The Latest Anthony Bourdain This ‘N’ That

By Karen

The wait is over. A new season of No Reservations begins tonight. Blogger David Lida, who was a consultant on a new episode shot in Mexico, snapped some photos of Anthony Bourdain and his sidekick from Les Halles, Carlos Llaguno, and Carlos’ girlfriend Emily, whom Lida says is a Ford model.

You wouldn’t expect a cat person like Bourdain (& Co.) to hang out with a dog, would you?

I just found this 2003 interview with Bourdain at RainTaxi, which he did when The Bobby Gold Stories was published. It’s an interesting read because I don’t think I’ve ever seen Tony discuss his writing process in such detail anywhere else.

Cats Working reader Marie graciously provided this link to a rare closeup shot of Ottavia sans her big sunglasses. I had to smile at the ubiquitous beer bottle near Tony. This photo prompted some discussion on whether Ottavia might straighten her hair and have her roots in Africa (genetic roots, that is).

And in the Tony & (Former?) Friends department, I just read that the restaurants of Top Chef’s head honcho, Tom Colicchio, may be headed for a class action lawsuit alleging employee wage theft.

I’ve been saving this photo of Colicchio for some time, but this seems like the right moment to share it. A big lawsuit might be just the thing to make him pine for the good old days when he could tear his hair out.

I think I like him better bald (Photo - ABC News)

I think I like him better bald (Photo - ABC News)

17 Responses to The Latest Anthony Bourdain This ‘N’ That

  1. Bob says:

    Good Scoop on the Mexican Episode. Carlos has one hot girlfriend..

    Stay Warm,, Its cold up here even for me.

    Bob

  2. st says:

    I read about the charges against Colicchio and his restaurants several days ago. Whether there is any truth or not to these allegations, time will tell. Sometimes I wonder about the restaurant business. Consider the settled lawsuit against Daniel Boulud: http://query.nytimes.com/gst/fullpage.html?res=9900E3D71030F934A25752C0A9619C8B63. Or the struggles of women chefs in NY restaurants: http://query.nytimes.com/gst/fullpage.html?res=9B07EFDF103BF933A25751C0A96F958260&sec=&spon=&pagewanted=all. Hope it’s not true about Colicchio b/c he seems like an upstanding guy.

  3. catsworking says:

    ST, I agree that it would be refreshing if the lawsuit against Colicchio turns out to be baseless, but if you read “Kitchen Confidential,” the restaurant business seems to be seedy and suspicious from the ground up and it’s very hard to make a profit. So if Walmart can try to get away with stiffing employees on time worked, why not a restaurant owner?

    And it could be that Colicchio wasn’t fully aware of what was going on because he undoubtedly has peeps who process his payroll. Maybe they thought they were doing him a favor by helping his bottom line.

  4. RH says:

    Wow, Ottavia truly looks like a baby………

  5. catsworking says:

    RH, I think Bourdain would prefer it if you phrased it, “Ottavia truly looks like a BABE.”

    That’s BABE, got it? Not that he’s old enough to be her father or anything. Just to reinforce his excellent taste in fine women.

    (You know I’m just yanking your chain, right?)

  6. Cindy says:

    Did you know that Tony & Zamir were spotted filming an episode of NR in Baltimore Penn Station yesterday?

  7. Nickole says:

    Cool! I also heard that the Buffalo episode is being shot starting this Friday.

  8. catsworking says:

    Yes, I just read about that this morning. So now Bourdain has been to South Carolina, DC, Baltimore, and will be in North Carolina in February, but still no direct hit on Virginia. It’s very frustrating. I wonder what he’s got against the Capital of the Confederacy?

    And I wonder WHY he’s got Zamir with him? Either he’s forgiven Zamir for the debacle in Romania, or it’s PAYBACK time.

  9. catsworking says:

    He really picked the ideal time to visit Buffalo. He probably should have brought Zamir with him there. He’d feel right at home. (On second thought, maybe he WILL.)

  10. Adele says:

    I’ll bet at least part of the Baltimore episode will be an homage to “The Wire.” Maybe Tony will leave Zamir on one of the drug-dealing corners as revenge for the Romania debacle.

    Karen, aside from ham, does Virginia have a food it’s known for? You know, Baltimore has crab cakes, South Carolina has low country cuisine. That could be a hook for an NR episode. That, and maybe some filming at Monticello. Whatever we think of how he treated the Hemmings family, Thomas Jefferson may have been the first American gourmet, and brought considerable French influence to the fledgling nation.

  11. catsworking says:

    Adele, you’ve probably have hit the nail on the head. Sadly, I think there may not be enough uniquely “Virginia” cuisine to lure Bourdain here. However, I could be totally wrong about that because I didn’t grow up here, so I know very little about what “Mama used to make.” My family has never embraced black-eyed peas, grits, and collard greens.

    Maybe he could go to a “shad planking,” a yearly event where I think they nail fish to boards to cook them. Then, there’s the annual Urbanna Oyster Festival. He’d probably enjoy that, but they’re not an hour’s worth of TV.

    Much as he loves pork, Smithfield ham can be very dry and salty. No gathering here is complete without “ham biscuits,” which usually consist of a dry/stale roll containing a slice of that nasty ham. That’s it. You can barely choke the things down.

    My mother really hates them because, up North, our idea of a ham sandwich is moist and slathered with mustard (never mayo) on nice crusty Italian bread. Like that one Bourdain was eating in the closing scene in Paris.

    I’ve been to Monticello many times, and it would be a thrill to see Tony have dinner in Jefferson’s dining room, if they’d ever allow it. In addition to being a gourmet, Jefferson built systems for getting food to and from the kitchen below the house, such as a dumbwaiter. Come to think of it, I’ve never seen the kitchen, so I don’t know how much of it survives of if anything could be prepared in it.

  12. Cindy says:

    Somewhere I read that the episode is a combination of Baltimore/Buffalo/Detroit.

  13. catsworking says:

    Cindy, I’m with you on that. I keep a list of episodes I need to tape, and I’ve got Baltimore/Buffalo/Detroit on it, so that must have been floated somewhere. Since he seems to visiting Baltimore and Buffalo in rapid succession, maybe it’s correct. Do you think Detroit is ready for Zamir?

  14. Cindy says:

    My in-laws live in Detroit so I know the city well. Certain areas of it have the look of an old Iron Curtain country so Zamir should feel at home.
    I was just reading the Detroit Free Press and it mentioned Tony was coming at the end of this week.

  15. catsworking says:

    Yup, Cindy, I saw that too. It does look like he’s rolling those 3 cities into one episode.

  16. LuRussa says:

    I hope Anthony comes back with his friend Zamir, theyre so funny together !

  17. catsworking says:

    LuRussa, welcome. Bourdain already HAS come back with Zamir. They did the Rust Belt episode together just a few weeks ago, visiting Baltimore, Detroit, and Buffalo. They were there in the dead of winter. Maybe you’ll be able to catch it in re-runs on Travel Channel before Season 6 begins next year.

Leave a Reply

