Coming Up: Face Time with Bourdain

By Karen

I was at the post office as dawn broke to sign for a surprise express mail piece from Anthony Bourdain, expecting the long-awaited Cease & Desist. But he did me one better — he made me feel like a total cheapskate — but in a good way.

Regular Cats Working readers know that I plan to drive to Durham, NC, to attend An Evening with Anthony Bourdain on February 19. I recently read that he has sold out the house with 2,700 tickets. I went mid-range and paid $35 for my ticket, regretfully taking a pass on the $100 option that included a VIP book signing afterward.

Well, guess what?

I now have a pass to the VIP signing.

It was exciting to contemplate being in the same theater with Bourdain. Now I have to wrap my head around the prospect of meeting him face-to-face and answering for all that has been written here — the good, the bad, and the ugly. It’s overloading my circuits. I hope he just yells, but doesn’t hit.

We’ve all seen Tony’s soft side emerge on No Reservations from time to time, and Ariane seems to turn him into a big gooey marshmallow of a dad. But he’s really outdone himself with this gracious, unexpected gesture toward a humble blogger.

He’s shown me beyond any doubt that my admiration for him and his work has not been misplaced. He’s a class act.

Extra: A bit of bad news. It looks like we may not be seeing any new books from Tony in 2009. But my source site’s Canadian and I have no idea if they have the same release dates as the U.S. Maybe Bob can tell us.

41 Responses to Coming Up: Face Time with Bourdain

  1. Bob says:

    No word on any books yet here, What website did you get the info from????

    Your so lucky, not only do you get Christmas Cards but actual face time, I feel like fed-exing you my Les Halles Cook Book for him to sign.

    Have a great time!!!!! Tell him Winnipeg is the place to visit in the summer,and would love to be his fixer here!!!

    Will keep an eye out for any books that may be on the horizon.
    Bob

  2. MorganLF says:

    I am green, POSITIVELY GREEN WITH ENVY DO YOU HEAR ME?? He is either wayyy cool and on top of blogo world or his people are on it. But he has no “people” and so it is either him or Ottavia who is looking so closely at this and I prefer to think it is him personally thinking of you (us) Karen.

    Either way I’m killing myself, and was on pins & needles all day waiting to see what it was, I am not disappointed.

    F’n Bourdain man you are the shit!

  3. catsworking says:

    Bob, the link to the site I saw the info on is in the post in that same paragraph. I probably should have put it on other words. The last thing I read about his upcoming books said that the next one would be his sort-of sequel to “Kitchen Confidential,” and titled, “Cooks.”

    Winnipeg in the summer, huh? Maybe he’ll like that idea.

    Morgan, yes, it would definitely seem that I am on the radar, which is kind of unnerving, but I guess I had it coming with all these Bourdain posts. I should think the Travel Channel must give Bourdain an assistant in NY who helps him with clerical stuff, especially when he’s out on the road. Sorry to take so long to post the news. I didn’t even open the envelope until I was in my father’s hospital room this morning. I figured it was a good place to be in case I fainted.

  4. Nickole says:

    Tony does have a personal assistant. Her name is Beth, the “grill bitch” from “Kitchen Confidential.”

  5. catsworking says:

    Thanks, Nickole. It didn’t seem likely that the star of the Travel Channel’s top-rated show wouldn’t have some backup.

  6. Adele says:

    Fabulous! Whether it’s Beth, the grill bitch, (who sells grill bitch tee shirts)or Tony, himself, what a classy thing to do. I second Morgan; I’m positively pea green with envy. I don’t think you’d get a Christmas card and an invitation to a VIP signing, if he were going to yell at you. I think he may want to ask whether Lupetto can attend a writers’ workshop given by Fred, Yul, and Adele,so that Lupetto can do some of his blogging for him. Now, I’ll have to get that book for Ariane to you.

    Hope your dad gets out of the hospital, soon.

  7. Bob says:

    From all that I have gleaned, Beth is a one time co-worker from his rocking kitchen days. Not a personal assistant. She’s actually in the Christmas Special helping Tony in the Kitchen with the Turkey.

