdain, we’d be glowing, too!

  10. The Muse says:

    I just want to mention how lucky she is,gggrr. Envy is so corrosive! But I must admit she looks kinda cute in that dress. And the smile, of course, she knows she’s getting all that attention, not to mention being with A.B. Personally I’ll be glowing too. I’m re-reading his first book and falling for him once again. Wish him all the luck in the world and a new baby would be nice, specially if it’s a future Bourdain like boy 😉

  11. catsworking says:

    Muse, I can hardly imagine Bourdain with a son for some reason. He just seems like a girly dad to me and I could see him having another daughter. Wonder why?

  12. The Muse says:

    Yeah, I really believe that she is going for the second kid hahaha. But you never know. Is Ariane 3 by now?

  13. catsworking says:

    Muse, Ariane just turned 2 on April 9. That’s why I’m thinking the timing is good for the next little Bourdain. Ariane would be almost 3 by the time it’s born, and that’s a good spread. Besides, Tony’s not getting any younger so if they want another one, they probably won’t wait too long.

Leave a Reply

