After All That, Hillary’s a Secretary?

By Adele

With all her education and career success, I doubt Hillary Clinton ever dreamed she’d end up some guy’s secretary.

For years, female office workers have been saying, “Don’t call me a secretary, I’m an executive assistant. Now drink your coffee before it gets cold!”

As secretary of state, Hillary may actually give new cachet to that much-maligned title. By taking the job, she’s setting a world-class example on how to bury grudges for the greater good that the Republicans would be smart to follow.

Obama won’t force Hillary to be like poor Condoleezza Rice, a scowling zombie who wanders the world trying to carry out her evil master’s harebrained scheme of total domination through democracy by torture.

Speaking of Condi, she seems positively giddy over finally being able to pull her brain and talents out of the deep freeze. She played the piano the other night for Queen Elizabeth II like some classically trained lounge lizard. And I think I saw her showing some teeth without snarling as she posed for a group photo at the NATO meeting she just attended in Brussels.

Maybe she’ll even follow Bush and Cheney’s lead in making the transition smooth by inviting Hillary over. They could have a pajama party, staying up all night watching horror movies, braiding each other’s hair, and sharing state secrets.

I didn’t think Hillary would make a good president. But against the likes of Putin, Ahmadinejad, Chavez, and the rest, I’d bet my treats on Hillary’s intelligence, cunning, and ruthlessness any day.

Things are about to get very interesting…

5 Responses to After All That, Hillary’s a Secretary?

  1. Adele says:

    Well Adele, I like your notion about Hillary’s appointment as Secretary of State’s being an example to the world about burying grudges, and I’m still adopting a wait and see attitude about Barack’s appointments. However, I just read an article in Salon, which I commend to you; the author’s name is Fraser, and (I’m not good about remembering titles) it’s about how Obama’s braintrust is so far looking nothing like FDR’s braintrust, with all the Clintonian neoliberals Barack has appointed. It’s a pretty dense 2 pages, but very provocative and crystalizes some of the thoughts I’ve had lately.

  2. catsworking says:

    So far we are very pleased with Barack’s choices. It seems like a much more fun, down-to-earth bunch of people than all the bald old conniving creeps Bush surrounded himself with. Not that there’s anything wrong with being bald!

  3. Adele says:

    Adele, you do have a point, Bush and his cabinet are an incredibly easy act to follow. I’m still hoping for some truly bold appointment, but maybe that will happen at lower levels. I’m pretty good with the economic team, but I’m finding the National Security team a little hawkish to my tastes — time will tell.

  4. Mauigirl says:

    So far I am quite impressed with all of Obama’s choices for his cabinet.

    Now let’s hope this ridiculous lawsuit by some idiot who wants to say Obama isn’t qualified to be President doesn’t actually get heard by the Supreme Court.

  5. catsworking says:

    Mauigirl, you’re right about that. I should think the Supreme Court would be on its best behavior with Obama poised to force them into thinking more progressively with his appointments. And you have to laugh at people who still don’t seem to realize Hawaii is a state. Isn’t that where Obama was born?

Leave a Reply