    Happy for you Karen.
    Bob
    Best wishes to your Father

  8. I am the gentleman who wrote the bit about Bourdain not having a book in 2009 that Karen mentioned in her post and I sincerely hope I am wrong about that. My info is based on what I know now and could easily change in the near future. A book could still be announced for a fall release date.

    As for Canadian vs American release dates, there are times when they are same and others when they are extremely different. It depends on the book, the author, the publisher & the distributor as well as how the international rights are worked out.

    The bookstore I work for in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, has a location…well, two locations in Winnipeg. One of those locations hosted an event with Anthony Bourdain in 2006 when he did a very brief Canadian tour for “The Nasty Bits” that ended up including Winnipeg. I wasn’t able to go but my understanding is that it was pretty epic. Bourdain was kind enough to sign a book for me even though I wasn’t able to make the trip. Hopefully he’ll be able to make it to Western Canada again when his next book comes out…

  9. shebunny says:

    I also am NEON green with envy that you have the chance to meet the man himself Mr. Bourdain…
    BTW Beth AKA Grill Bitch was also on the Toronto show with him as his Sous Chef when he cooked for the Toronto Culinary Institute upcoming chefs, where he was, once again asked about eating beating cobra heart.
    Keep up the great work Cats and I wish your Dad well.
    I am also a cat Gal, two for me, Casper a Hemi and Jager a Bombay, both in their teens, old for cats. Love them as no kids just cats for me.

  10. MorganLF says:

    Here is some more info on Beth http://grillbitch.com/

    and from 2004 http://seattlepi.nwsource.com/food/198876_chou10.html.

    It seems they were awful close once. It now looks like Carlos is the wing man, perhaps at the insistence of Ottavia?

    Karen do you have a good camera? A list of questions? Have you checked out your car to make sure it is in good condition? Maybe you beter leave a week early just in case the weather acts up.

  11. Bob says:

    Hate to be the Canadian Fact Checker.. First of all Good Catch on Beth in the Classroom scene. First rate!!!
    But the Scene actually the whole episode is in Quebec.

    They were cooking at the Montreal Culinary Institute.

    Still working on finding out more about that new title.
    Normally we get our books here at the same time as you in the states. Unless he is planning a new book tour here I really doubt that we would get it first.

    So Karen, what exactly did you get in your little package??? Just upgraded tickets?? No little note or anything else???

    One things for sure though, we are defiantly on the No Reservations Radar. If not Tony directly.

    So happy for you only 13 more sleeps for you…

    Bob

    PS Winnipeg Rules in the Summer 🙂

  12. Nickole says:

    From http://www.grillbitch.com, where Beth sells the “Cook Free or Die” t-shirts:

    http://grillbitch.com/

    She’s his “executive assistant.”

  13. Actually says:

    Just came across your blog and it’s really fun to read.
    Hope you’ll have a nice evening there and don’t forget to take a couple of nice pictures of the second best looking guy in the world 😉

    Regards,
    Actually

  14. Congratulations, that is really cool of him! And again, I am jealous beyond words. At least now you can get some up close and personal photos to share with those of us who are less fortunate….right??!!

  15. catsworking says:

    Ian, thank you so much for checking in. Since Bourdain’s last book, “No Reservations: Around the World on an Empty Stomach” was released in 2007, I was hoping we’d see “Cooks” this year. But I’m just being greedy because the guy never seems to be in the same place for 5 minutes at a stretch. As a full-time writer myself who can’t manage to churn out a book a year, with all he does with the show and personal appearances, I’m amazed that Tony has any strength left over to be working on books at all.

    I know Bob is going to be disappointed that he missed Bourdain’s visit to Winnipeg. I don’t recall how he discovered Bourdain, but if he’s like the rest of us, he was channel-surfing one night and happened across this lanky, sarcastic, sometimes foul-mouthed man in some fascinating locale, eating something that looked fabulous, and became hooked. Curiosity about the person behind the show persisted and his books were discovered, which led to Googling for more information about him that wasn’t in the books, which led him to Cats Working, which began with one tiny snowball of a post about Bourdain that kept getting found and drawing comments, rolling downhill into a sizable body of work.

