It’s B-Day! Meeting Anthony Bourdain in Durham

By Karen

When I discovered Anthony Bourdain and No Reservations a few years ago, it never occurred to me that our paths would cross and I’d wake up one day planning to meet him.

While making my tea this morning in my little Virginia kitchen, it seemed surreal to think by this evening I’ll be in a sold-out crowd, breathing Tony’s air and, later, thanks to his generosity, lining up for his autograph and introducing myself as the infamous Cats Working.

Then I’ll duck.

Shampooing with Miracle-Gro hasn’t done much for my butchered hair. (Thanks, Fantastic Sam’s!) If there’s a photo op, I’ll be the boy standing next to Tony.

My red V-neck sweater, hoop earrings, and plenty of makeup are packed and ready to roll. The Saturn’s gassed up. Driving to Durham, I’ll be re-listening to French Lessons by Peter Mayle. Fittingly, it’s about his gastronomic adventures. After years of No Res, I expect to “get” it a lot more than I did the first time.

You won’t hear from me again until after the event, but I’m turning the keyboard over to Adele.

If you don’t hear from me again, I’m dead and Bourdain’s on the lam. Contact the Travel Channel and the FBI immediately.

Bonus:

Found some reviews on the Philippines episode. Filipino American Pinoy Life loved it and provided several links to other bloggers’ posts.

Wordblots also weighed in.

Wish me luck!

Oh, and Bob, Winnipeg ROCKS!

15 Responses to It’s B-Day! Meeting Anthony Bourdain in Durham

  1. Bob says:

    Have fun ….. Lucky Duck.
    The day is finally here!!!!

    Yes Winnipeg does indeed Rock!!

    Bob

  2. MorganLF says:

    Gee I’m all nervous. Little boy..LOL! I’m saying my mantra…dear God let him like us!!

  3. adele says:

    Bon voyage! Hope the cats can hold down the fort for you, and I second Morgan’s mantra. We wait with baited breath.

  4. Bob says:

    SOOOOO….. What Happened??????
    Tell Us Tell Us!!!!!

    We Need to know…. Tell Us Tell Us.

    Bob

  5. MorganLF says:

    Bob,

    They met!!! (See her post under the Phillipines Redux)I’m pulling my hair out!!

  6. catsworking says:

    Morgan, Bob, Adele, Mom, and anyone else out there who may be waiting. The good news is that I’m still alive and in one piece with no obvious signs of bruising.

    The bad news is… uh, wait a minute, THERE IS NO BAD NEWS!

    I’ve got 5 full pages of notes I typed into the wee hours last night (as well as waking up to jot more on a pad by the bed and a few blurbs I recorded on tape driving back to Richmond). I was so tuned in to Bourdain, I’m experiencing almost photographic recall of what he said on stage.

    But I’m not going to reproduce his whole evening here and ruin future personal appearance gigs for him. So Saturday morning I will sift through what I’ve got and give you the best of the best. I’ve definitely got some good scoop for you.

    And I only got 2 photos. One really good. One not so.

    This is going to be in a few parts. I hope to have the first part posted tomorrow.

  7. adele says:

    Can breath be more than baited? I can’t wait.

  8. MorganLF says:

    Wooozy from not eating or breathing….help..what did he say to you? Fainting…does he know about us?

  9. catsworking says:

    Adele, the cats know all about baited breath, and you have their sympathy.

  10. catsworking says:

    Morgan, I am trying not to jump the gun and shoot my wad prematurely (to string a bunch of cliches together). I did find out how and what he knows about us, and more. All in good time…

    What I will tell you is that the record is definitely going to be set straight here. And soon.

  11. MorganLF says:

    Still not eating…..how you toy with us!!!

  12. Bob says:

    Thanks Morgan… Just on the way out the door to spend my Daughter’s birthday with her… Well Birthday Saturday.

    There had better be a good story when I get back…

    Hope you plugged Winnipeg, Can’t wait for all the details.. You’re such a tease!!!!

    Bob

  13. catsworking says:

    Bob, I’ll tell you up-front that I completely forgot about Winnipeg when the heat was on. It all happened so fast, it really has taken me this long to process everything and put it in some coherent form for you. And since I feel very confident that it’s going to be read by Bourdain eyes, I want to make sure I get it right.

    Please forgive me for building the suspense, but Cats Working may never get another moment like this.

  14. Nancy (not THAT Nancy) says:

    “What I will tell you is that the record is definitely going to be set straight here. And soon.”

    Holy f*ck.

Leave a Reply

