Will New First Dog Be Known as Boobama?

By Yul

Somebody should have told Sasha and Malia Obama the last name counts when you pick dog names. They’re calling their new puppy Bo, either after their grandfather, “Diddley” Robinson, or after their cousin’s cat. I prefer to think it’s the latter. Bo was aka Charlie.

Meet Bo Obama (Photo - Pete Souza, AP)

Meet Bo Obama (Photo - Pete Souza, AP)

The new First Pup is is a Portuguese Water Dog from Texas, born on October 9, 2008, in a litter of 10 (top that, Nadya Suleman!). The Obamas are his second adoptive family, after another one returned him to the breeder.

One of Bo’s littermates, Cappy, belongs to Senator Ted Kennedy, and the Kennedys reportedly had Bo coached in comportment, like some canine Eliza Doolittle, before presenting him to the Obamas. It all makes you wonder if the dog has issues. However, they said he behaved beautifully during his secret audition at the White House a few weeks ago.

None of the Obamas has ever had a dog before, so let’s hope Cesar Millan, the Dog Whisperer, never gets that call to set Bo straight because the pressures of being First Dog have totally unhinged him. Too many priceless White House antiques are at stake. In fact, let’s hope the Obamas read Cesar’s pointers for them.

The Obama Dog Blog has been unofficially following this story from the beginning and promises future “scoop.”

Given the president’s Web savvy, I predict Bo will soon have his own Web cam, like former First Dog Barney Bush.

Male Portuguese Water Dogs grow to be 42-55 pounds. A full-grown one appeared on The Today Show this morning with most of his hind end shaved bald. I guess that’s supposed to be fashionable.

I hope the Obamas leave Bo’s butt alone and Michelle doesn’t start dressing him in J.Crew cardigans.

5 Responses to Will New First Dog Be Known as Boobama?

  1. Bob says:

    Karen …. Going on a mission of my own..
    if you are captured I will dis avow any knowledge of this blog…..

    Ya right, So Tony Got Married. Don’t want to go all TMZ on him. Hell I am really freaked that you chicks didn’t freak out on this first.

    SO where was is, did he do simple office service, or was it overseas??? New world Italian wife. MMMM
    did it take a straight steak eating man from Canada. to ask this ???

    NO need to worry Tony, come to Winnipeg, and it all goes away.. It’s just Rye Whiskey…

    Bob from Winnipeg

  2. Bob says:

    Sorry karen to go off on your blog.. Well you know puppys are cool..

    I like doggys

    Not going fan boy on you
    and not for public view.

    you know where I live
    Bob

  3. catsworking says:

    Bob, I have no idea what you are talking about. Is it the rye whiskey doing your typing? 😉

  4. Adele says:

    Bob, you do seem to be writing from a different astral plane, today. Eating brownies with a special herbal ingredient, are you?

  5. Bob says:

    Well I twisted my knee on the weekend, I am doing a MS fund raising walk this month.. SO out for a walk to train and I slipped on some ice and wacked my knee out of place..

    So blame it on the painkillers… Honestly I don’t even remember typing that last night…

    So ya astral plane would be correct…

    Went to work today,, hoping mostly.. I am a forklift operator I am sure someone heard me scream. But I went online today at work and it was like WTF, is this whack job going on about.. then I realized it was me… at first I thought it was some OTHER Bob.

    So Tony relax it was just the painkillers talking, MMMMMM how many time has he heard that one ????

    Adele if you have any brownies.. I can give you my addy to fed ex them..

    Back to my normal self … if thats normal.

    Bob

Leave a Reply