  16. catsworking says:

    shebunny, I’m going to have to rewatch some episodes of NR because I have no memory of Beth at all. I can’t believe how some of you absorb this stuff. I guess I shouldn’t be trying to solve my Rubik’s Cube (which I can do, by the way) while watching the tube.

    Thanks for the good wishes, as well. They implanted the ICD (fancy new pacemaker) in my father yesterday. It gets double-checked this morning, and we hope he’ll be home this afternoon. This is the first day all week I haven’t woken up dreading finding out more bad news about his heart.

    But I DID wake up to a freezing cold house with temps in the 20s outside. My heat pump conked out overnight, and I’m typing fast for warmth while I wait for the repairman.

  17. catsworking says:

    Morgan, thanks for those two great links. Good scoop on Beth Aretsky and a nice glimpse of Bourdain being a gracious guest.

    It was very generous of Tony to give Beth exclusive rights to his logo and tag line for the T-shirts. Perhaps instead of any jealousy from Ottavia, he’s also using Carlos to 1) Give Carlos some exposure to help Les Halles and 2) Have a backup for Beth.

    Yes, I think I do have a good camera. I bought a new Canon last year. I’ve got several questions I want to ask him if I get a chance. I expect the VIP thing to be a mob scene, so I bet I’ll only get close enough, long enough, for an autograph. My car’s in good shape. Pretty new tires. Doesn’t need an oil change. Low mileage.

    My biggest concern IS the weather. NC has gotten more snow than Richmond by far this winter. But it’s supposed to hit near 70 here this weekend, so I hope the warming trend continues.

  18. catsworking says:

    Oh, Bob. Now you’ve made me nervous. I hadn’t counted the days…really only 13? Gulp! :-0

    Like the Christmas card, the latest package was a bit of a puzzlement. It seemed to be addressed in the same hand as the Christmas card (Bourdain’s? I suspect so, but I can’t be 100% sure). It contained what looks like a pass to the VIP signing after the event. It’s not an upgraded ticket, so I’ll still be in my mid-cheapo seat in the Grand Tier. No note. That’s why I’m feeling kind of uneasy, sort of like a hapless fly being drawn into a spider’s web. 😉

    Bourdain sure does work in mysterious ways!

    Thanks for clearing up that confusion about the episodes, my man in Canada. I didn’t remember Tony ever going to Toronto, but I know I have a Montreal episode.

    As for his next book, I can’t remember the name of his new publisher, but there’s a link to the story about him switching publishers in an old post here about his 3 new books. If that house has a Web site, maybe they have a list of this year’s planned releases.

  19. catsworking says:

    Mom, I’ll be bringing my camera, and I hope he’ll agree to having a photo taken with me. I’m debating whether I should tell him I’m behind Cats Working or not. On the other hand, if I get a photo and post it here, since he’s obviously tuned in to this blog, he’ll eventually see it and I’d only piss him off for concealing my identity.

    So, I guess full disclosure will be best and I’ll introduce myself, then quickly DUCK in case he wants to take a swing at me. I suspect he can take jabs at himself OK because it comes with the job (and it’s only fair to show he can take it as well as dish it out), but we haven’t always been kind to Ottavia, and she’s sort of an innocent bystander in all this. Once all us middle-aged women got over the initial shock that Tony, a man our age, ended up with a much younger woman, no one can say she hasn’t been a good influence on him. He quit smoking, he’s more reluctant to do crazy stunts, he’s cut way back on the snark, he’s a devoted dad.

    Yes, we miss our remorseless bad boy, but that was only a cartoon. For Bourdain the man, Ottavia’s probably the best thing that ever happened to him.

  20. MorganLF says:

    Karen first of all, glad all seems to be ok with your Dad.

    Here is my take, the VIP pass will probably propel you to the head of the line. It may be one of a few unique such passes and will identify you to him.

    He will definitely be cool..about some of the rest of us maybe not. Do you believe someone here posted that he was a “big douchey stork” and told him to “man up” after the new format show fiasco?

  21. catsworking says:

    Morgan, thanks for the concern about my father. Latest word is that the pacemaker stayed put so no further tweaking is needed, but there’s more swelling around it than they wanted, so he’s spending a few more hours in the hospital with an ice pack on his shoulder in hopes it goes down. My mother is pretty pissed off about that because she thinks all illness originates in hospitals.

    Meanwhile, the whole family thinks I’m freezing to death because it’s 40 degrees outside and my heat pump has been dead since last night. I’m holed up in my office with Fred, Yul, and a space heater. Fred’s sensibly sunbathing in the window, but Yul is trashing my desk as I type this. Adele has been downstairs on my bed since breakfast, burrowed under afghans. I’ve been promised a repairman today, but with every passing hour, I’m getting more worried. If worse comes to worst, I’ll go buy some fake logs this evening and have a fire. My fireplace has some issues with condensation so I stopped using it, but this is an emergency.

    After all the trash-talk Bourdain has handed others, I’m hoping he’ll appreciate my snark for what it is. If I was writing nothing but gushing praise, nobody would read it (except maybe HIM 😉 ). And surely he knows I can’t control what my readers say. Yeah, I COULD censor the negative comments, but that would also lead to a blog with no readers.

    The last thing I ever expected of Cats Working was to cross paths with Anthony Bourdain or to gain his attention in any way. It’s all so surreal.

  22. Bob says:

    Well Karen, I do regret not going to his book signing here in Winnipeg. Had a date that night, and I wasn’t half the fan that I am now. I think that I had just read “Nasty Bits”… The last GOOD book he’s written since “Kitchen Confidential” in my opinion.

    I keep hoping that he will take a swing through here again, Looks like Ian and Myself will be waiting for him.

    Actually I “Discovered” Bourdain, watching late night TV when I worked shifts. That was back in the Cooks Tour days. But I thought it was a refreshing look into the appetites of the world. Been hooked ever since.

    Bob
    PS Karen your dad will do fine with the new pacemaker, my dad has one like that and its the cats ass… Unfortunately my dad is in hospital too, and not doing very well. Emergency trip home this weekend.

    Hope all is well,,, Can you guys keep this place running with out me????

  23. catsworking says:

    Bob, I’m so sorry to hear about YOUR dad. Gee, it’s always something, isn’t it? I hope he comes through his crisis OK. I just heard mine is eating his last lunch at the hospital and then he’s going home. I’m still waiting for the heat pump guy.

    Got to disagree with you about Bourdain’s books. I feel just the opposite. Of all the books since KC, I think Nasty Bits was the weakest (except for No Reservations, which was intended to be more illustration than writing). I laughed out loud many times reading A Cook’s Tour and I absolutely love his fiction. I’ll never forget the image of some fat, cross-dressing mobster tossing a woman’s wig on a dresser that looked like a “strangled chinchilla.” Can’t remember which of the novels that came from, but it still makes me laugh.

    We’ll try to hold the fort while you’re away. Good luck!

  24. Bob says:

    Thanks Karen… Much appreciated

    Actually when I was saying that Nasty Bits was his strongest book since KC I ment just that.. Those two books rule.. and Like you said No Reservations is a picture book.. Although I did like Typhoid Mary too … HMMMMM.

    I have the Les Halles Cookbook and hes very funny in there too.. I remember a quote about sharpening knives..Getting the Sales person to SHOW you how to sharpen the particular blade your buying…

    “Wait to find a salesman who will. For the timorous and feebleminded among you – And for any howler monkeys in the Tertiary Stages of Syphilis who might be reading this ……”

    Too funny
    Thanks for giving me a place to vent. 🙂
    Take care all

    Bob

  25. MorganLF says:

    Bob, very sorry about your Dad. We’ll hold down the fort.

    I must admit I thought Nasty Bits was bloody funny and kept annoying friends by quoting passages from it. But the best by far was at the end when he did his assesments of the various chapters some of which had been written years earlier. He was brutal on some of his more strident, pompous prose referring to himself as a twat! Laughed out loud!

  26. catsworking says:

    OK, you 2 have convinced me I need to revisit The Nasty Bits. I do remember devouring that book because I was so eager to read it, so I probably didn’t take the time to savor it like I should have and I’m not remembering the good stuff.

    I recently reread KC and gained new appreciation for it. I also want to reread A Cook’s Tour because it was the first book of his I ever read and I absolutely loved it.

  27. Adele says:

    I have to say that I found some of the essays in The Nasty Bits very good and particularly enjoyed his descriptions of chefs’bars and the general demi-monde in which those, who work in the food business, live.

    Bob, best wishes for your dad, and The Les Halles Cookbook was my very first Bourdain book. The narrative is often hilarious, and I make several of the recipes regularly.

    Karen, I don’t think you’d have gotten a Christmas card, if Tony were really mad about anything that’s been in Cats Working. I doubt that you’ll get an in person dressing down. Morgan, I expect that Tony would be amused by anything you’ve said about him — he’s said a lot of it, himself. And I think we’ve all pretty much adjusted to Ottavia, and everyone, here, seems charmed by his devotion to Ariane.

    Karen, try to keep warm by considering the possibility of Tony putting his arm around you for a photo. Old as I am, I’d probably swoon in such a situation.

  28. catsworking says:

    OK, now you guys are really freaking me out. Put his ARM around me? Are you trying to qualify me for a pacemaker like my father’s? Be still my pounding heart!!!

    I think I’ve been deliberately NOT projecting what the night is going to be like so I don’t get too nervous and make a fool of myself.

    I remember Anthony Quinn came to Richmond once in “Zorba.” A girlfriend and I waited by the stage door, and when he came out, I was about 6 feet from him but couldn’t approach him. He stopped, signed a few autographs, shook hands, was very nice, but I couldn’t do it. And I was never even a particularly big fan of his. But in person, he had a presence I found overwhelming.

    I’ll be lucky if I don’t pee my pants when I come face to face with Bourdain. There’s no one I’ve ever spent so much time studying, except perhaps Jonathan Frid (Barnabas on “Dark Shadows”) when I was a teenager.

    PS: I just got a call that the heat pump guy is on his way. Yippee!!

  29. Bob says:

    Thanks for all the Good wishes… I know I am posting a lot on here today but its keeping my mind off of life for a min or two.

    Karen you should really re read the whole bunch of books, I am ashamed to say that I don’t even own a copy of KC. Read it from the Library. But I do have Nasty Bits and No Reservations well and the cook book.

    Adele I also have tried some of his recipes, french onion soup and Steak Frites being my best success to date.

    I would love to make a cassoulet but frankly even with his 3 day method it intimidates me…

    However I do now make my own stock. I have scadds of chicken bones in the freezer for just that purpose.
    Just need to dedicate a day for doing it.

    I find it brightens up soup and sauces so much!!!

    Well I am rambling
    Thanks for all the good thoughts…. I have a feeling that I am going to need them.

    Yours in Food
    Bob

  30. Adele says:

    Karen, you’re all grow’d up now, and I think you’ll do fine with Tony. Just think of him as a fellow writer, with whom you have a great deal in common. I won’t suggest, as public speaking instructors do, that you try to picture TB in his underwear, if you’re feeling nervous. I’m afraid that would have the opposite effect.

    Bob, sounds like you could use some chicken soup about now. I save all the carcasses from my roast chickens, too, and when I have 2 or three, I make soup or stock. I can’t believe how much richer it tastes once the bones have been roasted.

    Maybe you need to cook something,today; I find cooking very therapeutic, when I’m upset. I’m not a big bean fan, so I’ve never thought about making cassoulet, but several of the seafood dishes are very good; I make moules marniere and moules Portugaise pretty often.

  31. MorganLF says:

    You all roast chickens? I’m impressed. Next time I get a rotissierie I think I’ll freeze the carcass. Bourdain did go on about roasting bones and slowly making stock when I saw him so did Carlos.

    Karen we are all adults you will do fine… if I send you a pair of my bloomers will you toss them at him?

  32. catsworking says:

    Morgan, you send ’em, I’ll toss ’em!

    Last weekend I “roasted” a chicken in my crockpot. Just stuffed it in there with salt, pepper, parsley, and basil (no liquid) and let it cook all day. It browned and pretty much disintegrated.

    PS on the heat pump saga: The repairman finally showed up. What began as a few burnt-out fuses turned into an $1,800 replacement of everything but the outside casing — and since the thing is only 3 1/2 years old, all the parts are covered. The $1,800 is for FOUR HOURS OF LABOR ONLY. $450 an hour to work on a f**king HEAT PUMP.

    The parts had to be ordered, so I’m running emergency heat until Monday, which is like shoveling money to the electric company. I feel like I’m being brutally raped. I went totally postal on the repairman, but he’s got me in a corner. Sure, I could shop around, get a second opinion, but in the meantime, I HAVE NO HEAT.

    It’s a Trane. “Nobody can stop a Trane.” Nobody but me, apparently. AND once all this work is done, they’re not sure it’s a FIX. They said I may need to hire an electrician to rewire it, because it’s apparently very sensitive to power fluctuations that neither of my previous 2 heat pumps minded.

    I think I’m being lied to big-time and wish I had a 300-pound bruiser of a man around to negotiate with this guy.

  33. Adele says:

    Jeez Karen, $1800 for labor and no guarantee of a fix. I know nothing about heat pumps, but my brother-in-law is a plumber and knows a fair amount about HVAC stuff. I’ll ask him if there’s anything you should know that would help in this situation.

    Morgan, roasting a chicken is really easy; you take a 3lb. chicken, rinse it off, pat it dry,rub a cut garlic clove on it, rub it with olive oil, put a piece of onion and maybe 1/2 a lemon in the cavity, if you have one around; salt and pepper it, inside and out, maybe sprinkle some herbs on it (I like thyme), and roast it for an hour in a 400 degree oven. Let it rest for about 10 minutes, and there you are. It’s pretty good, and if it’s well-rubbed with olive oil, it browns nicely without basting.

  34. catsworking says:

    Adele, please do ask your brother-in-law. The latest advice I’m getting is that I should get an electrician to check the wiring before I do anything with the heat pump, because if the wiring isn’t right, the pump will just blow out again and I’m back to square one, only out $1,800 in labor.

    My uncle (an electrical engineer who does his own HVAC work) says that my fan motor probably doesn’t need replacing because the fan came on after the fuses were replaced, but the compressor may be bad.

    Bottom line is that I think the company that installed and maintains my heat pump is lying about something and trying to screw me.

  35. Melissa says:

    Karen, I can’t believe you have never met Tony before! I went to one of his signings since he had a pretty big book tour for No Reservations (the companion book) last year and was lucky enough to go to one where Michael Ruhlman was along as well. Have a great time, can’t wait to read all about it! One word of warning: he is MUCH better looking in person, if you can believe it!

  36. catsworking says:

    Man, you guys are really torturing me over this Durham thing. Better looking in person? Come on! If that’s true, you may get a lot of shots of the Durham Performing Arts Center ceiling because I’ll be flat on my back in a faint. 😉

    If Bourdain has ever been to Richmond, VA, it would have been before he appeared on my radar. This town isn’t big on book signings. I know — even as a local author, I had to BEG several of the Barnes & Nobles in town to let me do them. Seems they are deluged daily with self-published hacks, so their first instinct is to rebuff even legitimately published authors.

  37. MorganLF says:

    Karen,
    You are getting hosed. What did he charge you for the visit? Is that applied to the balance? Appliances and HVAC are well known rip-off areas for the unscrupulous.

    Last year the knob broke on my washing machine and I called a repair guy. The minute he walked in, without seeing it he “diagnosed” the problem. Probably the plastic tabs broke and he would have to replace entire assembly. He went into the utility room and in minutes he called it.

    I asked him to show me where the broken tabs were. He could not show me, just pulled the knob out to prove it was no longer attached. The replacement cost was $225 with labor. ..what?? Of course I did not go for it; he then told me the cost of the visit was $75. I asked for something in writing and he refused. I opened the door and told him to get out.

    He called his greasy boss and put him on the phone, the creep told me to pay or I’d be in collections the next day. I threw the bum out! Sure enough I got a collection letter two days later with another $25 tacked on for delinquency!

    I’m a pretty fair sea lawyer in my own right, and I commenced to deluge the collection agency with a bunch of letters warning there would be legal consequences if my credit rating was impaired. I got another reputable service company to take a look and sure enough, the verdict was the knob had been tampered with and the tabs deliberately broken! I sent that statement to the collection agency with a clear threat that I was now going to sue for damages and name the agency as complicit in the act of committing fraud.

    The agency later sold my case to another collection agency. I went to the state.gov website dug up every thing I could on fraudulent debt collection and harassment and reported both agencies and the service company. It seems they have gone away but I still monitor my credit to make sure there is no negative reporting.

    I had to get a new machine paid only $275 NEW AND INSTALLED! They deliberately jack up the quotes so you won’t go for it and they can collect the charge for coming to your house.

    Call Trane direct. I called my brother who is an electrical contractor and that is what he recommends. He said you definitely need another opinion. $1800 and no guarantee is outta order! I hope it warms up and you get a few days breathing room.

    Sorry for such a long post but this riles my ass!

    PS: Got the verdict on my ankle after my humiliating fall at the trade show and it broken, nice! Prepare to faint he IS even hotter in person!

  38. catsworking says:

    Morgan, a broken ankle! I hope since it’s been so long getting the diagnosis, it’s healing properly.

    I once got a stress fracture in my right foot (from over-ballroom dancing) and it took 3 weeks for them to find it. Meanwhile, I was hobbling around in agony.

    Well, I just posted the heat pump saga and second opinions will definitely be gotten before Guirkin (my heat pump vendor) touches my pump again — if ever.

    I have lots of practice playing the Consumer from Hell, and I usually get satisfaction (except on health insurance). Guirkin has an A+ rating with the BBB and only 3 complaints in 3 years, all resolved. But there’s no way I should be sinking another $2K into a pump still under warranty. That’s just not right.

    Also, I’ve learned some things from my uncle, an electrical engineer who has a Trane he’s kept running for 30 years, that should have been red flags on the repairman’s knowledge, so many questions will be asked.

    A few years ago, I hired an outfit called Andy on Call to fix a leak in my kitchen faucet. The guy turned it into a total faucet replacement and dragged the job out ALL DAY (including the 5 1/2 hours he disappeared to buy a new faucet after REMOVING my dripping faucet, leaving me with no kitchen sink) and charged me $275. The faucet itself cost in the $40-50 range, I believe.

    Every time I get a tradesman out here, as soon as they realize there’s no man of the house (sorry, Fred and Yul, cats don’t seem to count), the price triples.

    I haven’t seen a bill yet from Guirkin for the original call and the 3 new fuses. They just gave me a lump sum $1,800 price.

    Fortunately, the weather is going to be unseasonably warm all week, so somebody “up there” is showing me some mercy in all this.

  39. Bob says:

    Thanks for the good words Karen, Adele, Morgan Spent most of the weekend driving.
    Me and Darline drove out yesterday and Back home today..

    Normally not such a bad thing but with my stress level being maxed out, well not the easiest of trips.

    BUT having said that Dad is doing much better, eating now, good colour, ( Yes We Put a U in Colour… Its a Canadian thing)

    He was pretty sleepy, but watched the race from Daytona yesterday as we had a home town boy racing.
    Steve Arpin in case you follow the Cars……

    Just wanted to let you know that your good wishes were very appreciated..

    Sleepy So Very Very Sleepy
    Bob

  40. catsworking says:

    Bob, so glad to hear that your father is doing better. Sounds like we have both put our nervous systems to the test lately.

Leave a Reply

